How parents destroy the dreams of their kids.steemCreated with Sketch.

in LifeStyle3 years ago (edited)

getty_503314040_309396.jpg

image source

Do you have a dream?
I believe everyone has a dream and while some people, are on the right path to achieving thier dreams others have completely deviated from that path. I fall in the second group of people.

How my dreams were destroyed.

Kids often have many different dreams, but as they get older, thier dreams begin to change as they get more and more expose to the world and as they develope passion for certain things.
As a kid growing up in Africa, we never had much but dreams.

At the age of seven, i wanted to be a pilot (had never seen a plane up close though.) I was drawn to the sound of the aeroplane and the very concept of flying high up in the sky amazed me.

At age nine, being exposed to the possibility of life on different planets, I wanted to become an astronaut. Yeah that right any newly learned idea can trigger a dream.

At age eleven, i had developed a great passion for literature.Yes finally I knew what I wanted. I wanted to be a writer i loved reading novels, i would choose a novel over a movie anytime. Before I was fourteen, I had already written about six unpublished novels and about a hundred poems.

Below is a poem that i wrote about my school crush in secondary School.

IMG_20210403_000822.jpg

My family is predominantly made up of traders, but i dared to dream different. And for this i got no encouragement or support i became the black sheep of the family.This left me completely broken and i could feel the pain of my dreams tumbling down hill.
Now i spend my days, resenting my job and wishing i had been courageous enough to pursue my dreams.

image_thumb.png image source

How parents destroy the dreams of their kids.

By not paying attention.

Most parents especially African parents, don't pay much attention to what a child does and what he is passionate about. They go to work and come back late and will hardly spend time with thier kids.

Protecting the child from failure and disappointment.

Some parents will reject and destroy a child's dream, because they are afraid that the child might fail and it might all be a waist of time. Children need to learn how to deal with failure but most importantly, they need to know how to bounce back.

Wanting to achieve thier own dreams, through thier kids.

Some parents kill thier children dream, by imposing thier unachieved dreams on thier children. In Africa, It is common to see parents trying to sway thier kids to be lawyers or doctors.These are thier dreams and not that of their kids.

Religion

If a child's dream is against their religious beliefs, the child parents might refuse to support the child Since the believe religion sets the altimate standard for any Godly dream.

Don't get me wrong though, I know dreams are boundless, sweet, and acceptable to all while realities have limits, tough, and difficult to handle at times so parents need to guild their children and present them with good information to be able to make a good choice and not to impose on them.

Thanks for reading.

Sort:  

25% asset downvote for repeated plagiarism.

Great post! Every parents should read this, imo. Btw, hope you still have time to reach your dreams!

When I was a kid I wanted to become a writer. As a matter of fact I used to write my stories since I was about 11. By that time I spent most of the time with my sister and my mother would usually be back from work quite late at night.

I used to write on a notebook but I would also use any available blank paper since at some times I would come up with an idea that I would forget about if I didn't take note of them.

For some unknown reason, one day when she was cleaning, my mother discarded a bunch of papers on which I had written a story about some magical cats (I{me very fond of cats).

When I asked about them, she said she thought I would no longer use them, so she threw them away. "You can write them again", she said.

I tried but in the end I always had this feeling that would draw me from trying to start any other story and in the end I decided not to write any more.

I think that parents tend to unconsciously try to fulfill their own dreams and gain value through their children, which in the may continue with a continous cycle unless you become aware of such pattern.

Regardless of it, I now believe that as long as you are alive, you can always pursue your dreams.

I commend your post about this matter, and your views towards this subject is right. I just want to add that, yes it's true, parents are one of the most influential people in a person's life. The thing is when it comes to their child's dream, the best thing that parents can give is their unwavering support to them. There are some parents wanted their unfinished dreams to be carried out by their children. Although some children may have also the same ambition as their parent's, but some really chooses a different path. With this, it is really important for the parents to not force their sons and daughters to what they want to become. A parent and a child may be related by blood or by strong interconnection of ties, but we should always remember and reconsider that we humans have different paths to take and histories to make and that's the reality in this life.

Unconsciously, parents can unintentionally destroy those dreams, when we try to protect them from getting hurt. I loved your writing, you are so right.

It's never too late for any beginning and fact is parents can never think wrong of their Children

Very true, agreed.

Good post very true.

Hola amigo @truesnapa, es impresionante leer tu post de como se destruyen los sueños, yo me identifico contigo porque también se destruyeron los míos, pero hoy asi me siento satisfecha porque vi cumplir los sueños de mis hijas y ya están graduadas en lo que ellas escogieron, bendiciones para ti.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 60320.14
ETH 3373.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51