You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Welcome to the Steem Game Development community

Dear @danmaruschak

I've just learned about your community from latest blog by @steemitblog. Hope you and your community will flourish.

Are you on Discord by any chance? I would like to reach out to you. Perhaps you can join our server and DM me? https://discord.gg/v2vHBB

This isn't a community for announcing games or trying to attract players.
I wonder: why not? Don't you want game developers to write about their own games build on steem chain within your community?

this is about discussing the process of making games.
In that case I don't see many people really posting within your community. That's very small niche and you're making it even smaller. Just being honest.

Yours, Piotr

Sort:  

I wonder: why not? Don't you want game developers to write about their own games build on steem chain within your community?

Writing about their own games is fine. I'm trying to draw a distinction between marketing messages like "Coming soon!", which is something focused at players or potential fans, and posts about making their games. The rule isn't meant to be "don't mention your own game", it's meant to be "don't write your posts here like marketing material".

That's very small niche and you're making it even smaller.

Yes, I am aware that there are not a huge number of posters (today) that post on this topic. But trying to increase the size of the community by including other topics wouldn't necessarily help foster discussion about this topic. Having a community that doesn't seem active can be a barrier to participation, but so can a community that is busy talking about other stuff. My goal here isn't simply to have a large membership or high volume of posts, it's to try to foster activity related to the topic. It is possible that this goal will fail. I hope it doesn't.

I've been running games on Steem for a very long time and looking for assistance in automating some responses to the games. This just might be the place where I find the help I need since I'm not a programmer and have no idea how to even interact with the blockchain.

Yes, if this community can help people with "different pieces of the puzzle" to find and connect with each other then that will be great.

Super! Thanks.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60843.64
ETH 2711.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43