THE DIARY GAME || 17th January 2023 || Morning Routine, Laboratory work (Preparation of reagents for DNA extraction from PNEUMENSURVE project.)

in AMAZING GHANAlast year

IMG-20230117-WA0001.jpg

Hello, fellow steemians,

It is once again a privilege to share with this honorable community my daily activities for the 17th day of January in the year 2023. Today happens to be the second of the week which is Tuesday meaning the energy for work is still fresh and available.

Just as any worker in the republic of Ghana, work normally starts at 8 AM and I believe it is so in most places in the world. Because of this no matter what you are doing, you have to ensure you get to the workplace before it is 8 AM. It is always advisable to get there before 8 so that the necessary things will be put in their right places. It is also very important that you report working before your senior staff member.


IMG-20230117-WA0014.jpg

Connecting power source



IMG-20230117-WA0013.jpg

Checking to see if pH meter is on


Because of this I normally wake up around 6:00 AM. Do the morning routine which involves cleaning and washing the dishes, and then go ahead to take my bath after brushing my teeth and coming to the room to dress up. I do all these within a few hours of working up and I do them as quickly as possible to be able to beat the time of reporting to work before 8AM8 Most of the time, I can beat it however, some things come across and I would have to be late for e a few minutes.

Today I guess was not one of those days I have to be late. After finishing my morning routine it was around 7:02 AM. Upon doing the housework and other basic work which is me taking my bath, and coming in to dress up it was around 7:20. I finished everything when it was around 7:30. I left the house and as usual, I got to the workplace around 7:54 AM. Although I was there before the start of work, I will usually consider it late for myself because I can not use the rest of the minutes to clean my bench before work starts. Any, after I finished it a few minutes after 8.


IMG-20230117-WA0007.jpg

Measuring regents



IMG-20230117-WA0011.jpg

Checking the calibration range


Work then started for me after I finished cleaning there were no samples at that moment, hence I have to visit other labs in other to able to configure the work and check if anyone in any of the labs needs my assistance. I first went to the chemistry room where chemistry is been run using the chemistry analyzer. It was unfortunate that when I got there there were almost done with what they were doing hence they needed no help. I, therefore continue to continue to bacteriology check if there is work.

When I got there, there was work and a lot of hands were needed. Therefore, I went ahead to wear my lab coat, afterwards, I was then given instructions to prepare EDTA and also prepare SDS. The preparation of the EDT requires a solution of pH 8.0 which means it will be basic. At that time the pH meter had been brought out already. All it needed was the calibration and it was done with a few minutes of calibration. I then started first by doing the calibration activities. It me several minutes to be able to calibrate it. When I was done, I had to also check to see if all the calibration was right and upon checking it was just fine.

IMG_20230117_155736_277.jpg

Done with the preparation


According to the manufacturer's instructions, the meter was calibrated and it meets. I then weighed the right amount of EDTA to be weighed and kept it in a small clean media bottle. After some time, the volume of double distilled water was added and then swirled to ensure dissolution. After a few minutes when the solution has occurred, we checked and adjust the pH to a pH of 8 using the pH meter. We then went ahead to autoclave it.

We prepare the SDS as well but that needs no autoclaving hence we kept it in the water bath as required by the protocol. Then we waited for complete dissolution or that one as well. When we were then all was set for the DNA extraction however, time was far spent hence we have to go and come and continue the next day. We left the lab and went to do our various things in the house.

Sort:  

Thank you, friend!
I'm @steem.history, who is steem witness.
Thank you for witnessvoting for me.
image.png
please click it!
image.png
(Go to https://steemit.com/~witnesses and type fbslo at the bottom of the page)

The weight is reduced because of the lack of Voting Power. If you vote for me as a witness, you can get my little vote.

Your post has been supported by @josepha from team 2 of the Community Curation Program, at 50%. We invite you to continue sharing quality content on the platform, and continue to enjoy support, and also a likely spot in our weekly top 7.
Voting date:

18/01/2023


image.png

Thanks for the reward.


This post was selected for Curación Manual (Manual Curation)

@tipu curate

 last year 

Beautiful pictures and such an amazing job you are doing there. We always want to read more from you. Always remember to put on your protective wear since it will protect you. Nice outfit for the job. In your busy schedules you still remember to share with us. I must commend you for your efforts. Keep sharing, keep power ups. This year promises to be very great. Steem on!

DescriptionInformation
Status Club100
Plagiarism Free
#steemexclusive
Diary Game
Bot Free
300 words



20220428_223840.jpg

Your post has been curated by @amazing-ghana
Community Curation Trail

JOIN US ON TELEGRAM

JOIN US ON DISCORD CHAT

Support us by delegating STEEM POWER to our Community account through the following links:

20221007_074540.jpg

Thanks for passing by CR, it is a pleasure to always share my day with you guys no matter how busy the day has been. Sometimes I close very late and as a result I have to make the post the next day but I have promised to always share my say with this great community.

Let's build together.
Greetings.

 last year 

Always keep sharing with us friend. You look good in your wear. Try to power up most often and always stay positive. Let us win together

😀🇬🇭🎉🎉🎉

👍👍👍

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60115.56
ETH 3203.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46