Steemit engagement challenge s9w2: Water Sustains life use wisely

in Steem Entrepreneurslast year (edited)

AddText_04-24-04.08.42.jpg

Hello friends,

It's week 2 of Steemit engagement challenge season 9 already. Am so glad am not missing out from this week's engagement challenge.


I thank the steemit team for this engagement challenge initiative. It has really helped in daily activeness of users on the platform and made us even know ourselves better.


This week's theme talks about users "learning to appreciate a drop of water". Stay put as I write my own opinion about the topic.


What is the function of water in life
IMG_20230424_131518_374.jpgA bucket filled with water from my bathroom tap

Water is a liquid we use every day in our lives. Water performs the same function everywhere in the world.

Guess what? A clean Water is tasteless but it's not bitter at the same time. it has a taste that satisfies. Clean water should not have a specific colour.

The old, the young and even the poor or rich needs water. Plants and animals alike needs water for their survival.

Water is the single most powerful solvent in the world. Water generally sustains the existence of life. If you ever find yourself in a strange land and there is water there, you can own the world from there ..

There are several functions of water in life and I will tell you;

  • Water is used for Agricultural purposes

It is not a lie when I say the food we eat is gotten from agriculture. Water is used for Agricultural purposes like irrigation which is an artificial method of supplying water to our crops in the farm.

Water is important for the growth of our plants so that we can eat. We thank God that there is rain. When it rains, our plants or crops are watered naturally and they grow.

Even the animals we rear needs water. They drink water when they feed. Else we won't see animals anymore and there won't be meat for us to eat.


  • Water helps in the Digestion of our food when we eat

After we have had our meals, we need to drink water. Water helps our food digest well. Imagine yourself after eating heavy food like our Nigerian "fufu and egusi" and you won't drink water?


  • Water functions as a cleaning agent in our homes

In our homes from time to time, we need to clean it up by mopping it. We also use the water to wash our clothes, cars and kitchen utensils. Without water all these things can not be kept tidy.


  • Water Serves a means of relaxation recreation and fun

Yes water does. With water we can relax and have fun through swimming. We go to swimming pools,beach or River to have such kind of fun.


  • Most of our meals are cooked with water
    Imagine if there was no water and imagine you cooking rice without water. Water is one of our ingredients for cooking.

How do we describe the value of a drop of water
IMG_20230424_144825_412.jpg Water droplets from a plate into a bowl

As common as we think water is to us because we can find it in the River, Dam, pool, beach, tap, stream or even Ocean. Have you ever imagined scarcity of water around you which we call drought?

Well you may not have experienced it but I have to an extent. I grew up in the northern part of Nigeria and back then there are times in a year when we experience scarcity of water. Our source of water was majorly tap water. But we had a substitute for well water.

At dry season when we experience scarcity of water, the wells go dry. Tap stop supplying water because the rivers which the tap water is refined from and supplies to individuals have all gone dry.

Back then each drop of water you get means so much. We don't even bath at night anymore because mum tries to store the water we have. Sometimes at midnight, the water board authority gives water. So tap supplies water at midnight. Mum would stay awake to waiting to see if a drop of water comes out from the tap. If it does, it's a sign that water would be supplied that night. Hahaha..

The value of a drop of water for me is as important as not wasting it, because there are people somewhere in the world that do not have access to good water, either for drinking or other chores. This is why we should prevent waste of water. Close the tap when your containers are filled.


How is the Availability of Clean water in your area?
IMG_20230424_154958_413.jpg Sachet water, the water I drink

Presently, I live in the western part of Nigeria, Lagos state. And I tell you the truth for free that the availability of clean water for the citizens is 2/10, this is my rating in a scale of 10.

The water board authority or commission is not working in many parts of my country. You can only find them in the north. Over here in west, it doesn't exist.

Every citizen is responsible for providing his family with clean water. The government is not responsible for that. Citizens provide clean water by erecting bole holes in their compounds.

Some citizens go as far as selling this water from their bole holes to other citizens while others give the water for free.

In the apartment where I live, we have a bole hole because the landlord made it so. But the water needs to be pumped each time and these requires electricity. Pumping the water takes over 1hour :30 minutes which means more electricity bills.

Even though we use bole hole water in my apartment, I noticed that the water is a hard water which makes it not safe for drinking. We have to either boil the water before drinking or buy an already made sachet or bottle water.

The hard water changes the colour of the times in the bathroom and even the toilet seater are looking all brown. This means we have to buy chemicals to help erase the coloration.

My thoughts about the availability of clean water

I truly feel that if we say and agree that water is vital to human existence then our government or those in authority should make adequate provisions for the supply of clean water.

There are areas in my country where they do not have access to clean water, not even bole hole water. Their water bodies has been polluted with chemical substances from government companies yet they do not care about the health of citizens around that location.

Some even die of cholera disease because they don't have access to clean water. I feel so sad about these situations and I wish a solution can be rendered.

Thank you for reading.

I invite my friends to tell me what they think about this topic.
@pandora2010
@marito74
@irene1983

Sort:  

Hi friend.
What a difficult situation you are living in and believe me I understand it perfectly because a long time ago I lived with my family creating wells, because we did not have water and although my grandmother believed that it was the solution, it was not like that, since several clothes were damaged, the pump was damaged 😞

I hope that the situation improves soon and the government becomes aware of the welfare of all.

Good luck in the challenge 🤞🏻
Many Blessings..🙏🏻

 last year 

Thank you for your show of sympathy.
I hope things get better too
Thank you for your good wishes

পানির গুরুত্ব লিখে শেষ করা যাবে না. পানি আমাদের জীবনকে সজীব করে. পানির মাধ্যমে উদ্ভিদ তৈরি হয় এবং সেগুলোর মাধ্যমে আমরা খাবার উৎপাদন করতে পারি অনেক সুন্দর ভাবে উপস্থাপন করেছেন আপনার জন্য শুভকামনা রইল.

 last year 

You are so correct.
Water has become a part of our lives so much so that we can't do without it.

Thank you for your wishes

 last year 

Wow how terrible is the water problem worldwide, there they are like in my community, also some have made wells to extract some water, the supply of drinking water as you could read in my publication takes up to 2 months and we are like you valuing every drop my friend.

 last year 

It is really terrible.
I hope this issues get better
Thank you for your support

 last year 

Welcome to the Steem Entrepreneurs Community and thank you for taking part in the environmental campaign to raise awareness of steemit users and the world community, especially regarding efforts to prevent a global water crisis.

Before we verify, we remind you to visit other contestants' posts and engage with relevant and meaningful comments. est of luck, my friend @ruthjoe

Status club#club75
Verified userYES
Plagiarism-freeYES
Bot-freeYES
Tag #steemexclusiveYES
Support #burnsteem25YES
CSI voting12.9 ( 0.00 % self, 92 upvotes, 61 accounts, last 7d )
Scores9.6/10
Verification date
April 25, 2023

Determination of Club Status : https://steemworld.org/transfer-search

Kind regards,
Steem Entrepreneurs Team

 last year 

Thank you for your verification

TEAM 1

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted through steemcurator04. We support quality posts , good comments anywhere and any tags.
Curated by : @ubongudofot

Screenshot_20221130-164846_Canva.jpg

 last year 

Thank you so much sir
@ubongudofot

 last year 

Hi @ruthjoe, I hope you are fine.

You said right water is tasteless but it is like giving us energy and we can't live without it. As a Muslim, when I do fasting and after fasting when I drink water, it feels like I got the whole world. It relaxes me and give energy to all of my body. I can't imagine living without water.

It is now my habit I put water bottle on my table when I do work.

You said right water is necessary element for agriculture, our digestive system, for home use, for cooking, bathing, shower, etc for all things we do.

Even a drop of water has value. We humans can't create much water in labs because it release a huge amount of energy that can have massive explosion.

Same as you have bole holes, we also have these and a machine is needed to extract water that consumes electricity. We run it for 20 minutes or 1-2 minutes more to fill our tank to full that has 150+ liters capacity.

However, water is very important for us and without it all humans and other creatures will die.

 last year 

Yes am fine, thanks for asking..

I totally understand that feeling after fasting and then you drink water hahah it feels refreshing..

I love drinking water tok while I work too
The importance of water is not over rated.
Thanks for your visit

You grew up with tap water and a substitute for well water, and each drop of water they get means so much. The value of a drop of water is as important as not wasting it, and it is important to close the tap when containers are filled. - very good idea.

 last year 

The value of water is unimaginable..

Yes the value of a drop of water is as important as not to waste it because there are those who do not have access to it.

Thanks for your visit

 last year 

Wow,Dear friend your explanation on this topic is excellent. We are lucky to have access to clean water ,I have seen people suffering for water. And just like you have said water should not be wasted as many are in need of it somewhere.

 last year 

Thank you my friend for taking your time to read through my entry.

Water they say is life and totally agree!!

 last year 

It's a sad situation, but I hope the government will come to your aid. Perfect post ma'am.

 last year 

I hope so too.
Thanks

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60216.66
ETH 2326.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48