THE DEBATE (NO.37): IN-STORE IS BETTER THAN ONLINE SHOPPING

The debate_20240724_223704_0000.jpg
PIXABAY, Edited on Canva

Greetings to all my beloved steemian friends, hope you all are doing great, I saw this debate contest from @sahmie in steem Fashion&style community, and I want to share my thoughts in it. In our day to day activities we used different things to ease our daily duties and make our lives smooth and simple.

No doubt we all engaged in shopping either online or in-store, to get new things for our self, replaced things that have been exhausted or spoiled, get a gift for someone, or at least we're sent by someone to get something for them and today am here to support the fact that in-store shopping is more better than online shopping.

However, since online and in-store shopping are different terms we used when shopping, they both have their own advantage and disadvantages, which is important for us to know about them to aid us when making a choice about if we're going to purchase an item through online or going for in-store.

ADVANTAGES OF ONLINE SHOPPING

There are different online shopping platform all round the globe, some of them which are popularly known by a lot of people include;

  • ALIBABA

  • AMAZON

  • EBAY

  • JUMIA

  • ETSY, etc
    Unlike shopping in-store, online shopping has some specific advantages compared to in-store, here are some of them;

  • Online shopping, offers a wide range of customers the capability to search and filter the product that please them.

  • Most online shopping platform has a large number of items and products, allowing their customer to get any products the want at due time.

  • Unlike in-store shopping, Online shopping ease the stress of moving around to look for your desirable products as they can bring the products you purchased straight to your doorstep

  • Online shopping portrait products with their image descriptions and their available price which help the customer make a budget for the product they needed.

DIFFERENCE IN "RETURN" AND "EXCHANGE" WHEN SHOPPING

When its comes to returns and exchange in shopping, there's a huge difference between online shopping and in-store shopping and this is one of the reasons I prefer going for in-store shopping instead of online because it's the best.

For instance, if a customer purchased a product from a physical store, a return or exchange can easily be made. There's a reason why customers return or exchange products the bought, sometimes the product might not meet their desire, or it's might happen that the product has a problem maybe expired or even spoiled.

In such situation, the customer can decide to return the product and get back their money or exchange it and get another, this can only be done in a physical store, online shopping doesn't gives it's customers such opportunity.
If you purchase a product online and letter notice that it's has a problem, there's nothing that can be done, even if there's said to have a warranty on it, no return no exchange, even if you write them a report about the situation, that can't help you in any way. This shows that in-store or physical shopping is more better than online shopping.

IN-STORE EXPERIENCE

In-store or physical shopping provided a unique experience making it's more better than online shopping, when shopping in a physical store, you can see the product you want to buy, touch it, feel it and even test it, in case of any issue. Also you can see the seller whom you are getting the product from, this makes in-store shopping more secured and trustworthy.

WHY CHOOSING IN-STORE SHOPPING OVER ONLINE SHOPPING

After going through all those points above, you can easily know that I do prefer in-store shopping far more better than online shopping with a numerous reasons, and this is some of them,

  • Risk Free: in-store shopping provide 0% risk to their customer or let me say it's risk free, when shopping you can physically see the seller same as the product, you can see, touch, feel, smell and even test the product or item to be sure of it, whereas in online shopping there's nothing like such, you just see available item on your screen and the price and place your order, which you can easily get scam,

  • The Opportunity For Return And Exchange: when shopping online, there's nothing like returning of products or even exchanging even though the product isn't satisfying or have a problem, although the might place a warranty on the product, its sometimes useless because you wont have such opportunity to return the product.

Whereas, if you go for physical shopping, if the product you purchased has a problem, or isn't satisfying you, it's can be returned or exchange for another one. In-store is the best.

MY EXPERIENCE WHEN SHOPPING ONLINE

Yes a had an experience when shopping online and it's was a negative one and this also contributed to the fact that makes my love for in-store shopping grows stronger.

Screenshot_20240724-224340.jpg
A screenshot from marketplace in my Facebook page

I needed a smart phone to use since the formal one I was using has low capacity, so I went to market center on my Facebook page and start searching for a phone that fit the amount of money I had, then I saw this very phone, it's was tecno spark 20pro, I then massage them on WhatsApp through the number the provided, that was when my biggest regret start.

Although I did all my best I could to make sure am not being scam up to the extent that I make a video call with the seller, saw him perfectly in his office, he even show me around the shop full of phones and other accessories, even with other customers moving in and out of the shop, I was still scam.

At times we might heard about people being scam, sometimes it's not always about the fact that their money is being taken from them, the act makes someone feel stupid, and start blaming yourself upon what happened, not trusting your instinct anymore, it's affect financial, mentally and emotionally.

Like I said there are numerous reasons why I prefer going for in-store shopping, with this few points I raise am sure they are able to convince you that in-store shopping is far more better than online shopping.

_Am proudly inviting there friends to share their thoughts on these debate contest

@mesola
@bossj23
@suboohi

MY BEST REGARDS @JEWEL005

Sort:  

@tipu curate

;) Holisss...

--
This is a manual curation from the @tipU Curation Project.

 last month 

Absolutely, instore shopping is the best and that's always my choice is I was to choose. The only good thing about online shopping is eased and less stress and urgent delivery. Me l prefer going on my own to feel and recheck the product the want to purchase. I don't mind the stress. Thanks for sharing.

Loading...

So sad to know about your bad experience while shopping online. I have similar experience last year when I wanted to get a new infinix phone, I saw a particular post about them some particular set of phone on promo and I message this seller immediately, we chatted on WhatsApp and I asked for his location because I do likely to pick up my items by myself but it was far from me so I insisted on way billing it. The person was a grown-up man who happens to be a pastor as he claim which make me trust him so much but at the end after spending a lot of money till you date I couldn't get the phone and he scammed me. I was sad but that doesn't give me the impression that all online shopping is a scam because I do learn a lesson from it. The current phone I'm using right now I bought it online through Facebook marketplace I contacted the seller and send my location he came to my location, we bargain the price I paid him.

Beautiful colours... Good luck

So sorry about your bad experience. Not all online shopping is scam.
I too prefer in-store shopping like you said it's risk free among other reasons

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 56269.96
ETH 2364.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.26