STREET CONTEST ~ A Glimpse Of My Street

in Steem Geography3 years ago (edited)

IMG_20210416_133810.jpg

Its a great privilege to participate in this contest and I will take a little time to tell you a few things about my street.

IMG_20210408_094612_060~3.jpg

What is so special about this street and where it is located, you may want to include the things that usually happen there.

Talking about special in this aspect, I don't think my street qualifies for anything special.
First of all, it might interest you to know where I stay and which street is this.

It is called Ikot Obong Edong in Itu Local Government Area, Akwa Ibom State, Nigeria.
As scary as it may sound, some people usually tease me about this street, my place of residence. They call it the Valley and shadow of death lol. The reason is because our street is very poor, infact poor is an understatement in this case, the street is very bad and if you don't wanna get your car spoil, then you had better stay away from this street because if you don't your car can never remain the same again after driving through this street. Some of the bolts and nuts of your car will likely get loose.

IMG_20210408_094608_090~2.jpg

There is a particular track I use when I go to work, its an hill. I love taking this path, because of the better view of the highway from the hill top. When my friends visited our home the first time, they dreaded this place. They said they were always afraid of falling off and just looking down terrified them. I made them get used to the path with time. I took this shot on my way to work yesterday.

IMG_20210415_101516_218~2.jpg

Just of recent someone opened a shop around here for household furniture (chairs) and vehicles spare parts.
He orders the woods from the Timber market and cut them into the sizes of chairs he wants to make and fix the foams in the woods before sewing.
Everyday I passed by, I stop to greet the man, the owner of the shop and I also check out his works.

IMG_20210325_155843_826~2.jpg

The owner of the shop improvised a stair to help people climb up but not just to his shop but to their different destinations.
It's just a local stair made using cement and sand.
It is a little stressful and difficult to climb up this hill even with the provided stair.

IMG_20210407_133344_728~2.jpg

The sad truth about this hill is that before it was always dressed and kept clean and neat such that it became a center for tourist but now the whole place is bushy and dirty, and none is taking care of the place again.

IMG_20210407_133337_744~2.jpg

Down the hill leads to the highway. The main junction where the heart of the city is seen and felt.
Its always very busy down here and the sad thing about this junction is the increased number of registered accident.
The road is always very busy coupled with the carelessness of drivers and most times the pedestrains.

Location Code

IMG_20210415_101550_225~2.jpg

If your street is facing the same problem as my own, how do plan to tackle it as a Geographer. My own street suffers from traffic congestion because of the bottleneck. So tell us the problem of your own street and how you plan to tackle it if you are opportune.

If there is actually anything about this junction is the frequent recorded accident which is usually mostly caused by tricycle drivers. They make it difficult for truck and big vehicles riders to have free movement and always causing a lot of accident around here. The name of this location is Urua Ekpa Rd

Location Code

IMG_20210415_101659_036~2.jpg

There is a filling or fuel station beside the main junction and this is where these tricycle drivers like hanging around and parking their vehicles to load or carry passengers.
They have been warned about making that place their parking and loading point, so because of this, they usually occupy the main road such that if a fast moving trunk was coming from a far distance, there might be an accident if care is not taken.
There isn't any kind of road sign to stop this or even slow down the drivers with high speed so a way to tackle this issue I believe is to implement road bumps and slow down road signs to keep drivers in check and make them slow down every time they are out on the street driving.

IMG_20210415_101601_208~2.jpg

We don't often face traffic congestion here as the whole place is always very free and this is why drivers always speed up and are very careless with driving.
I would have loved to say more about my street but the most important and basic facts and things about my street and area is what I have recorded here.

I am so glad to participate in this contest and I wanna use this opportunity to thank every team member of this community and all fellow members as well.
Thank you for stopping by my post today and reading through.
Its was a great privilege to share a little about my street.

Cc:
@bright-obias
@belenguerra
@badshal

Sort:  
 3 years ago 


Thank you for sharing in Steem Geography! Your post has been selected for today as part of the Steemit Communities support Program.
I appreciate a lot your engagement with this community.

I’d love to hear more from you!!

Geography (10).png

Thank you so much for the selection

 3 years ago 

Te felicito, eres muy sincero y espontáneo. Hoy visite tu calle a través de tus fotos y se las mostré a mis padres.

Saludos desde #venezuela

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 66394.28
ETH 3309.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70