Steemit Engagement Challenge - S7W2 | Book Review By Nora Roberts

in Steem Entrepreneurslast year



20230122_063258.jpg
........ Image Edited With Pixellap





Disclaimer: All opinions expressed and written in this article are my own and do not represent the views or entity I have been, am or will be affiliated with. If you happen to disagree with something I've written, I welcome a discussion with you. Just leave a comment or two.


I have been a book lover since primary and secondary school.


For this article, I would like to briefly review the books that I love and I would like others to try to read it as well.


I would like to start with Nora Roberts books. I'd like to think I have a copy of every book she's written under the name Nora Roberts alone. She also wrote under the pen name JD Robb. I haven't read a single book by JD Robb, although I know there is Nora Roberts under that pen name.


The Reef by Nora Roberts


This isn't the first book I've read by Nora Roberts, but the plot sticks in my mind every time I hear her name.


The Reef is the story of a marine archaeologist and someone who saves ships that are sinking under the sea. They are looking for a legendary treasure that will lead them to the depths of the ocean.


The way the ocean floor has been described is so realistic, the beautiful colors and different sizes of corals, that when you read the book it feels like you are seeing what is at the bottom of the ocean. And as a non-swimmer myself, much more of a diver, this is a really welcome read.


But one day last February 2017, I saw what the seabed looked like. The company chose me to join forces with Renoir Consulting and transform our company. The assigned consultants are passionate divers. So when our assignment is coming to an end, we were given leave and all expenses were paid by the company. Of course, the consultants chose the most famous diving site in the Philippines, Apo Island in Negros.


Even though I'm afraid of the deep, I have to overcome my fears because they keep pushing me, oh boy am I glad I did.


Wearing a life jacket, clinging to the life preserver and our guide, I went down the boat and yes, I saw corals, small corals, large corals, pink and yellow and different shapes. A truly magnificent sight and another magnificent work by the Greatest Artist that none can compare.


Because of this experience, up until the present day of writing, every time I hear the name Nora Roberts, I immediately think of The Reef.


The BORN IN trilogy


A trilogy is a group or series of three related things, they can be games, movies or novels.


Nora Roberts has a lot of trilogies. And for me, Nora Roberta's Born In Trilogy is the best ever.


It begins with Born in Fire, followed by Born in Ice, and the final book of the trilogy is Born in Shame. The trilogy is about the Concannon sisters who live on the west coast of Ireland.


BORN IN FIRE by Nora Roberts


Born in Fire is about a glassblower, Maggie Concannon, who creates beautiful works that reflect her own true nature.


The book then describes how glass works of art are intricately designed using fire in a very hot furnace. A gallery owner saw her artwork and helped build her career. And as in any story, a fierce attraction grows between the two, and whatever their scarred past is, it is healed by a tender and forgiving love.


Speaking of glass art, I once saw a glass art competition on Netflix.


Blow Away is a glass creation competition of various glass art enthusiasts. It started with ten contestants and one or two would be eliminated in each round. Watching the show reminds me of the story from Born in Fire. It looks like what Nora Roberts put into words has come to life.


A note on glass blowing.


The raw material for the production of molten glass is sand and soda lime, sometimes with dye if necessary. This is really a challenging task because you have to be alert and quick. The glass is collected from the furnace to the blower. While blowing the pipe, they must make movements to shape the glass. They have special tools to cut the glass into the desired shape. It has to move quickly because once the glass cools, the glass art can shatter or crack.


Well, you'd be better off reading a book or watching Blown Away.


BORN IN ICE by Nora Roberts


Born in Ice is about another Concannon sister who owns a bed and breakfast. The story unfolds in the harsh winter storms of western Ireland. During this season, locals stay inside and visitors stay away. But as an unusual guest comes a mystery writer from America. She wants to spend the cold winter alone, so what better place to stay than Brianna Concannon's empty bed and breakfast.


I can't do much here in my personal life because we all know how bed and breakfasts work. It's just a simple room and free breakfast for guests.


BORN IN HAHA by Nora Roberts


Born in Shame is the story of Shannon Bodine, a sister that neither Maggie nor Brianna knew about. She was a product of their father's infidelity.


Shannon Bodine is a talented graphic designer who works at a prestigious New York advertising agency. Her world is turned upside down when she learns the identity of her real father: Thomas Concannon. Shannon respects her late mother's wishes and travels to Ireland. There she met a family she never knew existed. And he found love. The man in this story is a neighbor of the Concannon sisters, who they considered family.


This trilogy makes Ireland one of my bucket lists. If I could travel anywhere in the world, Ireland would be my first choice. She described the landscape of Ireland in a way that you just want to visit there.


Nora Roberts has written many books set in Ireland. I wonder if she really went to Ireland to write these stories? or is she Irish herself?


Well, it's quite long and I might bore you already. And I'm also very sleepy now.


I'll end it here and do another review in a few more articles.


Thanks for visiting. I use this medium to invite @negro-bby @tayyba1234 @weasel to participate.

Sort:  
 last year 

No wonder you are a book lover. Your review of Nora Roberts' books is well-written and provides a good overview of the books you've read.

Even though I'm afraid of the deep, I have to overcome my fears because they keep pushing me, oh boy am I glad I did.

Wow! This must be a cool experience. I haven't still got the chance to have this experience. I am glad you took the challenge.

I haven't read any of her books. But reading your review, makes me want to read Nora Roberts' books, especially the Born In trilogy. Good job!!!

 last year 

Thanks for stopping by

 last year 

@icon-monday You did great effort and you wrIiting skill is very effective

 last year 

Thanks dear

Thank you, friend!
I'm @steem.history, who is steem witness.
Thank you for witnessvoting for me.
image.png
please click it!
image.png
(Go to https://steemit.com/~witnesses and type fbslo at the bottom of the page)

The weight is reduced because of the lack of Voting Power. If you vote for me as a witness, you can get my little vote.

 last year 

Hi dear friend, I hope that you will be doing well.

Wow, you have beautifully reviewed the various writings of your favorite writer. Your love for this writer and with his writings is very great.

I have read the above short scripts and I am much impressed by them. Your reviews add more taste to the mind.

Thanks for sharing and good luck for the contest.

 last year 

Thank you and welcome to the Steem Entrepreneurs Community. We really appreciate your efforts to write good and interesting articles on Steemit Engagement Challenge S7W2. Hopefully the information in your writing is useful and inspires readers.

Before we verify, please be reminded to visit your friends' other posts and engage with relevant and meaningful comments. Best of luck, @icon-monday

Status club#club5050
Verified userYES
Plagiarism-freeYES
Bot-freeYES
Tag #steemexclusiveYES
Support #burnsteem25YES
CSI voting2.9 ( 0.00 % self, 193 upvotes, 115 accounts, last 7d )
Scores9.1/10
Verification date
January 22, 2023

Determination of Club Status : https://steemworld.org/transfer-search


IMG_20210824_022634.jpg

Kind regards,
Steem Entrepreneurs Team

TEAM 5 CURATORS

This post has been upvoted through steemcurator08. We support quality posts anywhere and with any tags.
Curated by: @chant

BRINGING_MUSIC_TO_YOUR_EARS.gif

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59737.47
ETH 3186.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43