My Preferred Ways of Reading

in STEEM4STUDENTSlast year (edited)

png_20230314_222442_0000.png

Image edited on Canva

Hello everyone in this great community of great minds I trust we're all doing well in good health and mind I'm @samuelebuka and I'm here to drop my entry in this contest "my preferred ways of reading". So many people have different ways of reading and try to stick to what helps them to achieve great results when reading. It is important one knows what works for him/her and stick by it.

Question 1 -Which do you prefer? Reading from your phone or reading from a traditional book? State your reasons.


IMG_20230210_101005_633.jpg

I personally like to read with my traditional books because it helps me to highlight a point and also help me remember things I highlighted easily because it was done by myself manually. Reading from my traditional books helps me more to capture the image of things I read especially when I'm reading for exams. Although many people like reading with their phones, but to me it's a distraction because I can easily get carried away and and want to check a social media post on Facebook, Instagram etc because a notification can easily pop up on the screen and one might be tempted to go and check.

Question 2 -What are those things that you do before and after reading?


IMG_20230127_094212_859.jpg

Before I start reading, I set a goal of how many pages I want to cover and the time allocated to it. After reading I try through each pages or chapter I write down or jot down the things I've learnt from each chapter. When I'm done reading I try to summarize what I've learnt in a different diary that I can easily access because it will save me the stress of going back to the main book trying to find where a key word or sentence is written.

Question 3 - When did you realize reading is good for you?

I realized reading was good for me when I was very young during my primary school, all my mate then knew how to read and could answer questions that I couldn't answer in class. It was a painful experience then but my mum helped me by employing an extra curricular teacher for me who helped me develop my reading skills and since then it has been faithful and I can't do without reading.

Question 4 -What was the book you read in the least amount of time?

The book I read in the least amount of time was a book titled AN ENEMY CALLED AVERAGE
The book was such an eye opener and a motivation to one who wants to become a better person and never settle for less. The book has about 90 nuggets and I planned to at least read 2 to 3 nuggets each day for 30 days but I ended up finishing the book in just 2weeks (14days). How interesting a book is also helps one to be able to go beyond the target goal just like it happened to me when I was reading the above mentioned book.

Conclusion

Reading is one way if not the only way for one to be able to increase in knowledge and improve also in his /her way of thinking. Reading helps one to see through the eyes of the author and put one in the state where the author is when they are writing the books. Reading is a culture everyone who wants to grow should cultivate. I will also like to invite my friends @v-brainer @skilocy @solexybaba to this great contest, thank you.

Sort:  

This post was selected for Curación Manual (Manual Curation)

@tipu curate

Thank you so much dear friend

Indeed reading helps us see through authors mind as well as learn from people's mistakes. Thank you so much for this wonderful contest and thank you for the invite too. I appreciate and look forward to more creative writings from you. ✌🏾

Your post has been supported by @josepha from team 2 of the Community Curation Program, at 30%. We invite you to continue sharing quality content on the platform, and continue to enjoy support, and also a likely spot in our weekly top 7.
Voting date:

15/03/2023


image.png

Thank you so much dear friend for your continuous support

 last year (edited)
Thank you, @samuelebuka for publishing your article in our community today. We have assessed your post and we present the result of our assessment below.


CriteriaRemark
Clubstatus#club5050
Steemexclusive
Plagiarism free
BOT Free
AI Article Free
Beneficiary (@null/ @hive-128999)
Voting CSI0.00
Total score8.9/10
Verification Date2023-15-03

Review: you have done well in this contest but your voting CSI doesn't speak well. Try and be voting on other users articles in other too. I wish you Goodluck.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 69909.00
ETH 3924.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68