MY ENTRY: CAMPUS CONNECT WEEKLY CONTEST - WEEK 13 - 24 HOURS AS A VICE CHANCELLOR OF YOUR UNIVERSITY|| 50% TO @campusconnectng

in CampusConnect3 years ago (edited)

20211028_210758_0000.png
Designed with canva

Hello CampusConnect!

This is my entry for the campus connect contest for week 13. I'm very much elated to speak on this. After reading through, you can then determine if I should be appointed as vice-chancellor of a tertiary institution.

The position of a vice-chancellor which is also known in common parlance as VC is an enviable position of power among the academia. It is the post that is most vied for in any university institution as it affords one some very rare privileges as well as prestige in the institution, state and society at large. The authority and power attached to this prominent office can be used positively or negatively. However, the former is most preferable.

Acquiring the authority of an incumbent vice chancellor for twenty-four hours is almost very impossible as this has never been the case anyway in the world except in fantasies. But if by a matter of chance and grace I was appointed the vice-chancellor of the prestigious University of Uyo for a day, I will recognize the fact that the given time is quite limited to carry out much change and reformation as I would have desired but since no little positive effort can be dismissed as unimportant, these are some few steps I will take to address some pressing issues:

  • Build a team.
  • Create a map.
  • Establish a student complaint forum.
  • Provide a conducive learning environment.
  • Initiate a bill.

Build a team

On receiving my notification of appointment, I will set up a committee saddled with the responsibility of assisting me to attain the above-listed goals. I understand that before anyone is appointed into any public office, he or she must have been given prior notice and so I must have used the limited time available to build a proficient team with the best hands-on-deck such as Deans with remarkable recommendations. This is because I have never occupied any place of power of this sort that might give me an insight into what to expect.

Create a map

I have observed that most students do not know their way around the school especially newbies or those based at different campuses. I am looking at creating a online student tour guide app or mounting visual maps around the school environments to aid students locate their lecture halls easily so they wouldn't be mislead by mischievous senior colleagues. I can't count the number of times I missed a class as a fresher because I was made to roam aimlessly between town campus and main campus in search of a lecture hall that was right behind me when I left. I spent the two hours allocated for that lecture to travel tro and fro these campuses.

Establish a student complaint forum

This is a forum where students can forward their complaints to the right people who will attend to them promptly. I have observed that most students encounter transfer of feud and enmity from lecturers and other academic staff due to the mistakes of their predecessors. This will enable them to report anyone who tries to trample on their rights.

Provide a conducive learning environment

I understand that there are some basic procedures to follow to achieve this pivotal issue but I will try to reach out to the basic authorities responsible for providing steady power supply, basic facilities and infrastructure like functional bulbs, street lights stationed at every point in the school compound, conducive hotels, large classrooms to contain the already larger class size.

Initiate a bill

Here, I will address the lackadaisical and nonchalant attitudes of some lecturers towards performing their duties. It might take a while to achieve the desired result but it is never bad to start up something. Finally, I will reapply for more time to perform my task excellently. Without further ado, I will ensure that I receive my salary in full with every increment attached to such an important office.

From the vantage point of a student with a first-hand experience of the plight of most students, especially those who attend night class, I believe that all these are possible and many more.

I powered up 16 steems to join #club5050 on Sunday.
My wallet before and after

Screenshot_20211028-214914.png

Screenshot_20211028-214949.png

My fellow comrades, I accept 24hours appointments please.

Cc:
@campusconnectng
@ngoenyi
@emyekanem
@goodybest

This is my introduction post here

Sort:  
 3 years ago 

Thank you. 🤗

 3 years ago 

Nice ideas. Keep it up man

 3 years ago 

I am a lady 🤣

 3 years ago 

Alright,noted...sorry dear.

 3 years ago 

Thank you🤗

 3 years ago 

Keep up with the nice work

 3 years ago 

Thank you.

😂😂
I guess you really deserve the position of a VC. I hope you become one in future.
You have a nice write-up @ukpono dear, keep it up.

 3 years ago 

I remember back in high school when we held one for a day principal. A quiz was organized and the winner would be the principal for a day, I didn't join but I remember wishing I did

 3 years ago 

There were some opportunities I missed in high school due to fear and low self esteem but it only made me stronger that I have more faith in myself than before. Still I wish that I knew better but everything is fine.

There are bigger opportunities in the big world. Explore it, dear. You have got all it takes to win. ❣️❣️❣️

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68072.80
ETH 3780.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.72