Steemit Engagement Challenge-S8W3 | Fashion Trends Impacts on Society.steemCreated with Sketch.

in Steem Fashion&Stylelast year

Steem Greetings everyone, and welcome to my blog as I share my thoughts about fashion trends and their challenges to society and myself.

Talking about fashion, there are different contexts when we do self-expression during a particular time or place that portrays fashion. This could be your way of dressing, your hairstyle, your shoe wear, etc. Your physical appearance is defined by the different fashion trends.

C6B9649E-AE7F-4EC7-8C23-6F06929BE2BA.jpeg
My images designed on Canva.

For this engagement, I will be talking more about fashion based on the guiding questions below 👇 👇.

What are social issues in fashion?


There is a rush to be the first to wear a particular dress, hairstyle or footwear. Some ended up buying what they cannot wear and it becomes a waste.

People are unable to comprehend the changing trends in fashion. Some will say it’s old-fashioned but others called it “old school” and it is what is trending.

What others considered trending, is seen by another group as “cheap”, this has also led to the fashion industry trying to brand and sell at exorbitant prices.

The truth is that whatsoever gives you joy and you can show self-expression with joy 🤩 is what should border you the most. Whether trending or not what should matter is if you are comfortable.

9E5244E2-BB48-4419-9542-F92446AFD34E.jpeg

A762D24D-E37C-41AD-83C1-BD0865B1FB44.jpeg

Myself enjoying my different fashion wears.

What kind of challenges are in fashion?


I have noticed three major issues with fashion. They included but were not limited to; different cultures/norms, sustainability and influence on youths.

With regards to cultures and norms, we all know that the world is made of people from different cultures and have norms which kind of act as a barrier for them sewing or putting on certain dresses. This has become an issue for the fashion industry trying hard to comprehend and come out with what people want. However, it is often hard to please everyone and the reason why in some cultures, a woman is not allowed to put on trousers. This has caused gender discrimination within some communities because of what you put on.

Looking at sustainability, I think this is one of the greatest issues faced by the fashion industry. The materials used are not environmentally friendly and casing a lot of damage. When the environment is damaged, we can easily be infected which will affect social life.

Fashion has a great negative social influence on the younger generation. Most of the youths jumped into fashion trends without proper education. This has caused many traumatised, and sexually abused and some suffer from psychological illnesses.

What would be the future of fashion?


I see a crazy future in fashion with lots of competition between different brands. As I earlier said, there is a mad rush to be the first to put on a particular brand. This has equally triggered the minds of designers to become more creative.

Designers who are not creative, I do not see any future for them if they cannot bring up new designs.

As days passed by, we see most of the old fashion designs coming back onboard. One good thing about “old school” designs is that they are more decent than recent designs, especially women outfits.

Recently, most women especially within my community are escaping from putting on high heels. So I think, the future of high heels 👠 needs adjustments.

What are the changes you have seen due to fashion trends in yourself?


There have been lots of changes I have noticed with regard to myself. When I was in secondary school, I love putting on trousers, especially jeans, and had a low haircut. That was what I felt more comfortable putting on. I love putting on sneakers and low heels.

In the university, there was a great change as I started plaiting with different hairstyles, putting on heels was trending and one could not do without heels.

After graduation, I needed to hustle to meet up with my needs. Heels were not part of me any longer as I needed something that will make me swift.

Presently, I love putting on jeans once in a while but still love putting on trousers. This is what makes me comfortable. I hate plaiting especially putting attachments to my hair. The reason why I often go with wigs is easy to remove anytime I feel uncomfortable.

Fashion trends positive & negative impacts on society/ on your personality.


I do not think personally I have any impact on my life based on fashion trends. To me, anything that makes me have self-expression in any context comfortable is good to go.

But to society, there are several different ways fashion has impacted society. This can be positive or negative.

For the positive impact, fashion has triggered creativity as different designs come up based on the trends.

Negative impact, it has brought about negative competition, especially amongst young stars.

It has caused damage to the environment as many do not know how to manage fashion waste.

It has caused some cultural designs to lose value, especially among youths. What matters a lot to them is what is trending and cultural wears are considered archaic.

I am inviting @majerius, @fonjougiresse and @flmbae to share their thoughts about fashion.

Sort:  
 last year 

Pemborosan benar-benar masalah utama dalam fashion saat ini karena banyak orang yang membeli barang tidak sesuai dengan kebutuhan mereka hanya karena ingin tampil mewah.

 last year 

Greetings your post has been supported by our official community account @hive-126193. To get more information about our community, visit our community introduction post click here. To get further knowledge join our Official discord channel of Steem fashion & style link here

footer.png

Subscribe and Join our community

Congratulations, your post has been upvoted by @scilwa, which is a curating account for @R2cornell's Discord Community. We can also be found on our hive community & peakd as well as on my Discord Server

Manually curated by @abiga554
r2cornell_curation_banner.png

Felicitaciones, su publication ha sido votado por @scilwa. También puedo ser encontrado en nuestra comunidad de colmena y Peakd así como en mi servidor de discordia

 last year 

Your post has been supported by @simonnwigwe from Team 2 of the Community Curation Program, at 50%. We invite you to continue sharing quality content on the platform, and continue to enjoy support, and also a likely spot in our weekly top 7.

Voting date: 17/03/2023

image.png

 last year 

Hola amiga, de hecho es así, siempre dependerá de los gustos, tendencias y personalidad. La moda siempre ha sido cambiente de pais en pais, incluso dentro de un mismo pais los estilos cambian de año en año,no solo en el tema de la ropa; sino en diferentes categorias.
Gracias por compartir tu linda publicación.
Te queda muy bien ese vestido, me gusta.
Saludos.

 last year 

Hello @chant ,

It's interesting to hear your thoughts on the future of fashion and the competition between brands. I agree that creativity is key for designers to stand out in such a crowded market. It's also fascinating to see how old fashion designs are making a comeback, and I think this is partly due to a desire for more timeless and sustainable fashion choices.

As for high heels, I think it's great that women are embracing more comfortable footwear options. However, I don't think high heels will disappear entirely, but rather, they may need to evolve to become more comfortable and practical for everyday wear. Overall, it's an exciting time for the fashion industry, and I look forward to seeing how it continues to evolve in the future.

 last year 

That's the way it is really friends, it will always depend on taste, inclination and personality. Fashion always varies from country to country, and even within the same country, styles change from year to year, not just in clothing; But in different categories. Fashion is very important to us. Which we always need. Good luck to you friend

 last year 

Hello @chant,

I sincerely agree with you that any fashionista without upgrading to the trending fashion, will so loose out.

Sure! Old fashioned designs are coming back to trend but in a modernized way, and heels are still trending but not as before. I love your points of view about fashion.

Best regards!

 last year 

Hi @chant

I feel elated reading your post, you where very decisive in precision during the publication. It is really true that most of fashion trends are not culturally acceptable, as you gave analogy to women wearing trousers. It remains so painful to see that fashion has been a prerequisite for sexual assaults in some cases. I am indeed glad I visited your great blog. I would certainly be more often as regards reading your wonderful blog. Success my dear friend in the challenge. See you next time #steem-on

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.033
BTC 64010.98
ETH 2791.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65