#Burnsteem25 || Steemit Engagement Challenge S4-W1|Traditional Retail Shopping : Shopping at Market Square by @Sahmie

in Steem Entrepreneurs2 years ago (edited)
25% @Null

Greetings to each of us in this amazing community. I hope we are all wonderfully well and have a terrific day.


20220902_112858.png Designed by @Sahmie using pixellab app.

This is my participation publication for the contest "Steemit Engagement Contest Season4 Week #1 | Economic recovery of the traditional retail sector". hosted by @steempreneurship

INTRODUCTION

Retailing is said to be the distribution process, in which goods and services are sold directly to the final consumer (i.e. the final user of the product). It pertains to the sale of goods and services from a point of purchase to the final consumers, the people who are going to make use of that product.

Retailing, in the accepted sense, comprises all the actions in selling goods or services directly to the final users for personal and non-business use. This includes any set-up selling to final consumers, be it a manufacturer, wholesaler or retailer.

Currently, the world of retailing has experienced significant changes due to the increase in competitive strategies and Technology. Civilisation has brought about different modern ways or kinds of retailing including E-commerce (online shopping), Cooperate retailing etc.

For this report, I am asked to illustrate the traditional concept of retailing and how it has fared along so far, so sit tight and enjoy, hope there is popcorn with you.

WHO IS A TRADITIONAL RETAILER?

Traditional on its own, means the conventional, established or formal knowledge or cultural ways of doing things. This in turn means the way things were done was taught to us.

Knowing who a retailer already is from the introduction, who then is a traditional retailer?

grocery-1232944_1280.webpsource

A Traditional Retailer(s) is/are those people who still use the conventional ways/means of distributing goods and services to the final consumers.

In traditional retailing, the vendor and the store are exceptionally important. The store gives the buyer the chance to compare and get information about a product. Thus, making the physical store and its salespeople very important as they need to have the required skills, knowledge, goods, and services all in one place. Other important factors include the shop's location, contacts, and variety.

Therefore, Traditional Retailers include owners/shopkeepers of various types of retail stores such as convenience stores, department stores, supermarkets, catalogue showrooms, drug stores, superstores, speciality stores etc. that still offers face-to-face interactions.

FUNCTIONS OF A RETAILER

Retailers or shopkeepers have numerous significant functions to execute to promote, enable and simplify the sale of goods and services. These functions include –

SORTING
Manufacturers produce vast quantities of comparable goods and services and they like to sell their merchandise to a few customers who buy in tons or lots. As customers prefer different varieties of goods from various manufacturers to choose from. Retailers help balance the demands of both sides by amassing and assorting these goods and services from different sources and putting them according to the needs of the consumers.

BREAKING BULK
Shopkeepers and Retailers buy goods from manufacturers and wholesalers in adequately substantial amounts and sell to the final customers/users in smaller quantities they can afford.

DIFFERENCE BETWEEN TRADITIONAL RETAILERS AND MODERN RETAILERS

S/NTRADITIONAL RETAILERSMODERN RETAILERS
1.Offers the buyer the chance of visiting the shop to make a purchase.Buyers can only make purchases via the internet.
2.Gives opportunities to buyers to physically see what they are buying.Don't offer customers the opportunity to see the goods physically.
3.Offers comparable safety to buyers.Buyers/Consumers are prone to the risk of fraud.
4.Offers a channel of easy return of goods or products.Returning products maybe be complicated.

For the reasons mentioned above, I can say for myself that I am still very much a happy guy to make us of the Traditional Retailers and One place I find myself using always is MARKET SQUARE.

MARKET SQUARE Is a mart/super store that still offers Traditional retailing services here in Yenagoa, Bayelsa State. Located along the Imbiama - Yenagoa Road.

IMG_20220901_183745.jpg

IMG_20220902_100202.jpgLocation of the store on What3word and Google Map

MARKET SQUARE as the name imply is a retail store that offers different kinds/types of goods, ranging from fresh vegetables and fruits, to bakery products such as bread, cakes, meat pies, chicken pies etc, to kitchen utensils, mobile phones, pharmaceutical products and much more. They sell even fast foods.

Made popular by its unique bread, I am not alone when I say it's the people's favourite store for any kind of goods.

Yesterday I found myself there to purchase some items for the family, and I wouldn't mind sharing with you all, I went there happy to buy snacks for the family.

IMG_20220901_182042.jpg
My Purchased Items

Below are all items I purchased and their prices.

ITEMSNAIRASTEEMQUANTITY
Meat PieN3502.246
Chicken PieN4002.564
Fan Ice Cream (3 Litres)N4,95331.751
Total AmountN8,09551.89
IMG_20220902_101042.jpgThe invoice of my total Purchase
The price of 1 steem as at the time of writing this post is approximately 156 naira at Roqqu wallet.IMG_20220902_093104.jpg

Below are some photos I managed to take to share with you all, Forgive the low quality as taking photos or video recordings is prohibited inside the mart.

IMG_20220902_104322.jpg
The Ice-cream stand
IMG_20220902_104213.jpg
The Ice-cream stand
IMG_20220902_104250.jpg
The Frozen meat stand
IMG_20220902_104230.jpg
The Frozen meat stand
IMG_20220902_104134.jpg
The pie's stand
IMG_20220902_104120.jpg
The pie's stand
IMG_20220902_104105.jpg
The Drinks Area
IMG_20220902_104026.jpg
The Drinks Area
IMG_20220902_104346.jpg
The Pay Desk
IMG_20220902_104052.jpg
Awaiting customer

CONCLUSION

The major distinction between modern retailers and traditional retailers is that modern retailers uses the service of internet to reach out to customers, whereas traditional retailers allows the consumer to actually see and feel the products they wish to buy.


I like to invite @kinase, @five5 and @yangitu99, and any other persons who would like to participate too to CLICK HERE for more instructions.


thank-you-2490552_640.png

Thank you all for always making out time to go through my work, and I only hope you enjoyed it😉😁. I can never say thank you enough. You are my real MVPs.

PHOTOS DETAILS
Photographer@Sahmie
Camera DeviceRedmi note 11
CameraRear
Pixels50MP
EditorLightroom Mobile App.
CategoryLifestyle, Business
Locationyenagoa, Bayelsa. Nigeria


IMG_20220723_164143.jpg

ABOUT ME

My name is Samuel Godgift, but you can call me Sahmie or Big sam, I am from the country of Nigeria 🇳🇬 , born in the year 1995 and I like interesting and unique things/places. So on this beloved platform I will be sharing about photography, sports, traveling and other interesting things.

For my Achievement 1 Click Here


NOTE: Always have a smile on your face, as you are never fully dressed without one.

20211015_222626.png

Sort:  
 2 years ago 

Sorry @sahmie, looks like this is included in Modern Retail. Indeed, in modern retail, all necessities are readily available. And for the price we can not bargain the price. Success for you.

I also share about Traditional Retail, if you have time please take a look and I will be happy.

 2 years ago 

Thank you for the support you show to me. Definitely I will be at your ends, after all it takes Two to Tangle.

 2 years ago 

Thank you for your achievements. I like the posts you share.

 2 years ago 

Seriously , your review on market square is beautiful I must say!

You just made me want to visit the nearest market square. Thank you for sharing!

 2 years ago 

Lol 😆 .. Thank you for you kind words. You always have a way bringing the smiles even if you don't get to see them. I am very grateful for your true friendship and support.. You are free to visit any market square of your choice, but I am just talking about the one in yenagoa though.

 2 years ago 

Aww! You just made me blush now!

Oh yes I will visit.

 2 years ago 

Thank you for your support and care.. I see you won the let's grower bigger contest too.. Congratulations 🎉

Your article has been supported with a 40% upvote by @fredquantum from Team 2 of the community curator program. We encourage you to keep producing quality content on Steem to enjoy more support from us and a likely spot in our weekly top 5.

20220902_095909_0000.png

 2 years ago 

Thank you team to everyone behind this wonderful team for choosing to support me. I am most grateful for your show of love and support.

 2 years ago 

Nice presentation, we can get information about transaction procedures in your country, even though it looks like a super market. The store still applies conventional transactions and friendly interface interactions between buyers and sellers.

However, supermarkets like this seem to have set a special price for each product, so can no longer do price quotes, unless we can get products that are on discount, it will be cheaper to enjoy.

For blog quality, you can choose to include only a few quality photos, so it doesn't affect the slow loading of the blog because there are too many images loaded.

Thanks for the complete description.

 2 years ago (edited)

Thank you for making out time from your precious time to support me.

For blog quality, you can choose to include only a few quality photos, so it doesn't affect the slow loading of the blog because there are too many images loaded.

Oh, really! Okay.. I've learned. Thank you support.

Loading...
 2 years ago 

Congratulations on writing a great post!
I found it very interesting as it is completely the opposite of my post.
I don’t qualify supermarkets as traditional retailer yet when I read your post and read how you compare a supermarket to online shopping it makes me understand why you’ve said so. Very interesting and that without popcorn 😊

 2 years ago 

Lol 😆 . thank you ma, for your time and encouraging words. You are such a wonderful person indeed.

Initially, I had my doubt of having supermarket as a traditional retailer, but then I realised they make use of a certain location and offers that face to face interaction too.. Then, I asked why not give a try.. Thank you ma for your support.

 2 years ago 

It is for me to say thank you for your kind words. A bit of motivation... goes a long way.(•ิ‿•ิ)
Next time, trust your gut!
I've seen it so often in life that the first gut feeling is always the right feeling.

 2 years ago 

Thank you ma, and I look forward to having you know I will try to keep improving my quality.

 2 years ago 

If you talk about quality.. read this post of mine if you haven't already;
https://steemit.com/hive-153970/@patjewell/the-5-main-reasons-why-posts-goes-wrong

 2 years ago 

Have seen this already.. But still thank you.. Remember when you told me to Cc you on my post for you to help me check out if it meets the required standards? I learnt a lot that day. Thank you.

 2 years ago 

Oh yes! I remember.. I'm getting old my friend. (•ิ‿•ิ)

 2 years ago 

It comes with its blessing too.. 🤓😆

You have made a great review of the supermart shared in this piece and it was supported with a valid user experience. That said, the last set of images added can be made lesser such that they ain't too many of them and if possible, a caption for each of them would have been great (it will add up to the quality).

You should pay attention to a few things above and I wish you the best in the contest, @sahmie.

 2 years ago 

Noted sire, I will get the corrections done. Onto to the next one I guess.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57956.22
ETH 3126.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45