New Heavy Gauge Strings for my Electric Baritone Ukulele

Hello, steemians and music lovers!

For this post, I'd like to show you a video that I recorded a couple of weeks ago. I made this video to demonstrate the new heavy gauge strings that I put on my home made electric baritone ukulele. I wrote a post a couple months ago about replacing the pickup in this instrument . You can read that post here.
https://steemit.com/music-gear/@amberyooper/replacing-the-pickup-in-my-electric-ukulele

After replacing the pickup, I needed new strings for it. I was just going to use the regular guitar strings on the ukulele, but I decided to try an experiment by tuning the ukulele an octave down from normal. The normal tuning for a baritone ukulele is D, G, B, and high E, the same as 4 of the strings on a guitar. I had bought a set of heavy gauge guitar strings to use for the ukulele because of the shorter neck. A shorter scale on a guitar requires a heavier gauge string to keep the same tension at a given note.

I got the idea to try stringing the electric baritone ukulele with the heaviest strings in the package so that I could tune the strings an octave down from normal and still have decent tension on the strings. This seems to have worked pretty well, although the usefulness of this tuning is yet to be determined.

Here is the video that I made to demonstrate the results of the new strings and the octave down tuning. The video is about 7 minutes long.

If you watch the video on youtube, it will help my view count. My channel is not monitized, I would just appreciate the views and a like on the video if you find it interesting. That helps my youtube channel grow.

I hope you found the video interesting! Thanks for checking it out!

amber banner.png

steeming on.jpg

Sort:  

Wow, you really love your ukuleles.
Thank you so much for sharing your interesting video!

 2 years ago 

I like the sound of it. Very suitable for country & folk songs, sounds more like a guitar than a regular ukulele. You did a great job with this instrument

Que sensacional suena ese ukeleles. Mucho talento rodea a steemit
Saludos!

It sounds really amazing

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58635.35
ETH 3152.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44