Recycling Old Denim Jeans to Outdoor Hammock

in Steem Geography3 years ago (edited)

Hello friends of this wonderful community of Steem Geography. How have you been? I hope you're doing all great, happy and healthy wherever you are today. Greetings from my beautiful country, Philippines! 🇵🇭

Today, I happen to arrange some of my stuffs in my closet. I need to declutter and get rid of some clothes that I don't use anymore. One of these are my old pairs of denim jeans. And since it's already summer, I thought of creating a hammock where I could chill, enjoy the shade, read some favorite Sparks novels and compose my Steemit blogs.

IMG_20210516_102113.jpg

The materials I used for this recycled project are two pairs of denim jeans, thread and rope. With the aid of needle, tailor's chalk and shears, I was able to finish my DIY project.

IMG_20210516_103409.jpg

Here's how I recycled these old denim jeans into an outdoor hammock:

First, I prepared the materials ready for my recycling project; some old denim jeans, thread, needle, rope, tailor's chalk and rope.

IMG_20210513_155956.jpg

Second, starting with the first pair of jeans, I fold it towards the center and sew from crotch to bottom. Do the same step with the second pair of jeans.

IMG_20210513_131154.jpg

IMG_20210513_134106.jpg

IMG_20210513_141305.jpg

Third, attach the first and second jeans. This is done by sewing the right side of the first jeans to the left side of the second jeans. You now have a wider and thicker cloth material for your outdoor hammock.

IMG_20210516_103645.jpg

Fourth, using tailor's chalk, mark an inch or two from the edge for the holes. Using a pair of shears, make a hole on each mark on both sides of the cloth. Do this on both sides: waistline part and bottom/ankle part.

IMG_20210513_160413.jpg

IMG_20210513_160915.jpg

IMG_20210513_160746.jpg

Fifth, insert 1 meter length of rope to the holes and tie both ends of the rope. Do the same thing with the other side of the jeans.

IMG_20210513_162140.jpg

IMG_20210516_103711.jpg

Lastly, using a longer rope, secure the hammock to two trees. I chose this spot because it's shady and cool and I could easily relax and free my mind from things.

IMG_20210516_102528.jpg

And that's it! My outdoor hammock is done using these recycled pairs of old denim jeans.

I hope you enjoyed my blog and you'd also consider recycling some old stuffs at home into something else. I know, we all have these little forgotten things just sitting in the corner or inside our closet, waiting to be recycled into something new, something useful. With recycling, we don't only help contribute to saving the Earth, we create new things from old, we can make use of our time and apply some creativity and we can save a lot of money.

My regards to @belenguerra @worldgeography @bright-obias @badsha1, to our dear curators @steemitblog @stephenkendal @booming accounts and to the Steemit Team, to you my fellow Steemians and to all admins and MODs of this wonderful community. Thank you so much for allowing me to share this recycling project. All the best 🧡

Bye for now, friends. Always take care. 🧡

Always,
Rose

cyxkEVqiiLy2ofdgrJNxeZC3WCHPBwR7MjUDzY4kBNr81Lv5GaqnCKyjhbaXDXF6btafyu2DMNkxJRWBbJHad5F57zAj7eGwfFgpy9mw8yu3xKgve14NES21nKSrTYBQsyQ.png

Sort:  
 3 years ago 

Oh you are a genius!! That's an amazing way to apply the 3 R: recycle, reuse and reduce. Amazing post!! 😍

Awww thank you so much for the appreciation and support my friend @belenguerra 🧡🧡🧡

 3 years ago 


Thank you for sharing in Steem Geography! Your post has been selected for today as part of the Steemit Communities support Program.
I appreciate a lot your engagement with this community.

I’d love to hear more from you!!

Geography (10).png

Felicitaciones @rosevillariasa
En el reciclaje , al menos para mi , siempre los generos son dificiles de reciclar .
Aqui resuelves con poca ropa y creas algo que me encanta .Una amaca ¡¡
Te ha quedado super bien ¡¡
Felicitaciones

Muchas gracias amigo mío por el apoyo y el aprecio. Seguiré pensando en cómo recrear cosas viejas en algo útil en casa o en el trabajo. Saludos cordiales y siempre ten cuidado.

Greetings!

This is a brilliant idea! I can't wait to make it at home. Thanks for sharing this very helpful post.

You're welcome my friend @rosana6 🧡🧡🧡

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 62900.39
ETH 3357.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47