You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Composting From Your Kitchen: Don't Chuck It in the Trash!

in ART LOVERS4 years ago (edited)

I have less.
Broccoli and cauliflower stems can be eaten.
Potatoes I only buy if I can eat the peel.
No flowers here and there is a lot you can easily replant or let grow in a bit of water.

Coffee we do not drink but it's good for your plants.

Plus... some rest including water I cooked in and not use myself I feed the wolves.

The bit left I throw next to my fence..

Happy day.
!trdo 💕

Sort:  

Congratulations @wakeupkitty, you successfuly trended the post shared by @jayna!
@jayna will receive 0.36410513 TRDO & @wakeupkitty will get 0.24273675 TRDO curation in 3 Days from Post Created Date!

"Call TRDO, Your Comment Worth Something!"

To view or trade TRDO go to steem-engine.com
Join TRDO Discord Channel or Join TRDO Web Site

That is really great, @wakeupkitty. Very inspiring. The first step in sustainability is using less in the first place!

It’s a bit easier to compost and send everything back to nature if you live in a rural or wooded area. It can be tougher for urbanites. Hopefully more people who live in urban and suburban environments can get inspired to do so too. 😁

@jayna I hope they will since it is not much work and does not belong in the garbage bag. In the Netherlands it is collected seperate. A part can be paper. I guess/hope that is reused too. Better is to keep that can empty.

I agree. It’s so important to create as little waste as possible. Many Americans have an attitude that if something can be recycled it’s fine to buy it, so They purchas things with a lot of packaging. We need to start putting regulations in place around packaging, provide composting services, and educate our citizens about the impact on the environment of their habits.

@jayna I believe the attitude is worldwide and really hope these regulations will come. I can remember most things boughtvas I was a kid, even 20 years old were not packed single in a box in paper in plastic. There was a supermarket where I could buy sugar, flour, pasta, tea, etc as much as I liked and you put it in a paper bag. I bought milk, yogurt in a glass bottle. Now they start selling bags gor 1 euro which you can reuse for your fruit or vegetables. I did not buy it yet since most is still wrapped in plastic even cucumbers. I do not buy them if they are wrapped like that.
Let's hope for those regulations. No matter what you buy there is too much package around it. 🙁

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 61959.02
ETH 3004.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59