Setting My Intentions for 2020 ๐Ÿ’š๐Ÿ’ช๐Ÿง˜โ€โ™€๏ธ๐ŸŽ๐Ÿ“

in Natural Medicine โ€ข 4 years ago

IMG_20200105_112036529.jpg

Every day in 2020 is getting better and better! Well, that shouldn't come as too much of a surprise considering I rang in the new year with a nasty case of the flu. Nothing like a bout of ill health to make you really appreciate the simple things in life like breathing normally or being able to do laundry without needing a nap. While my body is not quite back to its usual high level of vigor, each day I get closer and closer to my sense of normal. One benefit of having more down time than usual while recuperating was that it did give me the opportunity to reflect on some of my intentions for the year ahead, thus I am sharing them as part of the latest @naturalmedicine challenge.

Though I wouldn't say I necessarily make "resolutions" each year, I do think any time is a good time to check in on life and set some new goals. Why not the beginning of the calendar year? Good goals should be measurable and time-bound, so what better way to satisfy that then using the calendar to set the clock and see what you can accomplish. Here are a few of the things I'm focusing on to continue my journey for a long and healthy road ahead (here's hoping anyway ๐Ÿ˜‰):

1) Coffee only on the weekends.

While there is a lot of debate around the topic, and you'll find sources for both the positives and negatives of consuming the liquid of the magical bean, I've been considering for a while reducing my personal consumption. I never really liked coffee until I became a personal trainer. Even then, I might not have jumped on the bandwagon except my first boss at the time was a bit of a caffeine junkie. There is some research that supports the use of caffeine as an ergogenic aid, so I believe I first started consuming it as a pre-workout booster. After a bit of time I developed a liking for the flavor, and slowly but surely my morning cup (or two) of coffee became a habit.

I am actually a morning person, so in reality I don't think I "need" that morning hit of caffeine to get me going. There's just something warm and familiar in the habit that thus far that has made it difficult for me to part with. For whatever reason tea does not quite satisfy the need in the same way. Why if I enjoy it do I want to try going without? Well, a few of my Nat Med friends have pointed out that those of us with a sensitive nature perhaps are not served well by stimulants. I have also known a few friends who have found some benefits to kicking the habit. Personally, I have also started noticing some times my stomach is a bit dodgy after consuming a cup of the dark liquid.

This past week while I was under the weather I actually went the whole week easily with no coffee, though I did have a cup yesterday and this morning. Instead of just going completely cold turkey (or tofurkey if you will), my goal is to keep my consumption solely to the weekends. Though even that I may cut out eventually.

IMG_20180821_181927572_HDR 1.jpg

2) Setting daily intentions.

So instead of warming my belly each morning with a cup of joe, I am going to warm my heart with a quiet moment each morning to set my intentions for that particular day. My schedule tends to be all over the place, so each day could be totally different schedule-wise from the day before. Even week-to-week, the same day of the week could be slightly different depending upon which clients are in town or what extra tasks I've picked up. In the past I've tried to set weekly goals or attempted to map out my day perfectly, but it never seems to stick. Instead I think if I can be a bit gentler with myself and find one thing to focus on for the day ahead, it will actually make me more productive but also feel much more satisfied.

As much as I would love to have a full-on morning meditation practice, I know there are some mornings waking up at 4:30 am to get in early for a pre-dawn client, just a moment is enough. Yes, meditating more is a big goal of mine, but again in the essence of self-kindness, I am celebrating brief moments as much as 30-minute bouts of stillness. I still use an old school daily planner for scheduling clients, so my execution for this goal is to write a little note each day to put that intention on paper. There definitely is something powerful in the written word!

3) Judging less.

Well this one may be hard to quantify, but it is still a big one that has been weighing on my mind since doing the Abundance Challenge (don't forget about the next round starting soon!). Like a lot of people, I think I have a really bad habit of not only judging others, but also holding myself to unrealistic standards. I like to think I'm a pretty open minded person, however I still have lots of room for improvement in letting go and not taking other people's actions personally. I also have been doing a lot of internal work in assessing my own perceptions of success and what it REALLY means to me.

I see lots of women out there hustling and constantly striving to do more and have more, which sometimes makes me feel like I'm not working hard enough. It is especially challenging in the fitness world where we are supposed to have a lot of clients, but then also a thriving social media following, yet still get plenty of rest and have the perfect physique to go along with it (because looking good in your Lulu pants = more clients). If that's your goal, then by golly rock it ladies. The more I think about it, though, the more that is not my heart. I entered a career in the fitness world to promote health, and that is still my ultimate goal. Yes, the more people in my sphere, the more positive impact I can have in that regard, but I never want to sacrifice my ultimate message to pimp myself out for more likes or money. I also have learned I function better at a slower pace in life (unless I'm running--I do like to run fast, haha). The world needs plenty of us quiet, fly-under-the-radar kinds of folks. I just need to keep reminding myself of that and stay true to what brings me joy. Ultimately that's what resonates most with others anyway!

4) Read a book a month...for FUN!

I am constantly reading to keep up with the latest fitness and nutrition information, but I also adore reading just for the sake of relaxing and exploring someone else's made up world. This month our @yourtop3 topic for the contest is favourite authors, and already I'm amassing a huge list of suggestions! Our local library was remodeled over a year ago now (maybe even closer to 2) and I still haven't been in it. It's time to stop by and get a new library card so I can not only support my own goal, but support the institution. When I was making the career switch to be a trainer I actually contemplated going back to school for library science but I thought I'd have greater job security in fitness. I need to do my part to keep our library system alive and well for future generations! Can't wait to see even more entries to the contest to keep adding to that list. By the end of January I should have enough to keep me going for all of 2020.

IMG_20180201_084009942.jpg

I've got plenty more little habits I would like to continue with or start working on for the year, but those are the big ones that spring to mind currently. They are definitely more on the mental health side of things as I feel I have a pretty good handle on the physical. Though there are always new goals to hit on the fitness side of things, as well! It's definitely not to late to start the year on a positive note, so what are you going to do to set the tone in your own life?



Banners by @woman-onthe-wing, @dksart and @bearone for @steemusa



Sort: ย 

Proof of my burned LOTUS for entry.
20200105.png

Well the bar was set nice and low with the January flu. You are healthy and constructive and I know you are going to kick 2020โ€™s ass!

Posted using Partiko iOS

It can only go up from here, haha! Any time I'm under the weather it really does remind me why I work so hard to stay healthy. Life is much more fun when you feel good to enjoy it! Hope you and the fam are starting out the year with an abundance of health and vitality to knock out your own goals this year!

It is so cool to see you got a big lesson from the DC challenge. I notice as I get older Im less judgey. In Bikram yoga I practice in intense heat in front of a MIRROR.. there's nothing like seeing your own suffering and strength to cultivate compassion for yourself and others. The judging mind is normal- being AWARE of it and not attaching to those judgments as part of our identity is key.

Yay for books babe!!!! Last night i dreamt i went to library lol. Last time I went they said I owed them fees but I didn't because I took all the books back on an amnesty Drive they had but whoever the librarian was obviously didn't record the return. So I owe them 35 bucks which at the time I didn't have and I was pretty Furious they didn't believe me. That was a couple of years ago now so I should go back with a more calm heart and just paid the money so I can get some more books hahaha.

Great goals babe, love you .

Yes, definitely feel like age helps in that regard. Though I think I've become easier on others, but not as much on myself yet. Especially in relation to "success". There were a few of those tasks and meditations that really got me thinking about things, though, and I'm still marinating, if you will. I imagine another round of introspection will help clarify my own view of myself even more!

I'm dying laughing thinking of you being on the naughty list for book fees! I would have been furious, too, but also mortified at the thought of being late on returning anything, haha. I hope you can clear that up to enjoy the bounty of the library again!

Thank you as always for helping facilitate so we can all share our goals and intentions together! ๐Ÿ’š

I like your list. There are two on there that I actually keep trying to do as well: read more, and meditate. I'm certainly not about to try to give up on coffee! I'll do what I can to nag help you keep up with it!

Ha, I struggle with the coffee too but this year I'm happy without it - it makes me feel so much better and you do get used to it. I do enjoy one even more on the weekend!

You can have my extra cup during the week, though hopefully I will still enjoy my weekend cups. ;) I appreciate the accountability on the other fronts. That's one of the nice things about sharing on here--definitely makes it a bit more motivating when you've got support and the reminder any time you log on! Now I just need to figure out what book I want to dive into first...

I picked this up for my middle son for Christmas: https://www.amazon.com/Bullshit-Harry-G-Frankfurt/dp/0691122946/ref=sr_1_1?keywords=on+bullshit&qid=1578321965&sr=8-1

he's completely unsure what to do with it. I suggested reading it and he just kinda glazed over. Pick that one up! We'll make a book club out of it! :)

Haha, looks like an interesting one. I'll have to check it out!

Thanks for sharing your experience with us!
TIBLogo

You have been curated by @freedompoint on behalf of Inner Blocks: a community encouraging first hand content, with each individual living their best life, and being responsible for their own well being. #innerblocks Check it out at @innerblocks for the latest information and community updates, or to show your support via delegation.

Thanks a bunch for the visit! ๐Ÿ’š

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63475.77
ETH 3117.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94