Raptor, A Collection of Poems

in ART LOVERS4 years ago

baldeagle4575704_640.jpg

text15.png

fuel

trapped in the clear blue empty sky
farsighted, hot-headed
sacred

love quickens

love compels me
to dive
to pierce
to kill

hush


she

no haggard
but caught, valiant
in an unseen snare
and no bloody end
no

jessed instead
hooded instead
waiting
breathing
listening
rapt


uncle

a day old chick
is offered me
I, still wild
tethered to your wrist and hungry
refuse

we wait while you wake me


bullies

wings and wine and wild things
disturb my afternoon nap

genuine, unkind wild things
shift their weight
then linger
the brutes

I rise to greet them
a conquistador vanquished
a lover lost

my stomach growling
I rise
text15.png
FxX5caie56yqUbvo2DTJv1i6qm8z4ixTabBTrjodFyZCPuFbZDncXQB89jd6mZkWM2QSrq2ahH2DhyyNE1pjQLgqmXzcj4F36iojmAUYgMVQ 2.png
text15.png

In looking through my older works, I found these which I had forgotten about. I wrote them about ten years ago when I was considering taking up falconry. Falconry turned out to be too much work for me (holy cow is it a lot of work!) and I got chickens instead, but I am still fascinated by the art.

image source

owasco_banner.png



Freewritehouse-footer-500px.png

Sort:  

Ohhh.... these are excellent. I love how minimal and abstract they are! I'm able to feel them immediately on the first read without needing to think what they're about, then re-reading brings the subject into clearer relief.

I feel that "bullies" is the best example of that. There's paradoxical emotion that resolves in the decision to rise. Upon re-reading, one gets a sense that it is the dense vagaries of physical life that are bullying, threatening one's peace. Definitely a fitting conclusion to this collection and contains a sense of finality where the others lift, unresolved, into surprise at their end.

 4 years ago 

Thanks so much for the close read and superb comment! I was surprised by how much I still like these, and didn't have to change a single thing before publishing them today. I remember working a very long time on each bit, including researching and watching birds of prey swoop about. It makes me very happy to hear that they had a positive effect for you.

Beautiful poetry, @owasco. What powerful creatures. I love how you captured the subtleties of the bird’s temperament, and that he is more than just a predator. We can identify with him In his moment of defiance against his captor.

The falcon is present, without being named. Lovely. I guess that's what minimalist poetry can do: create energetically. You've clearly conveyed the presence of that bird (especially in the first poem), but that presence is in a space beyond the words. Far more powerful than a precise description could ever be.

 4 years ago 

Wow! Thanks! Saying the ineffable is the primary function of poetry for me, so that's a cool comment, the best. Have you tried haiku? Keep an eye out on @bananafish's haiku contest in English, which should be popping up soon. That there is stating both the obvious and the ineffable in very few syllables and is a major rush.

I have tried haiku, and I'm far from mastering it! I'll definitely watch for that contest.

 4 years ago 

Thanks for the cross post! That's pretty cool! And you can do that after payout? Does it have to have been published in a community?

These inspired me to write !
Thank you 🙏🏻

Posted using Partiko iOS

 4 years ago 

It's my pleasure! Check out @mariannewest for daily freewrite prompts and good friends. Welcome.

OMG I love these verses from a raptor's POV!!!
Powerful and compelling:

love quickens
love compels me
to dive
to pierce
to kill

Wow! and this:

wings and wine and wild things
disturb my afternoon nap
genuine, unkind wild things

And "the brutes" - high impact AND humorous.

You are inspired! I love this! and the final lines - forgive me, was I not supposed to laugh? - the conquistador, stomach growling - seem such a humbling, human touch. I love it. Love it! You are on a roll @owasco!

 4 years ago 

Thank you honey bunch! It's one of my favorites. I really do think this one said what I wanted it to say. I was going to continue because I never got to actually being flown, or used to hunt, or returned to their perch, or the longing for freedom that I imagine they feel, or the love of their human. there's so much more!

#posh https://twitter.com/tea_in_carolina/status/1233020734982754305

Are we still supposed to post proof of Twitter shares? what is the point in doing this...?

 4 years ago 

I've stopped. It got me nothing

I would have missed this! That would have been sad... I am interested in hacking micro stanzas and the punchy weight.

Such profoundness in between the minimalised sentences.

 4 years ago 

They are a lot of work actually. I think each of these took me at least a month to write. Words would come in my dreams; I think "hush" did.

Writing haiku is a super rush, maybe you would like this contest: https://steempeak.com/haikucontest/@bananafish/mizu-no-oto-every-image-has-its-haiku-edition-47-english

xo

I have never mastered micro and minimal writes. Haikus and this kinda poetry are genres I have had to read on other's poets timelines like yours.

Will give it a try though not sure I will post it though 😁

 4 years ago 

Each session has a theme that some of us try to learn. This one is about a form called haibun. It doesn't really matter if you write a haibun though. Just start. It's a great group, no pressure, like a great haiku.

It's interesting the challenges writers throw at me. You sound like @raj808 or @chinyerevivian right now! I accept this challenge for once though :D

If I fail, (which the anxiety of accepting a challenge I do miserably is letting me know that I will) it's all your faults!

 4 years ago 

There's no such thing as a failed haiku. I hope you like it. It is my favorite thing to do on steem.

Congratulations @owasco!

This post has been featured in our Power House Creatives
Daily Community Spotlight post.

You can find the community announcement in our Discord server
and it has also been shared on our FB Page and Twitter feed.

PHC-Footer-05.gif

JOIN OUR DISCORD COMMUNITY
SUBSCRIBE TO OUR COMMUNITY FEED

LIKE OUR FB PAGE
FOLLOW US ON TWITTER


 4 years ago 

Energetic feeling of raptors life in haiku, short and exceptionally descriptive.

You capture the very essence in this format of writing, well done!

 4 years ago 

Thanks so much!

Love these! It's fun rediscovering pieces we've written and forgot about. Sometimes it's not clear right away what we were thinking then; what was going on... and then it all comes back.

 4 years ago 

Yes! All of it. I've been culling photographs. I have GAZILLIONS of photographs because both my hubby and his father would take 40 shots of every moment. Most of them mean nothing to me - the photos usually do not jog my memory. But a poem! Now that can bring if all back.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63815.31
ETH 3124.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99