Wet bread

in ART LOVERS4 years ago (edited)

The Sandwich

"Ugh! The bread is soaking wet! Bread is not supposed to be soaking wet!" he snarled at me as he spit a soggy mouthful of half-chewed peanut butter sandwich into a tissue. I stood at attention next to his bed. He handed the sodden and heavy tissue to me.

He was now vegan, grain free, nightshade free, lectin free, phytic acid free, and deaf to my feeble protestations. He was not free, however, from his acutely tuned palate, which was maddeningly different from mine.

He had requested a peanut butter sandwich. I knew meeting all his new diet criteria would be a bitch, but I rose to the challenge. I had to.

I chose a very small ten dollar loaf of 'bread' and bought it. I bought some raw peanuts. I shelled the peanuts. I soaked, sprouted, and dehydrated the peanuts. After very lightly roasting them, I ground those peanuts into peanut butter. I then very carefully smeared the freshly ground peanut butter onto the somewhat normal looking bread. I made sure to get the peanut butter to the edges just like I had learned in home economics class long, long ago.

I knew how to make a proper tea sandwich.

I now spent my life trying to make this man happy. I signed up for that didn't I? Wasn’t that my reason for being? To make this man happy?

Well, he was not happy with that sandwich.

source

And... I wasn't happy with him.
I should have known better. If something sounds too good to believe it is.

Being a babysitter sucks especially if it is for a wealthy man with the behaviour of a spoiled 4 years old kid! If there's something I cannot stand it is waste. His mother said it was an easy job and I only needed to take care of him at day time. The payment was good but his mood...

"I make you something else right away sir", I said and took the results of my hard work with me.

There was bread left and peanutbutter... and for this - I glanced at the plate where I dropped the tissue on- I would find a good destination.

He was healthy and all the drama about food and his hard work, the sacrifices he made for a to improve his health, a better environment, because it all made him sick was made up. Bullshit it was. The vegan, grain free, nightshade free, lectin free, phytic acid free period and tomorrow it would be something new he needed so badly.

I took the blender, dropped the tissue plus the left overs of my hard work into it and added some water before I heat it up.
Peanut soup with bread I would serve the loser upstairs. Soup is wet and it contained everything he needed and stood for. He could even soak his bread in it.

This is my entry to A Pop-Up WeWrite Contest! hosted by @owasco. You can join too and finish the story.
Thank you for the invitation/link @mgaft1

Rules

  • Limit your entry to 750 words
  • Publish it as a Steem post.
  • Use @freewritehouse as one of your first five tags
  • Leave a link to your post in the comments below
  • I will be the judge. I prefer stories that are short, clever, take me there, and float my boat.

PhotoGrid_1567237329129.jpg

#CCC = #hive-166850

This is an Invitation to join #ccc for Guaranteed 👍 Daily Income 💵 and Payout 💸 for Newbies (2.0) 🐟 🐜 🐛 in #ccc 👣 and Follow 👣 the Honor Code 🏅 - the Creed (Conditions and Limits Inside)
AND
the latest update <<< please click to read.

Sort:  

Fine, @puncakbukit upvoted and reblogged your post to thousand followers.. Thank you to approve us as your witness and curator.

 4 years ago 

Excellent story! Boy do I love reading these continuations of my prompt! Everyone has gone completely different directions so far. Interesting!
I love your character's idea at the end, to serve him something he will expect to be wet, and she doesn't lose all the work she went to.
Thanks for your entry!

@owasco Great how all come up with something different.
Well, you know me. No waste! 😀

Sounds um eh...delicious!

@deirdyweirdy That is what he said too. He deserves a "koekje van eigen deeg" (a cookie ofvhis own dough..)
We do not waste good food. ❤️

Yay!
Your post has been boosted with ESTM. Keep up the good work!
Dear reader, Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.me/esteem

Thank you for letting me know. I wish you a great day. 💕

Congratulations @wakeupkitty.pal! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 600 comments. Your next target is to reach 700 comments.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Valentine's day challenge - Give a badge to your beloved!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Haha sound appetizing. Good continuation @wakeupkitty.

This is very imaginative! Babysitting a wealthy man-child brat fits this story well. Great job!

At first the babysitter was a housekeeper but I had to change it 😅 thank you for stopping by and commenting. 💕

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59189.63
ETH 2650.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42