NEW CONTEST: What do you love more about your country? // NUEVO CONCURSO: ¿Qué es lo que más te gusta de tu país?|| by @tmighty

in Steem Geography3 years ago (edited)

INTRODUCTION

Hello Steemians all over the globe.

This is my first time to make a post in this community. I am so elated to make a post here. Thanks to the admins of the community for the privilege to be a part of this contest. I hope to post more often even after this contest ends.

WHAT I LOVE ABOUT MY COUNTRY.

images (36).jpeg

Source
The name of my country is Nigeria. This makes me a Nigerian. Nigeria is one of the countries located in the Western part of Africa.It is known for its wide diversity of ethnic groups with different cultures and languages. Nigeria gained its independence in October 1st 1960 and also became a republican state in 1963. The country has a large economy and a fast growing population of over 200Million people.
Even though the country is suffering of bad leadership, I still love my country. There can never be a place like my home country Nigeria.

images (37).jpeg
Source

There are so many things I love about Nigeria but the one I like the most is The National Youth Service Corps (NYSC) organized for Nigerian graduates.

images (38).jpeg
Source

images (39).jpeg
Source
This is an avenue provided by the government to serve the country after one has obtained a higher education certicate while the individuals gets a stipend for their services.

images (40).jpeg
Source

I love The National Youth Service Corps (NYSC) because it makes one exposed to a new people, life, place and/or environment. I also love it because it breeds national unity and peace.

images (41).jpeg
Source
For a country with diversity of languages and culture like Nigeria, something like NYSC will go a long way in bringing national unity and peace co- habitation amongst its citizens.

images (43).jpeg
Source

By the special grace of God, I am a graduate of Human Kinetics and Health Education, a set of 2015. I done the NYSC programme.

IMG-20210405-WA0003.jpg

IMG-20210405-WA0004.jpg

I served my fatherland, Nigeria for a year, that was between 2016 and 2017. I grew up in the west but went to school in the eastern part of the country and served in the western part of the country with different culture and dialect from where I hailed.

IMG-20210405-WA0002.jpg

IMG-20210405-WA0001.jpg

NYSC has a long history.It was created in the country as far back May 22, 1973. By May 22, 2021, the NYSC scheme would be 48 years in existence.

NYSC is for every citizen of Nigeria who wishes to serve the country after graduation from a an Higher Institution of Learning. Therefore it is done in all the 36 States of the nation but organized by a body in the Country.

Every body have their opinion about NYSC. Not everyone likes it. Some persons are introverts so they just like doing their things, they hate doing things in group, so they prefer not to even do it at all, but since it is compulsory for every citizen who has attained higher degree, they are forced to go for it.

The tourist sees it as a good thing as some corps members are usually posted to their companies to work with them while they pay them a token just under the guise of NYSC. This tourists spend less to use the Knowkedge of Corp members, so they enjoy it.

The best part of NYSC is when one is in the camp. After camp, the enjoyment one experience is dependent on where one is posted. I therefore didn't enjoy it all year round when I did it and I do not think anyone did.

CONCLUSION.

The purpose for the creation of the NYSC program was to bring unity among the different ethnic groups in Nigeria. During the early years of its creation it achieved its aim but today, it has lost it's value and splendour. Nobody wants to go to the Northern part of Nigeria because of about 62STEEM (33,000 in Naira).
Being that as it may, with good leadership, NYSC can still get back its value.

This is my entry. thanks for reading

Thanks for your anticipated support.

Special Mention:

@steemitblog
@steemcurator01
@steemcurator02
@worldgeography
@belenguerra

Sort:  
 3 years ago (edited)
 3 years ago (edited)

Thank you for sharing in Steem Geography! Your post has been selected for today as part of the Steemit Communities support Program.
I appreciate a lot your engagement with this community.
I’d love to Read more from you!!

3jpR3paJ37V8JxyWvtbhvcm5k3roJwHBR4WTALx7XaoRovo8JxttAniYhuAX4jj3kE6v7uJQLuYydZWcHxJQ4UNjxtU2gVvqZYSnypeQBmzCT5oXUGtvSTfqfvbYqnd868qdx.png

Hi @tmighty, I am so happy that you like the NYSCY. It is truly a force for unity. In the camp, no one knows where you come from. Things are done together and are shared together. I like it too about our country Nigeria. This has reminded me about mamy market, haha. Thank you for sharing

 3 years ago 

Good morning mama @ngoenyi.
Good to know you also love it.
Thanks for dropping by.

 3 years ago 

Congratulations on your title my friend!! I know it was on 2015, but is a great one! And that avenue it's amazing, and it's a great idea to offer this from the government.

I loved your post!! Thanks a lot for sharing!!

 3 years ago 

Thanks for giving me the privilege to be a part of this contest.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 60244.17
ETH 2333.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47