real v un-real

in Team Malaysia5 years ago

Recently, to further my nascent fitness agenda, I decided to get a fitness band so I can get a better handle on my calories. I didn't want to spend thousands of MYR on a Samsung watch or even a fitbit, just something that can track my heart rate and caloric usage.

A quick browse in Lazada I found a RM12 fitness band that not only have the typical pedometer and heart rate function, but also blood oxygen saturation and blood pressure reading. That's not a typo, it is really RM12 (less than $3 USD) for all those claimed functions. To top it off, it looks suspiciously similiar to a Mi Band 3. I thought ORLY?

So I bought one.

Then two days later I dumped it in my desk drawer and ordered a Mi Smart Band 4.

Not only the blood O2 saturation and BP reading function of the RM12 fake doesn't work, it doesn't even have a heart rate sensor. It does try to pretend to have one - it has that flashy LED lights that, with a working sensor, allows the device to peer into your blood vessels and measure the heart rate and blood O2. However, if you see the picture below, it doesn't have a sensor (the square thing between the 2 LED lights seen on the Mi Band 4 on the left), just LEDs.

Everytime I try to get a reading, the LEDs will flash and the device will throw up a random reading. The most hilarous part is that it can still throw up a reading time after time even when I'm not wearing it.

The LED is also comically bright, as if trying to compensate for the fact that it doesn't work.

The design is a direct copy of the Mi Band 3 down to the silicon strap, albeit with a colour screen. Unlike the Mi Band 3, the screen has no touch function whatsoever. You can only access the functions using the touch dimple under the screen. It does comes with it's own app though, even if the English used is very dodgy.

Left: Mi Band 4. Right: RM12 Mi band 3 replica.

The battery life of the replica is also laughably short. I had a grand total of 2 days of usage before it ran out of juice, while the Mi Band 4 has more than 11x the battery life.

So why haven't I simply chuck the replica into the bin? well at least the pedometer function and phone connectivity works, and it can still tell me the time. Plus I'm kinda taken by the design, even if it is a copy.

So, what's the lesson here? Although we tend to scoff at paying more than our perceived worth, more often than not, you do get what you paid.

Sort:  

Should go for steemhunt la this type of article. @joannewong any pointer? Fake version review is also review correct? 😂

Posted using Partiko Android

I fell for one of these copies as well. I think we are going to have to spend a little bit because while mine did give some level of heartrate reading, it was all over the place to the point where I didn't believe it at all. It would also have wildly inaccurate step counts and is basically just a piece of junk that I think i just threw away or gave to someone who doesn't even have a watch at all.

But for $3 we should have known we were getting garbage :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62978.31
ETH 2546.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76