I Love India: Golden Temple- An Incredible Sacred PlacesteemCreated with Sketch.

in Steeming Diaries4 years ago (edited)

Hello steemers 🖐️, I hope everyone is doing great. I am Sahil; today, I will write a post about my experience Golden Temple. However, it was tough to select one favourite place in Incredible India because I have a memory with every corner of India. But the Golden temple is one of the closest places to my heart. So without any further delay, let's get started...

Before I start writing about my experience, I will tell you something about the Golden temple.

Golden Temple

The Golden Temple is not only a central religious place of the Sikhs but also a symbol of human brotherhood and equality. It is also called Harmandir Sahib Gurudwara. It is located in the city of Amritsar, Punjab State, Northwestern India.

IMG_20200817_211508.jpg

The first Harmandir Sahib was built in 1604. The temple was destroyed several times by Afghan invaders and was finally rebuilt in marble and copper overlaid with gold foil during the reign in 1809. This has led to the name the Golden Temple.

IMG_20161226_163942.jpg
I am standing in front of temple

My Experience

I have visited the Golden Temple many times, but the last time I visited was in December 2018. I went with my Sister, Ant and Ant's son (Dhruv). My sister is older than me, and Dhruv is three years younger than me, but he is a good friend of mine. We are staying in Ludhiana, which is 140 km from the Golden Temple, so we went by bus.

After reaching the temple firstly we ate "Amritsari Naan" which is famous in Amritsar, it was so delicious. After filling our stomach, we saw so many shops of Sikh Culture's clothing and other stuff. After a little shopping there we went inside the temple.

IMG_20200817_211802.jpg
Amritsari naan

The first we covered our head as it is the part of the Sikh ritual. Then we saw how beautiful the temple was at the entrance. It is a tourist's one of the favourite places to visit. We saw many foreigners who came specifically for the temple. So we proceed and lined up in the queue as there were so many tourists who came from different places.

IMG_20161226_164312.jpg

At last, we got a chance to worship God, and we sat there in the peace of God. At night, thousands of lights shine onto the exterior of the gold to create a dazzling appearance. So we sat near "Sarovar" and clicked some beautiful pics.

IMG_20161226_181312.jpg

IMG_20161226_181653.jpg
I am standing with my sis

Then we went to "Langar Hall" for dinner. After having dinner, we washed some dishes in the temple's kitchen as a Volunteer. Nearby, dozens and dozens of volunteers stood along with enormous sinks with hoses to wash dirty plates and cups. After clicking on some beautiful images, we went to our hotel room.

IMG_20200817_211529.jpg
Volunteers washing dishes in the kitchen

In next morning, we visited 'Jallianwala Bagh" which is near to Golden Temple. And came back to Ludhiana the bus.

Today's topic is about the Golden Temple, so that's all from my side in this post.
I would like to thanks to @akkibadboy for allowing me to write about a favourite Indian place. And thanks for conducting a contest.

Sort:  
 4 years ago (edited)

The Golden Temple is not only a central religious place of the Sikhs but also a symbol of human brotherhood and equality you are so right
I too have visited Amritsar golden temple last year when I was in delhi..

This is the Most beautiful and peaceful place to visit in India. Regardless of which religion we believe in, I will recommend that everyone should go whether religiously or non religiously visit the Golden Temple ,I found this place full of history and beauty. I find this place to be very peaceful to the body and to the soul.

The view, the sernity and feeling of being in presence of God makes this place a must visit if anyone are travelling to India!!!!
#bestofindia
#india
#onepercent
#iloveindia

very peaceful to the body and to the soul.

So true.

Thank You @sahilgupta to participate in the #iloveindia contest. please put the link of this post in an announcement post for valid entry and don't forget to upvote 👍🏻 and resteem the announcement post of this contest.

However, it was very hard to select one favorite place in Incredible India because I have a memory with every corner of India.

don't worry my friend I will organize this contest again right after ending this contest and then you can also share your other memories with all of us🙂.

I hope many more contestants join this contest. And I've followed each and every rule of the contest. I'll for the results on 31st.

बहुत ही सुंदर जगह है स्वर्ण मंदिर, मैं अपने परिवार के साथ यहाँ गया था बहुत ही अच्छा लगा।

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 63422.01
ETH 2688.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58