Make them Smile Contest: Buying a Dozen Hangers From Street Vendor Lesley

in Steem Entrepreneurs2 years ago

Hi everyone, steem greetings to all of you. Stumbling on this contest I was so touched. Yes it's true, steem vendors, small businesses and traditional markets help our community in ways we cannot understand. So it's good we support them by patronizing their businesses once in a while.

20220526_223143.jpg


My Experience Buying from Street Vendors


Most of us go to get products from street vendors when we don't have money because we expect that they sell cheaper than the supermarkets. I have has experiences where some street vendors are really mad when you want to buy stuff from them and in the process of bargaining you propose to buy the products at prices lower than the cost price. It really saddens me because they are struggling and we are trying to bring them down.

Another experience I have had with street vendors is that some of them don't really know the proper ethics of dealing with customers. Some are rude or some will just ignore you or will throw slangs. They lack the proper orientation on customer service.

Also when I buy things from street vendors, some are really friendly. Like around where I live, nearly all street vendors call their customers my friend. This tried to bring a friendly relationship amongst the buyer and the vendor.

While some street vendors may be con artists, some sell actually very good products. They also have original stuff that actually last more than we expect them too.



Lesley My Favorite Street Vendors


PXL_20220526_150305871.jpg
Lesley sitting near his cart Location

The picture above shows Lesley seated besides his movable cart. Lesley is a street Vendors who sells literally almost everything. He sells phone protective screens, hangers, wall decorations, chargers, brooms, headphones etc. When I say almost everything I mean almost everything.
I said his cart is a movable cart because it has wheels but Lesley doesn't go around anymore. He has found a spot near the Infinity Mansion at Sosoliso where he sells all these stuff.

PXL_20220526_150345045.jpg
a view of the phone case section of Lesley's cart

I first met Lesley on a sunny day when the sun was so hot. I begged that I take shade at under the covering of his cart and he accepted. Lesley is a very friendly and chatty guy. He sells his goods at very good and moderate prices. They are also good stuff that last long. The first time I bought something from Lesley, it was for my sister I bought a phone case for 3000frs (20 steem) and a protective screen for that phone for 1500frs (10 steem).

Just from the way Lesley talks and how he gave me a seat when I came to buy and how we chatted and laughed for a while, I made him my customer. Anytime I need something that he sells, I go to him. So for the sake of this contest, I went to Lesley's shop and got a dozen hangers for 1000frs (7 steem).

PXL_20220526_150238236.jpg
the hanger I got

Lesley told me how he started small with just a few things in his cart and now he has alot of stuff. From his business he can rent a place for himself and take care of his every need. I asked him how he did it and he told me discipline alongside management brought him here and will take him higher.



Conclusion


From my point of view, the pros of buying from street vendors outweigh the cons. I like the friendship I have made with most street vendors, especially the ones around my area. For example if something new comes up, I'll get a call from Lesley to come check it out. Street vendors tale very good care of their loyal customers because we are the ones who make them smile the most. They know that we'll always think buying our products from shops is cheaper, so those of us who choose to support them, they try their best to give us their bests.

From Lesley's little story we can see that without our support they cannot grow and establish better businesses. So please let's always try to acknowledge the struggles of the street vendors.



I invite @graciella @b-naj and @starrchris to join this contest.

20% to @steemkindness

25% to @null #burnsteem25


Thanks for reading!!

Sort:  
 2 years ago (edited)

Welcome and thank you @wase1234 for participating in the "Make Them Smile" Contest.

Awesome ! and make sure to stay engaged with relevant comments and connect with steemit users around the world.

Team verification results :
Verified userYES
Plagiarism-freeYES
Bot-freeYES
#steemexclusiveYES
#club status#club75
Support #burnsteem25YES
Beneficiaries 20%YES
Voting CSI15.1

Keep up your good work, best regards and good luck !

 2 years ago 

Hello there's a mistake

Welcome and thank you @wase1234 for participating in the "Your impression of participating in the Steemit Engagement Challenge Season 1" Contest.

I participated in the Make them Smile Contest

 2 years ago 

Ok... Thanks

 2 years ago 

Nice post my friend keep it up

 2 years ago 

I certainly will
Thank you

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65858.36
ETH 3493.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53