Dealing with social isolation as a student|20% payout to Campusconnectng by@christnenye

in CampusConnect3 years ago (edited)

Hello everyone, welcome back to my blog, hope you guys are doing great?

I have come to notice that some students who are introverted finds mixing up with their fellow students as a challenge. One needs to mingle and participate in social gatherings to build leadership skill and I will write on it today. Without much fuss I will be writing on a topic Dealing with Social Isolation as a student

20220131_164527.jpg
src edited using pixel lab

Social isolation is the state in which an individual lacks the sense of associating with his/her fellow students also does not engage with others. Most times this is seen in students who are introverts and feels withdrawn, social isolation is a very bad trait to be exhibited as student because the tertiary institution (campus) is where one should create networks which can be of help for greater heights/ opportunities after school.

One's ability to tackle this challenge of social isolation can be of help in developing leadership skill which will enhance communication within a work place one finds his/her self after the four walls of a University.

As a student you need to interact with people so you will not be limited with only what you know and associating with people will make you appreciate diversities, ease anxiety and kill depression. Be free with people so that you can kill this challenge called social isolation.

Of course social isolation cannot be tackled if the control measures or solutions are not proferred.

The number one measure in dealing with social isolation is;

Change your mindset Social Isolation starts from the mind, it often comes with words like "I am made this way", "this is how I am and I can't change myself" etc You're that way, Yes! but you can change it. The mind controls how we behave, react and express ourselves. Most times you find out that people with this kind of mindset are always unhappy, learn how to control your thoughts and be free.

Go outdoor: Dealing with social isolation starts when you go out to meet people, interact, and share ideas then merry and be happy.
Most times we see alot of students commit suicide because they fail to go out and share their problems, going outdoor will make you confide in people on your problems and probably get solutions to them.

Always keep a smiling face Smiling gives people the impression that they're welcomed to interact with you. Always keep a smiling face even though it's hard, it will make people feel free to be around you.

Get involved in social activities/gatherings Going outdoor and getting involved in social activities is a two different thing. Getting involved in social activities entails involving in campus sports, quizz, good social gathering etc. Allow the school to be part of you and see yourself getting off the hook of social isolation.

Lastly,

Be physically active as possible One need to stay active, be alert and be involved at all times. Be active always so you can deal this challenge of social isolation.

I am @christnenye, thanks for your time.

Special appreciation to @campusconnectng, @whitestallion, @kemeagadaga and @iddy

Sort:  

Social isolation is the act of staying away from other peoples willingly when there is a need to stay together or doing some social activities with them. This can be separating one's self from friends, peer group, course mates, family, etc. It is really common in campuses of higher learning. Talking about social isolation on the aspect of a student, it has a lot of negative impact which are, lack of motivation, lack of social interaction which may result to mental health problem.

Keeping yourself socially isolated at school as a student can only affect you negatively. You will be physically, mentally, socially and academically affected negatively if you are socially isolated.

Having read through your great content and finding it interesting, here is my own view and contribution to your points.

Change your mindset: Social isolation oftentimes comes from having the mindset that you will not be appreciated or rejected if you get involved in social activities. As a result of this you get yourself isolated, it ought not to be so. There is nothing wrong in giving a try to new things. Try as often, you will be appreciated at least by one person if not all.

Go outdoor: Don't say indoor if you want to get involved socially, staying indoors will not give you room to associate with people in the least possible way you can. Always try to go outdoor and see how others are doing things.

Try get yourself involved in social activities: The monkey learn to jump from tree to tree without falling by trying often. Get yourself involved in social activities by trying to do the one you can do better. Don't let anyone discourage you, feeling discouraged is what led to your social isolation in the first place. The more you try, the more courage you get to do better.

Thanks for your nice content @christnenye

 3 years ago 

I always love how you analyze my contents, I just don't know how to express my gratitude but God will bless you.

 3 years ago 

I can say that I'm also Anti-Social in my school. I don't like to engage with people not because I hate them but I don't see myself benefiting anything with them, if there were discussing something related to business or money making, yes I can join but once it leaves that aspect and focuses on fast living and Chilling I just don't go towards them.

 3 years ago (edited)

In the aspect of fast living and chilling the best option is just to keep quiet and be the listener.

Also, for you to get involve in business or money related discussion means you're not Anti-social. Social isolation comes with being withdrawn from anything that involves coming together of two to three persons.

Thanks for stopping by, I appreciate.

 3 years ago 

Noted.

Thanks for making this post, it helped me understand some life facts better.

 3 years ago 

Nice post! Keep it up!

 3 years ago 

Thanks boss for stopping by.

Awesome, I love this post, social isolation indeed is very deadly, as it will not create room for interaction and one becomes limited to certain knowledge. I love the part of the mind, isolation indeed comes from the mind, because you can't be what you don't ponder upon. Very big thanks in this post

 3 years ago 

Thanks good friend for reading through my post, and for stopping by.

Much ❤️

 3 years ago 

I can tell what it means to be an introvert, I was once such a person, I found it difficult to associate with my coursemates because I thought their mental disposition was immature. But I have realized it is cool to be sociable though not with everyone because one needs to be selective when it comes to making friends. Those points you put in place would help one who is an introvert to see needs and how to associate.

 3 years ago 

Thanks boss, your encouraging words has been my source of motivation. I appreciate your comments on my post each time I mention you. God bless you.

 3 years ago 

Hello dear I always enjoy reading through your rich contents. Thanks for sharing with us, I believe others will benefit from this. Continue to be active in our community we appreciate you 💕 and you may consider delegating SP for us

REMARKS;

Plagiarism-freeYES
#steemexclusiveYES
#club75YES
DelegationNO
Bot-freeYES
BENEFICIARYYES
 3 years ago 

Thanks ma for the encouraging words, I love the fact that you find my post useful.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 59626.66
ETH 2519.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43