You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How parents destroy the dreams of their kids.

in LifeStyle3 years ago

When I was a kid I wanted to become a writer. As a matter of fact I used to write my stories since I was about 11. By that time I spent most of the time with my sister and my mother would usually be back from work quite late at night.

I used to write on a notebook but I would also use any available blank paper since at some times I would come up with an idea that I would forget about if I didn't take note of them.

For some unknown reason, one day when she was cleaning, my mother discarded a bunch of papers on which I had written a story about some magical cats (I{me very fond of cats).

When I asked about them, she said she thought I would no longer use them, so she threw them away. "You can write them again", she said.

I tried but in the end I always had this feeling that would draw me from trying to start any other story and in the end I decided not to write any more.

I think that parents tend to unconsciously try to fulfill their own dreams and gain value through their children, which in the may continue with a continous cycle unless you become aware of such pattern.

Regardless of it, I now believe that as long as you are alive, you can always pursue your dreams.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65702.61
ETH 3485.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51