Steemit Engagement Challenge 4 | STEEM GROWTH CONTEST - Theme : How many hours have you spent on steemit in the last week By @swaylee

in Steem Entrepreneurs2 years ago

20220517_213059_0000.png
image made using Canva

E346FEA0-0B0C-4602-AA4C-DE8A8D1B1A38.png

Greetings Everyone,
I happen to love this contest in particular and decided to start with it as it is a very relatable contest topic. If there is something that takes the greater part of my life these days, it's definitely Steemit. If you want to know how and why I do so, stay tuned and enjoy this post. Let's have a closer look. Shall we?

E346FEA0-0B0C-4602-AA4C-DE8A8D1B1A38.png


Epilogue


If we look at it objectively, Steemit is now part of my life and both of us are inseparable for the time being. I previously made a post about how much Steemit has changed my life. How would one want to be away from something which has had such a large impact on his life

There happens to be an ongoing strike action over here in Nigeria hence those in government/ federal owned universities are temporarily off work and we the students are forced to while away at home.

Some chose to drop out, some chose to learn new skills, some choose to move to private universities, some choose to get a paying job where they get peanuts below the minimum wage but I chose the best option of them all, To spend most of my time Steeming where I end up learning, having fun, passing time and earning at the same time.

I also have a goal to achieve by August 2022 which is to achieve dolphin status but due to the recent Great Depression in cryptocurrency prices, steem fell to newer lows and SBD was even put at a stand still so my goal had to be extended as I had already planned exactly how I was to achieve it. So I have to increase my Steemit time even more.

E346FEA0-0B0C-4602-AA4C-DE8A8D1B1A38.png


Time Spent in Past Week


Mornings 🌄

I spend my mornings looking for post ideas. What better way to start the morning than thinking of what to share with your readers and followers. If you take a closer look at my account, I mostly post about learn with steem and Fintech related posts then student related posts from time to time. So I would start my day by thinking of possible good quality posts to make.

I also check the @disconnect profile for possible and favourable ongoing contests from around the Steemit-verse. Once I find one, I start designing the cover photo immediately and planning how I would win it in my head. So on Average, I spend about 3 hours in the morning.


Afternoons 🕧

My afternoons are spent on honing my posts, correcting errors, proof reading, checking for plagiarism, doing research, applying markdowns to beautify the post and making sure it's quality enough to post and the best community to post it in. This is the main, longest and most stressful part of steeming but it's all worth it. I spend 3 hours Steeming in the Afternoon.


Evening / Night 🌃

After I must have posted everything I was working on in the afternoon, the night is specially for reading other users posts, comments and replying to comments. This is the best time of steeming as it just involves interaction and learning from the posts of others

Although there are times when I switch roles and end up performing the afternoon duties in the evening and vice versa this is due to the fact that I often get busy in the afternoon so I end up posting at night. I also end up posting at night when I come across an irresistible idea for a post and I can't wait to share. On average, I spend up to 5 hours at night. I can start by 7pm and wouldn't stop to until I am done with such a post which might be 12am.

So we can summarize that I utilize 11 hours out of my 24 hours each day to steem which is almost half a day. Based on last week, I have spent 77 hours on Steemit.

E346FEA0-0B0C-4602-AA4C-DE8A8D1B1A38.png


My Opinion about the benefits of the Steemit Engagement Challenge


My honest opinion is that the Engagement Challenge has brought alot of activity to Steemit of recent. You see numerous entries every single day and there is a reward for our hardwork which hinges on probability. Everyone is tasked with the opportunity of voting and commenting on posts which in turn shows support to the writers showing them that their articles are being read and appreciated.

It also keeps the community mods up and running because they have to check for plagiarism, check if the post passes all their criteria. Then also drop a comment showing that they have approved of their work.

The challenges are also relatively easy so a particular group of Steemians aren't left out of the engagement. Anyone can partake of these assignments with the only criteria being atleast club5050.

E346FEA0-0B0C-4602-AA4C-DE8A8D1B1A38.png


My Suggestions to improve this challenge in the next period.


We all know the most common complain people have with the engagement challenge which is the fact that votes are not guaranteed. I completely understand this and I've had my fair share of voteless posts but the one thing I want to advocate for is that there happen to be those people who have been faithful to the engagement challenge but see little or no support via votes while some lucky people make 5 engagement challenges in a week and end up with 3 or 4 getting voted.

For example, John (55) does all 7 challenges and sees 0 or 1 vote and Peter (61) does 5 and 3 out if them get voted. John would eventually feel his efforts are wasted and end up pulling out. I noticed there were around 600 active posters in various communities when the challenge started but right now it's just shy above 400 active posters to show how many users must have pulled out.

My suggestion here was to find a way that atleast the active ones see support to keep them going. It mustn't have to be all their posts but atleast out of the 7, 2 or 3 should get voted. This would go a long way to keep up the active challengers.

Thank you for reading ⭐


20% to @steemkindness
I want to invite @ronindboss, @victoh78 and @weasell

20220510_151816_0000.png

Sort:  
 2 years ago 

Thank you @swaylee for consistently contributing and sharing quality posts with us on the Steem Entrepreneurs Community - Steem On !

Team verification results :
Verified userYES
Plagiarism-freeYES
Bot-freeYES
#steemexclusiveYES
#club status#club75
Beneficiaries 20%YES
Voting CSI13.6

Keep up your good work, best regards and good luck !

 2 years ago 

Thank you very much. I really appreciate the hardwork

 2 years ago 

It is good to see that you have to work on Steemit as a full-timer. So also have made some valid points. The steemit engagement challenge had a significant benefit for the people working here.

 2 years ago 

Thank you for reading man. Steemit has definitely done more for us than we give it credit for and this engagement contest has gone a long way to bring about a rise in active posters

 2 years ago 

Very detailed and inspiring, I wish the issue of the no guaranteed vote is affecting the full potential of this contest. I pray that this problem will be looked on before the next engagement contest.

 2 years ago 

You are completely right my friend, day by day many people drop out from engaging mostly because their efforts end up being null and void. We hope a little change could be effected to correct things

Spending 5 hours on Steemit I think is a productive step to produce quality work and the curator will definitely give votes that are in accordance with the effort we put into this platform.

I see you have spent a lot of time on this steemit platform. And really the Steam Engagement Challenge has a lot of benefits for all of us, because of this we get to know each other very quickly and our writing skills increase a lot.

 2 years ago 

So you are a full time Steemit user . You deserve much. Stay consistent and you will be achieve your goals asap.

 2 years ago 

Thank you very much for reading Dr. I actually have no choice since school is on a standstill so I have to maximize my Steemit time

 2 years ago 

That's good because being busy on Steemit is itself a productive use of time .

 2 years ago 

Hola @swaylee, si estoy de acuerdo es mas este argumento que tienes esta repetido en muchas publicaciones y yo lo comparto, a a veces veo publicaciones excelentes que no hacen nada y otras que para mi gusto no aportan y tienen mucho, es algo loco.

 2 years ago 

Yes there should be a way to rewards the active posters even if it's a couple of times

 2 years ago 

You have really explained how to spend your time on steemit and it a detailed explanation and you have provided some good suggestion I think will think. Lack of vote has discourage many users about the ongoing engagement contest.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59893.00
ETH 2414.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43