UBI Master Group 002

in UBI3 years ago (edited)

I grew up on a dairy farm. Every day we would milk the cows, and we would get paid every couple of weeks. It wasn't a large amount, but it was consistent. On the other hand, people who grew crops or raised cattle for meat would receive one very large paycheque once a year. Those farmers had new cars every year. They also had a slight disdain for the dairy farmers who toiled every day. That is until economic conditions changed.

The Dairy Industry in Canada works under a system of supply management. This Milk Marketing Board arrived at a price that met farmers' costs (and provided a reasonable income) and was affordable for consumers to pay. If the farmers produced more than their quota, the marketing board paid for the surplus at a lower rate commensurate with the world market price. On the other hand, farmers who did not produce under a supply management system were exposed to higher risk. Some years they did not receive enough to pay for their costs. It is not uncommon for many of those farmers and their wives to work in other industries to pay for the privilege of farming. There is an unfunny joke about how to become a millionaire as a farmer. Start as a multi-millionaire.

I am applying the lessons that I learned about supply management (I wrote an Honours thesis on the topic at University) to create a consistent income on Steem for anyone interested in participating. The process is straightforward.

  • Create a post every day (or as frequently as possible)
  • Promote another's post within that post
  • Connect with other people who support your work and discuss becoming beneficiaries for each other.
  • Encourage these others to create other groups of beneficiaries.
  • By setting up a network of beneficiaries, everyone will receive a little every day. If one has to go on hiatus, it won't interfere with this incremental income.

Daily Pick

Filenin Sultanları Avrupa Şampiyonasında/Sultans of the Net at the European Championship by @ozenozge

Ozenozge wrote this article in Turkish, so have your translator handy. It is on the surface about promoting Turkey's Women's Volleyball team, but it is more than that. It is about pride. (As I write this, I want to include @enveng in my comments. She gave a reply supporting Ozenozge.)

Pride is vital if it is for the right reasons. In this case, I think that many little girls in Turkey can look at these athletes and know that anything is possible. I have had a couple of replied messages with both Ozenozge and Enveng. As I read more of their posts, I see two young women who deserve to take pride in themselves. It goes beyond that. As I reflect on this, it has been an honour to interact with the two briefly. It increases my pride that I have had the opportunity to interact with so many different people on this platform.

My father, Percy, is in his 90s. In no way could he be considered famous. Whenever any of his friends have travelled and talked to their neighbours on the airplane they are always asked the same question when the discussion turns to where they are from - Owen Sound. They are always asked, "Do you know Percy Warrilow?" I share some of my father's love for other people especially when he would travel and talk with strangers. Isn't this world so amazing?

In this post, I am assigning the following as 10 percent beneficiaries:

@starrchris
@leicorp1
@disconnect
@ftz
@ozenozge
@enveng


Steem News (@pennsif) Contest Alerts (@disconnect)
Sort:  

This post made me very happy, thank you very much for your nice words. It is encouraging to hear such motivating words even from the other side of the world.

Dear @enveng, she supported me a lot on this platform and always motivated me, thank you to her

I like both you and @enveng in an avuncular sort of way. I have explained to Enveng before that I have mixed feelings when it comes to giving compliments. North American society is so twisted that people perceive compliments as insults. I think oftentimes, it is because most people give a compliment while wanting something in return. Not in my case.

I am not saying that I didn't like to indulge in flattery when I was young. It was almost a game for me. I think my best line was when I told a friend that I was jealous of her teacup. After all, the teacup could kiss her lips. If only I could be young again.

Any time you are feeling low and could use some outrageous flattery just give me a call.

Thank you so much for your kind words. Your thoughts are precious to me so they made me feel good 😊 Why are your thoughts important for me? Because you value to posts which you read. You contribute with your comments. You are interested in reading and discovering. All of this means seeing value. I mean, you do people's heart good by this way 💕 So glad you are my friend in Steemit. I have to say that I admired the teacup story 😀👌
Btw, I read sth about your father and I learned that he is an important person. I would want to listen to his memories. I extend my greetings to him 🤗

image.png

This is a photo of my parents, Betty and Percy Warrilow, in 2017. Both are examples of ordinary people who did extraordinary things.
If I asked you to tell me about your memories, what would you say? What did you do when you were 19 or 20? In his case, he was in WWII. That is the time he felt most alive.

I am glad that you are sharing what will become your memories.


Beautiful

Glad to see them 🤗🌸 The days that are the same each other are like unlived by us. We just remember the day that we have different moments so I am interested in those days 😊

I can go in two directions in reply to this. I can write about gaining memories for the moment, or I could write about something to change your future.
Can you not go on vacation? Think of scripting a vacation day with your friends. Imagine a day full of Caribbean-style food and music.



Do you and your friends dance reggae?

My friend is always nice ☺️

Believe me, your comments make my day. Sometimes it's that simple to make a person happy, but we can forget these simple things in the chaos of life. Thanks for reminding me and putting a smile on my face from the other side of the world.

I am very familiar with the chaos of life. I wrote an example of how interesting things can be for people who often find themselves in the wrong place at the right time.

It was a pleasure to read your article.

a nice post friend i love your post @dwarrilow2002
I am sorry I haven't been posting on ubi post for 3days now please i was busy with my IT defense in school so I was Concentrating on it. But i am done yesterday so from today i will continue to post my daily ubi report.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 55910.18
ETH 2507.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.27