Unique traditions of Indigenous Peoples in my country (Nigeria)

in STEEM INDONESIA4 months ago

All Nigerian Tribe.jpg

Snapped on My Phone Camera

Introduction

As a proud citizen of my country, I usually get very enthusiastic when I have the opportunity to talk about my country but most especially, the people in my country. Yes, the people because that is what really makes up my country and not necessarily the physical location or even resources.

My Country and Her People

The name of my country is Nigeria, it is a country in West Africa and it is known as the Giant of Africa, due to its strong economy, great population and the talents that lies therein.

It is made up of over 250 diverse ethnic groups and the major ones among them are Hausa, Yoruba, Igbo, Ijaw, Ibibio, Efik, etc. These over 250 ethnic groups share over 500 dialect.
One of the many ethnic groups in my country is the Edo people, found in the Benin and some part of Delta state. Below is a picture of a cross section of Edo people’s attire.

Edo People.JPG

This is not really Edo indigenes, this picture was taken in cultural day celebration of a school to celebrate and show our unity despite being diverse

What makes us unique

According to the contest, I am supposed to say one unique thing about country. Well,

the unique thing about my country is diversity.

We are one of the most diverse people in the whole of Africa if not the whole world, and yet despite our differences, most of the times we do unite together and fight to achieve a common goal. That I think is something very unique and uncommon, that a group as diverse as we are, do have unity and peace amongst us.

Example is the picture I used in the cover picture of this post that showed basically all the major ethnic groups in Nigeria, showing how we are happy together and united.

That being said, despite our unity in a diverse land, we do have a way of identifying with our personal culture, and one of the most common way of doing that is through dress.

Every ethnic group in my country has their unique clothing and way of dressing, this along with the language spoken makes it easy for any ethnic group to stand out at all times.

Some examples of different dressings used by our people. (I’ll feature in two different ethnic group, lol)

This is one where I am dressed as a royalty in the Edo Tribe.

Edo Royalty.JPG

Edo Royalty

In this one, I am dressed as an Hausa man standing with a Yoruba girl (she’s now a big girl, lol).

Hausa Yoruba.jpg

Hausa Man and Yoruba Girl

Another one with my best friend (dressed as an Ibibio man) and a boy dressed as an Igbo.

Hausa Ibibio Igbo.jpg

Hausa, Ibibio and Igbo

The last one is portrays an Hausa family. With the young girl dressed as a bride and the boy as a prince.

Hausa Fam.jpg

Hausa Family

Conclusion

I might not have given a long comprehensive story about a singular uniqueness of my country, but anywhere I am, I am always proud to talk about the uniqueness and unity despite our diversity and I have demonstrated that in personal pictures of myself.

I invite you @alli001 @crystal247 @kidi40 @bossj23 to participate in this great contest.

My achievement 1 link: https://steemit.com/hive-172186/@jbeecom/achievement-1-verification-through-introduction-by-jbeecom-or-or-30-12-23

Sort:  
Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 61265.20
ETH 3320.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48