It’s Corn Season! 🌽

in Incredible India4 months ago

IMG_4676.jpegFresh corn after peeling

Everything has its season, when it comes to plants, the two major seasons ( wet and dry) in Nigeria are favorable for planting. Corn plantation takes place during the end of dry season while approaching raining season. For example, this fully grown corn field below was planted 3 months ago and look at it now, it is ready for harvest.

IMG_4673.jpegCorn field

Many might likely ask why corn is best to plant when approaching raining season; this is because wet season is the best time for some crops to grow properly. Natural water that get into the soil helps them grow better.

Most people including me enjoy corn better during raining season. When the corn is fresh, nutritious, attractive with its special aroma and flavorful taste.

There are various ways to enjoy this plant after harvest. Corn can be roasted, boiled, include in salad or soups and grilled. For me, I like it roasted, boiled and in salad.

I will share my little experience with y'all how I harvested corn and prepared it to my taste.

Some days ago, I had cravings for freshly roasted corn and decided to take a step to satisfy my cravings. How did I do that?

IMG_4675.jpegWhile I was harvesting cornIMG_4678.jpegAfter harvest

At 5:30pm, I visited my aunt's farm after taking permission from her to harvest fresh corn for consumption. I got to the farm and noticed that the plants were really healthy. I asked her how she managed to fight pesticides from preying on her plants and she replied that; she spent a lot of money to buy chemicals to fight the insects.

IMG_4679.jpegWhile I was setting fire for roasting of cornIMG_4683.jpegRoasting process

I harvested my desired quantity, peeled and left the farm. I set up local fire to roast the corn. This was the most stressful part of it. I was able to roast the corn and it turned out well. I enjoyed the fresh corn which I prepared to my taste.

IMG_4685.jpegSweet roasted corn well served

It was soft and sweet with natural flavor. I can proudly say that I enjoyed corn season this year, 2024. Thank you for reading my experience!

Photo credit: @adylinah

Sort:  
Loading...
 4 months ago 

Corn is one of my favourite cereal. I consume it almost everyday, but I didn't plant any.

I like it when it is boil or roasted.., however, the combo of corn and pear perform a magical feeling that I don't like to miss.

For me, I would say that the season just started. Let's see how it turns out with the eating before the season ended.

 4 months ago 

Many likes this combination but have you tried it with coconut? It’s magical too but coconut is stressful for me.

….however, the combo of corn and pear perform a magical feeling that I don't like to miss.

You are absolutely right, “the season just started” and I am enjoying it.

Thank you for the valuable contribution!

 4 months ago 

Thank you for the support 🙏🏻

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 60500.53
ETH 2341.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53