Artists with style - First Edition - Paul Verhoeven

in Steem Fashion&Stylelast month (edited)

Do I admire Paul? It is difficult to say, but a number of the films he directed have made a great impression on me. As I write this, I wonder if that would be the case today. I don't think so when it comes to films with a war theme. I am sickened by this, especially since history is not only distorted but also erased. Are his directions all about violence and sex? Not to my opinion and for sure not if I see what Hollywood produces but what he did was shaking and waking up people which is what someone has to do. To me he is a free thinker showing those aspects of life we rather close our eyes for.

2148074768.jpg

His first famous films

Floris - TV series - 1969

more info

Turks Fruit (1973)

Turkish Delight is based on the novel 'Turks Fruit' by Jan Wolkers (1969)
more info

Keetje Tippel (Katie Tippel - 1975)

A girl is forced into prostitution to help support her family.
more info

Soldaat van Oranje (1977)

Based on the memoirs of Erik Hazelhoff Roelfzema a Dutch student joining the resistance against the Nazis.
more info

Spetters (1980) Splashes

Three young men with little in common but their love for dirt bike racing...
more in

One of the writers is... Jan Wolkers although not officially mentioned. Those familiar with his work (author, painter, sculptor) will recognize his touch.

De Vierde Man (1983)

Based on the novel of Gerard Reve.
This book was on the literature list for high school and I read it.
more info

One of the actors in the TV series and film is Rutger Hauer. As Paul Verhoeven went to the US (Hollywood) this also opened the door for the actors he worked with.
His genre is diverse but most known he became for the 'violence' and 'sex' shown in his films. If it comes to this he broke taboos just like the writers Jan Wolkers and Gerard Reve. Today we look in a different way to films and sex is shown 24/7. Still I do believe his films will be shocking to many.

Hollywood films directed

you might know:
• Robocop (1987)
• Basic Instinct (1992)
• Hollow Man (2000)

The last film he directed thus far is Benedetta (2021)
This film is based on Immodest Acts.. by Judith C. Brow. It's about a nun and violence and sex play a role (isn't it always in the live of most people?).
more info

Art doesn't pay?

and a study at university is the only way up?
Amsterdam-born Paul Verhoeven (18 July 1938) proves differently. He has 26 directorial credits (short films, documentaries, movies) on his name to our knowledge, starting in 1959 with 'Cups of Coffee' and his last one being 'Benedetta' in 2021. He is a doctorandus (MSc) in mathematics and physics but never worked in those fields. The end is near? Not if it comes to 86-year old Paul. This year (2024) the shooting for the 'Young Sinner' is planned.

Cool thing if it comes to his carreer

Flop or hit?

In contrast, he won the Golden Raspberry Awards for Worst Picture and Worst Director for Showgirls (1995); he is one of the few people to have accepted their Golden Raspberry awards in person, and the first to directly attend the ceremony to receive it. Showgirls was a notorious box office flop at its initial theatrical release, but later enjoyed huge success in the home video market and became a cult classic.
source

As it turned out, Showgirls became a huge success. Paul certainly laughed at the critics and The Golden Raspberry Award.

Violent action movies that were nonetheless thoughtful and morally nuanced.
source

See for the contest hosted by @solperez here.
If you admire an artist, knownor not, share who and why @grebmot @nsijoro @ibesso

PhotoGrid_1613071815865.png



Header photo "Turks Fruit" (lokum) source - freepik
4-8-2024
I am a mobile phone user only

I upvote comments and (good) entertaining stories. @hive-169911 is my hive (community). I will grow its SP to upvote stories only. Please, do NOT post in it. The community is for invited only!

Happy Writing @wakeupkitty


#entertainment #film #director #verhoeven #art #creative #kittywu #steemexclusive #club100 #holland #sbi-skip

Sort:  

Thank you, friend!
I'm @steem.history, who is steem witness.
Thank you for witnessvoting for me.
image.png
please click it!
image.png
(Go to https://steemit.com/~witnesses and type fbslo at the bottom of the page)

The weight is reduced because of the lack of Voting Power. If you vote for me as a witness, you can get my little vote.

Director Paul Verhoeven, such a difference with most of his age

https://x.com/wakeup_kitty/status/1820345005413683620

I only know a few Verhoeven movies. The usual suspects like Robocop, Total Recall, Starship Troopers, and Showgirls I guess. Besides that I've seen Flesh and Blood and a few episode of Floris. Flesh and Blood for that matter was a kind of edgy portrayel of the middle ages, at least in terms of a mainstream movie (predating the Name of the Rose adapation by a year or so). Heresy, rape and murder. That sort of stuff, sprinkled with some thinly veiled social commentary and blurring of the lines. All in all probably a good indicator of the things to come, given how Robocop was released a few years later.

Overall I think Verhoeven is pretty underrated, or at least he seems a lot smarter than people might give him credit for at first glance. He doesn't seem to take himself too seriously as well, which seems like a rare combination. Particularly in context of the genre and schlocky action movies in general. Starship Trooper being a great example. A kind of satirical take on Heinlein and the kind of space fascism that's far less ironic in the source material. But then I guess this flew over most people's head at first. A bit like Showgirls, in terms of criticising show business. It seems kind of mean spirited, but in a fun way. Then I guess you could argue it might be misogynistic, like the main character arc revolving around the protagonist coming to terms with her being a whore. Or such.

Imho one of Vehoeven's greatest accomplishments was discovering Rutger Hauer, with Floris. That alone changed movie history. Same goes for Peter Weller to a smaller extend, the actor who played the first Robocop.

Your post has been rewarded by the Seven Team.

Support partner witnesses

@seven.wit
@cotina
@xpilar.witness

We are the hope!

 last month 

Este en un director de cine con un estilo irreverente. Y eso se evidencia en las refencias que has hechoa sus películas. Confieso que soy bastante ignorante en materia cinematográfica. Pero la idea es que estos espacios sirvan para culturizarnos. Veré las películas que sugieres. Tal vex @marcybetancourt sí pueda aportar más a tu publicación, pues ella sí conoce de la materia.

Gracias por estar. Un abrazo.

Me pregunto si sus películas, especialmente las primeras, siguen siendo interesantes de ver. Muchas eran bastante impactantes, pero hoy se podría decir que son aburridas. Aún así, me parece interesante que tenga diferentes géneros, como el drama, el romance, el documental, la ciencia ficción y... el espectador debería descubrir esto: una visión irónica. Quizás esto es parte de ser holandés. Sobrio, recto, no retrocede fácilmente y tiene una actitud irónica. Para todas esas primeras películas trabajó con los mismos actores.
Lo que me gustó de los vídeos son algunos escenarios y situaciones típicamente holandeses que ahora ya no existen.

Gracias por tu comentario. Un abrazo
❤️🍀

 last month 

Para utilizar de manera apropiada la ironía, es decir, que genere "malestar" en el otro se requiere de inteligencia. Por lo visto, Paul Verhoeven lo es.

 last month 

Dear @wakeupkitty.pal our community doesn't allow these type of content.Please share the content Accordingly community rules.

What do you mean by this type of content? I followed all rules. Are you discriminating me, should I tell sc02 who upvoted me you do not accept my entry for an unknown reason?
@solperez what shall I do? I think this is the last ttime I join. I can't take my post away and it took me nearly two days to find all the fitting info and sources.

 last month 

Estoy nueva en esta comunidad como moderadora. Le dije a la administradora que deseaba verificar las participaciones de mi concurso de manera personal, pero ella me dijo que no; que verificaba quienes estuvieran de guardia.

Te confieso que este comentario también me toma por sorpresa. Trataré de averiguar cuáles son las condiciones relacionadas con el contenid que se permite acá.

If I read the rules of the community you are only allowed to talk about fashion and style. So to me this is mainly clothes, perhaps handbags, shoes and stuff like that. I don't think you can host an art contest unless we talk about praha and lipstick brands. This community is not open for all if it is conservative and under cover of religion.

I cannot remove it now because of the upvotes but I will and undertake the necessary steps.

 last month (edited)

¿Será que el arte no tiene estilo ni responde a modas? Quien piense así tiene una visión limitada de los temas. Tal vez yo misma no cuadre acá.

Creo que es más una cosa de chicas o así. ¿Una copia si ladies of steem con 2 temas?

 last month (edited)

Hi, dear, I didn't know this matter; I know my mod was by mistake, but you can talk to me without being offensive with my mods. I think you haven't seen all the contests we are organizing on different themes, not only on clothes etc. I think you don't know our community history, my community is older than steem ladies & so we don't need to copy someone else who is working on previously closed community themes like steem womenclub. So, please, next time, avoid such things & we will always welcome new themes related to fashion & style. I hope you understand.

No, I do not know your community but now I do. 👍

Offensive to mods?
When exactly?
The first who wrote me I told I followed all rules!
The second who spoke to me is @solperez not only the host of the contest but also the one who invited me. I am sure if she believes I insulted her she would tell me. 🤔
It sounds to me you feel insulted.

Which things should I avoid? Posting in your community? Trust me that won't happen again like I already said and don't worry I will move my post to another community.

If it comes to your remark about the high amount of contests, no I did not check them but I did search for those rules your moderator told me to follow. What I read is exactly what I shared with @solperez and to my opinion the reason why your moderator told me why my content is not accepted!

If to your opinion this isn't true and those rules set by you in combination with the girl's head logo does not should make one think of girls - fashion and steemladies it's better to think how to promote the community in a better way especially, if it's older than steemladies.
A logo of a female + fashion =...

I am not sure what you mean by what you said about the contests hosted by steemladies. If a community stands for a certain topic, which I can only admire and is what Steemit needs to find content of certain topics, I believe that is a good thing, although I see plenty of men post in it even if there aren't SEC contests.

No hard feelings but this is my opinion and as the admin/founder it can be good to hear what people think if they see and hear this.
🍀❤️

Thanks for sharing such awesome content
@wakeupkitty!
It has been featured in
THIS BLOG SPOTLIGHT POST!

You will receive 10% of the rewards
earned on that curation post.

We have also given you an upvote and a resteem!

steemitbloggers gif 1.gif
An initiative by @jaynie

Please feel free to show your support to this initiative as well as to the authors featured within!

HAVE AN AMAZING DAY!

Thank you very much. I am happy with it but the community hates it so I will remove and post it elsewhere later.
I could use your help. See my question/offer

I don't think anybody hates it @wakeupkitty :)

I could use your help. See my question/offer

I think I responded to that?!

Just saw it and answered, thanks

Okie dokie, I will get to it soonest xxx :)

Muy interesante. Recuerdo a Robocop.

Gracias por presentar este maravilloso productor.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58148.81
ETH 2345.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35