Campus Connect Engagement Contest Week 5 - Side Hustle On Campus As A Student by @sahmie

in CampusConnect2 years ago
HELLO FRIENDS

Salutes to my respectable friends in this remarkable community. I hope we are doing wonderfully well. This is my post for the side hustle contest.

20220815_194314.png

School life in Nigerian Universities is never easy going for any student, thus, students are urged to fend for themselves in any way they can.

There the bulk of students engages in different side hustles to earn that extra cash needed to solve some of the rising needs. Side hustles are fast coming to be a necessity for virtually all students. Though, making balancing Academics and Work is an uphill task as they both require time which is not so available. But, most still find a way out. An example is me.


WHAT IS YOUR SIDE HUSTLE?


I did virtually anything I can do to earn the extra cash needed, hustles included on this list are;

  • Steemit
  • Graphics Designing
  • Sports Betting
  • Tutoring

I did virtually any positive thing I could do to earn the extra cash needed, I even worked as a cleaner for a hotel.

STEEMIT:
Screenshot_2022-08-15-19-31-14-389_com.android.chrome.jpg
I only got to know about this platform about a year ago, of which my first days weren't as easy going as I wished for, which gave me doubts in my head and I almost gave up on it, but am full of joy I didn't as it came to my aid in due seasons. The phone is using to write this very article came courtesy of Steemit. A Redmi note 11 is worth 110,000 nairas (612 steems).

GRAPHICS DESIGNS:

Screenshot_2022-08-15-19-10-24-804_com.imaginstudio.imagetools.pixellab.jpg A work soft copy on my phone

IMG_20220815_190943.jpg The hard copy after printing

About this, I still feel am learning the trade though, but I have been doing this for over 2 years now and from time to time I get to earn 3,000 - 6,000 naira (16.6 - 33.2 steems) doing jobs.

SPORTS BETTING:

If there's anyone who plays sports betting and says he only wins, it's a big liar, I lose some days but my winning days are much more than the losing days as I don't seek to win large sums and I've been on sports betting since my first year in school.

TUTORING: Probably the most time-consuming of all my hustles, but it's nice as it gives me the avenue to learn more even for myself. I do teach people of my level things they find difficult and sometimes even help them with their assignments. Then if am lucky I get a good payoff from 1,000 - 2,000 naira (5.6 - 11.2 steems), there are days I only get to eat.


HOW DO YOU MERGE BOTH SIDE HUSTLE AND EDUCATION ON CAMPUS?


Like I said, the most time-consuming among them is the tutorials, sometimes I could teach for 4-5 hours straight, sometimes the whole night, this usually occurs during exam periods. Apart from the tutoring, the rest takes minimal time as I get to write for steemit mostly during my free time, and my graphics only last a maximum of 1 hour per design, unless am to go to the printing press myself, which I would charge higher and I only go to the printing press on Saturdays and Sundays. Sports betting is something I do with my mobile phone so I can do that even on the go.


HOW MANY HOURS DO YOU WORK A WEEK ON YOUR SIDE HUSTLE?


On normal weekdays, I work lemme say 4-6 hours per day but mostly at night as I would attend classes too. Then on weekends and exam periods, let's say a maximum of 10 hours as I do more teaching during that time. I do try to accommodate the much as I can during the weekends. thereby making my weekends hustling hours.

CONCLUSION

I chose to do most of these jobs because it offers me a variety of everything. As I teach others, I learn more by doing my research carefully. As much as work my ass off to cope in school, I also make time for myself, and as most of my hustles are online, it is less strenuous than those that require my physical presence, thus giving me some time for energy reserves.

The significance of side hustles cannot be overripe, as survival is essential for students, particularly those of us who weren't born with a silver spoon.


I invite @kinase, @five5 and @yangitu99


THANKS TO YOU ALL!!!



9vWp6aU4y8kwSZ9Gw15LFL3aMdhmgmBBFMpDJregpdP328D2Z1pNpfQHsrDiDc3JFwT3JoXSX8W6y6L2uvz1s1j4Dj9Ve9MmyC4RbCi99oyhw12iNjryuoA9BW845wfY5Dcdyik7NSymfUTYa.jpeg

ABOUT ME

My name is Samuel Godgift, but you can call me Sahmie or Big sam, I am from the country of Nigeria 🇳🇬 , born in the year 1995 and I like interesting and unique things/places. So on this beloved platform I will be sharing about photography, sports, traveling and other interesting things.

For my Achievement 1 Click Here


NOTE: Always have a smile on your face, as you are never fully dressed without one.

20211015_222626.png

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted through steemcurator08.


Curated By - @samuel20
SteemCor07 - Lifestyle Curation Team

 2 years ago 

Hello @sahmie thanks for taking part on this contest, I pray that God should bless your hustle, life is hard and it's not good to sleep one-sided now. Continue to be active in our community we appreciate your effort 💕

Status Club
club5050
Steem Exclusive
Plagiarism Free
BOT Free
Voting CSI
17.4(self vote 0)
Grading:
8.5/10
Verification date:
08-16-22


Thank you for your time and kind words.

 2 years ago 

You're welcome 🤗

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63126.02
ETH 2553.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78