New Contest : The most Popular and Rare Crops in your area!

in Steem Geography3 years ago

INTRODUCTION: hello friends i greet you all I am so glad to be here today to discuss with you on this wonderful topic the most popular and rare crops in my area.

(1) Take pictures and descriptions of the most common grains and the least common grains in your area

Maize also know as corn is the most popular cereal grain crop in my community. Corn is an annual grain crop that is very popular in the southern part of my country Nigeria.
Plantain is a perineal crop that is rare in my community. Plantain are starchy fruit. It is also a grain crop.

Photo of maize plants taken by my Techno pop2 phone
IMG_20210301_183853_7.jpg

IMG_20210301_185020_0.jpg

Photo of plantain plants taken by my Techno pop2 phone
IMG_20210301_183953_7.jpg

(2) You can describe how much demand and supply there are

The demand and supply for maize in my community market is very high, because of the uses of maize. Corn can be for human consumption people eat maize either cooked or been roasted. Corn can be use in the production of popcorn, flourcorn, sweetcorn podcorn etc also it can be use for animals consumption, that is why the and supply is very high in my community market but it is a very common grain because it is cultivated in by most farmers in my community.

The demand and supply for plantain in my community market is very high because not all farmer cultivate it, it is rare in my area. Plantains is a starchy fruit, it is also a grain crops, it can be eaten when ripe, boiled, Cook fry, or roasted, it is good for human and animal consumption, that is why it's demand is very high.

(3) YOU CAN ALSO GIVE AN IDEA OF THOSE GRAINS AND HOW THE TASTE IS PREVALENT IN THE MARKET

Maize is a very sweet cereal grain crop it can be eaten when boiled, cooked or roasted, do you know that the roasted corn is very sweet when eaten with pear, people love corn, farmers in my community cultivate maize a lot. That is why the demand and supply for maize in the market is very high although it is cheaper than plantain.
Plantain is a very nice crop it is a sweet fruit crop it is very delicious when cooked it tastes sweet when it is ripe just like banana. So it demand in my community market is at the increased and it is very expensive because it is rare.

(4) AND YOU CAN TALK ABOUT HOW IT IS CULTIVATED AND WHETHER IT IS PROFITABLE OR NOT

Maize can be cultivated in the farm, garden, etc
Manually you can use hole and Cutlass
Firstly: use Cutlass, to clear off the grasses or weed around.
Secondly: Use hole for tillage of the soil it is much easier when the soil is been moist by rain
Thirdly plant the maize in the tillage soiled it grow better during the raining season, it is an annual crop.

Corn is a very profitable crop, but it is not expensive in my area because it is locally cultivated by many farmers.

Plantains is a perennial crop which is mostly cultivate in a forest zone, in a rural area
Firstly: use Cutlass to clear off the grass it do not require much tillage of soil like maize
Secondly use the Cutlass to dig the hole deep in to the ground.
Thirdly: plant the sucker, plantain suckers grow faster and produce better than the old one
Fourthly: regular watering and fertilizer application is require for better production of the crop.

Plantains is a very profitable crop it is more expensive than maize in my community because it is rare not all farmers do cultivate plantains to be very successful in plantains farming require huge capital, to buy fertilizer and plantain suckers, also large land is required for plantain farming.

Photo of corn plants taken by my Techno pop2 phone
IMG_20210301_185020_0.jpg

Photo of plantain plants taken by my Techno pop2 phone
IMG_20210225_182113_4.jpg

CONCLUSION: I sincerely appreciate @badsha1 @belenguerra @bright-obias for organizing this unique contest, also thank you all for reading my post.

Sort:  
 3 years ago 


Thank you for sharing in Steem Geography! Your post has been selected for today as part of the Steemit Communities support Program.
I appreciate a lot your engagement with this community.

I’d love to hear more from you!!

Geography (10).png

 3 years ago 

Thank you madam @belenguerra i appreciate

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63780.55
ETH 2618.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82