Composting From Your Kitchen: Don't Chuck It in the Trash!

in ART LOVERS4 years ago (edited)

garden-4725522_640.jpg

Image source: herb007 on Pixabay

I've had my ups and downs with kitchen composting. It's a little bit of work and I only have a tiny vegetable garden, so my motivation hasn't been high. But I wanted to share something I've discovered: a really important reason to compost, even on a small scale, and even if you don't have a garden.

Whatever you throw in the trash does not break down

Pretty much everything you throw in your garbage can is going to go into an anaerobic environment. And organics don't break down unless they have oxygen. Imagine that old head of lettuce you didn't eat before it turned brown, sitting in a landfill for hundreds and hundreds of years.

But this isn't about guilt. It's just about the small things we can do to make the world a better place. And composting is one of those things!

These are the things that you might find yourself throwing in the garbage on a daily basis, that won't break down, but would actually make awesome compost:

  • Broccoli stems
  • Celery stalks
  • Potato peels
  • Orange rinds
  • Kale stems
  • Wilted lettuce
  • Coffee grounds
  • Cut flowers

When my life got really busy and overwhelming in the last couple of years with an intense job, I got out of my composting habits. And frankly, I just got lazy. But a simple composting regimen doesn't take much time or effort.

Since we care about the earth, the last thing we want is to pile it up with trash. And knowing that orange rinds last as long as plastic bags in the landfill, to me, is motivation enough to change my habits!

Note: There are multiple types of composting. I actually have a huge property with tons of trees that drop tons of leaves. Plus I have a small flower and vegetable garden and I do a lot of potted plants from spring through fall that have to be dead-headed. Plus there's grass, yard clippings, twigs and branches that fall, everything I cut back or pull up from my vegetable and flower gardens when I winterize them, etc. So in addition to the kitchen composting I'm describing here, I have a huge compost pile at the corner of my property where I can throw absolutely everything organic. In this post, I'm going to focus on kitchen composting.

You don't have to be a gardener to compost


I will share how I do kitchen composting as one example. But there are many ways to do it. Even people with small apartments can keep a simple patio compost bin.

The way I compost, the bin never actually fills up. It's constantly breaking down! So don't worry about creating compost you can't use.

But let's say you become a master at composting everything organic from your kitchen and you do build up some nice compost, but you have not use for it. There are plenty of people with vegetable and flower gardens that would love to be the beneficiaries of your black gold! Find a community board or put up a notice in your local coffee shop and you will get takers.

Start small and don't fret


I have a small compost bin just past my garage. It looks a lot like this one:

compostbin.jpeg

Image source: HGTV blog

But since it's important to aerate and turn your compost from time to time, you might want to consider one like this which has a handle for turning:

tumblingcompostbin.jpeg

Image source: Walmart

I also keep a small compost bin under my sink, because as we all know, the process has to be as easy as throwing stuff in the trash! I just throw all of my organics into the small bin, and every other day I go out and toss it in the larger one.

My under-sink bin is similar to this one:

bamboo-kitchen-compost-bin-c.jpg

Image source: Pottery Barn

A few composting tips


Everything you need to know about composting, you can find online. My goal with this post is to inspire and motivate you to get started, if you haven't yet done so. I'll provide a few resources below to help if you're a beginner or intermediate composter. But here are just a few simple practices to keep in mind:

  • Compost anything you would feed a vegan
  • Compost anything from the earth
  • Compost paper, newspaper and cardboard
  • Add some moisture if it gets too dry
  • Add some paper or leaves if it gets too moist
  • Don't compost meat, egg shells, or anything that comes out of the back end of a meat-eating animal

The ultimate goal is to have a nice, crumbly compost that smells aromatic like good earth and has the consistency of a baked chocolate cake - dense and crumbly.

If you want compost you can use, and don't want to add fresh items to compost that is well on its way to being ready for the garden, then you will either need an additional compost bin or a two-part compost bin.

If you want your compost to break down faster, you can buy a compost starter like the one below. But you can also find compost starter recipes if you want to make your own.

jobe-s-organics-composters-09926-64_1000.jpg

Image source: Home Depot

Easy Peasy Composting Resources

Here's an awesome getting started video from Better Homes and Gardens:

I like this simple, no-nonsense "Composting 101" video from Pure Living for Life. It's a great starter course, but is going to be most relevant to you if you're a homesteader or have a backyard space for composting leaves and grass.

Here's a resource from Homesteading World to help you find or create a compost bin: Ultimate DIY Compost Bin Guide: Compost Bin Ideas For Any Budget

Thanks so much for reading my blog. Go forth and be happy and do good things for Planet Earth!

p.s. I want to extend a thank you to @pennsif for the encouragement to get started writing about sustainability. It's a passion of mine, but not something I have typically posted about here on Steemit, other than casual mentions, like in my recent Market Friday post where I shared some thoughts about re-usable bags! Be sure to check out @pennsif's recent Sustainability Curation Digest. Another great resource is @ecotrain. They curate great content about sustainability and caring for the earth. Check out their recent Eco Living Weekly curation post.

Animated signature

Join Steem to monetize your blog


steempresslogo.jpg

Join via Steempress.io Earn money from your Wordpress blog. Get started here.

 
actifitlogo.png

Join Steem via Actifit Get inspired to move daily, get fit and earn by sharing your progress. Get started here. Or find full instructions here.

 

Steem Logo

Join via Steem.com You can also go direct to Steem (but note that it can take a few weeks to complete the process). Get started here.

Find Steem Communities


There are many Steem communities that provide education and support, and reward engagement and high quality content. Here are a few examples. Click the logos to join them on Discord:

Power House Creatives Logo

The Alliance logo

The Alliance: Join us in the Castle

Actifit logo

steempress-logo-complete.jpg

Wait, What Is Steem?


Steem is a social blockchain that grows communities and makes immediate revenue streams possible for users by rewarding them for sharing content. It's currently the only blockchain that can power real applications via social apps like Steemit.

Sort:  

I have less.
Broccoli and cauliflower stems can be eaten.
Potatoes I only buy if I can eat the peel.
No flowers here and there is a lot you can easily replant or let grow in a bit of water.

Coffee we do not drink but it's good for your plants.

Plus... some rest including water I cooked in and not use myself I feed the wolves.

The bit left I throw next to my fence..

Happy day.
!trdo 💕

Congratulations @wakeupkitty, you successfuly trended the post shared by @jayna!
@jayna will receive 0.36410513 TRDO & @wakeupkitty will get 0.24273675 TRDO curation in 3 Days from Post Created Date!

"Call TRDO, Your Comment Worth Something!"

To view or trade TRDO go to steem-engine.com
Join TRDO Discord Channel or Join TRDO Web Site

That is really great, @wakeupkitty. Very inspiring. The first step in sustainability is using less in the first place!

It’s a bit easier to compost and send everything back to nature if you live in a rural or wooded area. It can be tougher for urbanites. Hopefully more people who live in urban and suburban environments can get inspired to do so too. 😁

@jayna I hope they will since it is not much work and does not belong in the garbage bag. In the Netherlands it is collected seperate. A part can be paper. I guess/hope that is reused too. Better is to keep that can empty.

I agree. It’s so important to create as little waste as possible. Many Americans have an attitude that if something can be recycled it’s fine to buy it, so They purchas things with a lot of packaging. We need to start putting regulations in place around packaging, provide composting services, and educate our citizens about the impact on the environment of their habits.

@jayna I believe the attitude is worldwide and really hope these regulations will come. I can remember most things boughtvas I was a kid, even 20 years old were not packed single in a box in paper in plastic. There was a supermarket where I could buy sugar, flour, pasta, tea, etc as much as I liked and you put it in a paper bag. I bought milk, yogurt in a glass bottle. Now they start selling bags gor 1 euro which you can reuse for your fruit or vegetables. I did not buy it yet since most is still wrapped in plastic even cucumbers. I do not buy them if they are wrapped like that.
Let's hope for those regulations. No matter what you buy there is too much package around it. 🙁

I save everything from my kitchen for my compost pile. Eggshells crumbled, toilet and paper towel rolls, paper egg cartons torn into small pieces. Even napkins and shredded paper work well. I have the best dirt for gardening in my neighborhood. Nothing like giving back to mother earth.

That is awesome, @sunscape! I know there are varying opinions on egg shells. Your comment is inspiring. Yes, all that paper is great bulk and it will break down nicely.

I have used eggshells for 40 years in my gardens. Mostly, I dry them and pulverize them in the blender to make a powder. I put a some in each hole when planting my tomato and pepper plants. I also scatter it on my raised beds before planting. It works for me.

Do the egg shells have certain properties that improve soil? Now I’m super curious!

When tilled into the soil, ground eggshells provide your plants with calcium. Though nitrogen, phosphorus, and potassium are most vital for healthy growth, calcium is also essential for building healthy “bones”—the cell walls of a plant.

Congratulations @jayna! This post has been featured in today's Power House Creatives curation post!

You can find the community announcement on Discord :) and it has also been shared on our FB Page and Twitter feed.

PHC-Footer-05.gif

Oh my, thank you, @steemitbloggers! I am honored!

This post was curated by @theluvbug
and has received an upvote and a resteem to hopefully generate some ❤ extra love ❤ for your post!
JOIN ME ON TWITTER

myluvbug.gif

In Proud Collaboration with The Power House Creatives
and their founder @jaynie

JOIN US HERE
FOLLOW US ON TWITTER

Thank you so much, @theluvbug!

 4 years ago 

Making a compost pit or obtaining a special container both work well, only thing we added which you excluded are egg shell from chickens were crumbled and put in as well. Introducing earthworms assists the process faster (sometimes they arrive on their own in a compost pit).

Old tea bags (black tea) were soaked in a special container and used exclusively on the rose bushes breaking the tea leaves out of the paper bags then poured around base of the plant.

Those are good tips. Thank you. @joanstewart! Egg shells or no egg shells seems to be the great debate in these comments. 😁

I need to look that up and find the pros and cons so I better understand that. Thanks for stopping by!

 4 years ago 

We use bonemeal in the garden as well, I would thing raw egg shells would supply calcium and nutrients back into the soil, being rough on the edges possibly some air as well.

Well written post @jayna. Lots of very good information and encouragement to those who might be giving this some thought.

We started into this last summer, after being greatly inspired by learning about permaculture and "Back to Eden" gardening. It has amazed us how many different approaches there are to gardening in this manner.

We "jumped in" up to our necks and have a worm bin in our basement, as it is too cold here to leave them outside. Into this bin goes most everything from our kitchen. Anything that is a problem for them goes into our "cold" composting pile outside.

One way or another, we have stopped putting in our trash pretty much everything that in one way or another can be composted. Having only started last summer, we have yet to enjoy any ROI from our efforts, but really looking forward to Spring this year more than we have in a long time.

Looking forward to seeing what we can grow, both in quantity and especially quality!

Have a great afternoon!

Oh that’s wonderful! I love hearing these stories, @roleerob! I had to laugh when you said it’s too cold outside for the worms! But I know what you mean. They could certainly survive under ground as worms have done for eons, but they don’t continue working the soil for us in the winter months in a really cold climate. That is certainly true here in a Minnesota. I just put everything out where it will freeze for now and break down in the spring. I would sure love to see your setup. I may need to consider indoor winter composting.

Yes @jayna, there is no question they would do just fine "out there," as originally intended. To "harness" their power and put it to use in turning waste into "black gold" is really something to behold.

Vermiculture is the fancy technical term we've seen applied to it. And I will definitely be posting on it, in my "Back to Eden" gardening series. I have just completed my 2nd post in it, about all we have learned thus far about wood chips ...

Have a great day in the frigid north country! 👋


P.S. I interviewed for a job, out of college, in Hibbing around the end of February / early in March. Can't remember ... What I DO remember was how cold it was. And all the people commenting Spring was "just around the corner" since it was considerably warmer than typical winter temps. I decided that was not the place for us ... 😉

P.P.S. Ahhh, the effects of the "brilliant" EIP changes of HF 21 / 22 ...

image.png

Yeah the cold does scare people off! I came from a town where it is too hot and I am much happier here. When people ask me why I tell them you can always put in more clothing layers to warm up, but there’s only so much you can take off to cool down.

Instead of vermiculture, they should call it wormiculture.

I need to tell Debbie to quit putting eggshells in the compost bin @jayna, thanks for the tip.

!trdo

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations @wonderwop, you successfuly trended the post shared by @jayna!
@jayna will receive 0.00151875 TRDO & @wonderwop will get 0.00101250 TRDO curation in 3 Days from Post Created Date!

"Call TRDO, Your Comment Worth Something!"

To view or trade TRDO go to steem-engine.com
Join TRDO Discord Channel or Join TRDO Web Site

I guess the jury is still out on eggshells in compost, @wonderwop. Several people say you should include them. See the comments from @sunscape. I wouldn’t want to be the cause of marital strife! 😁

 4 years ago (edited)

Some great tips here my friend and I hope that many steemians will read this.
Bookmarked this post!
Blessings!

Thank you so much, @papilloncharity.

👌 ❤️ 👌

Thanks for sharing your experience with us!
TIBLogo

You have been curated by @freedomtowrite on behalf of Inner Blocks: a community encouraging first hand content, with each individual living their best life, and being responsible for their own well being. #innerblocks Check it out at @innerblocks for the latest information and community updates, or to show your support via delegation.

Thank you for the curation, @freedomtowrite and @innerblocks!

Maybe that is the secret to grow healthy plants and herbs. I gave up planting years ago as they the herbs kept dying out on me. Would be nice to be able eat what you grow.

Oh yes it is definitely one of the secrets! The nutrients are better than anything you can but. The other secret is often the right amount of light and water. 😁

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62975.56
ETH 3112.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87