Frozen Cattails - Wednesday Walk

in ART LOVERS4 years ago (edited)

I spent my New Year's Day morning at the dog park with Zoey. It was truly beautiful, with more hoar frost on the twigs and branches. We have several different routes we like to take.

This time of year it's lovely to walk down through the marsh, which is a low-lying area with a creek running through. In summer it's a great place to see red winged blackbirds and fireflies, but the walking paths are limited in the warm months and can be very marshy. In winter, everything is frozen, so there are paths all throughout, and along the creek, so you can walk through the marsh and see the broad expanse of sky, with trees all around the perimeter like a big fortress fence. I really enjoyed taken pictures of the frozen cattails.

Come along on my Wednesday walk!

IMG_1334-reduced.jpg

This first picture was my favorite of the frozen cattail set. But I took several more. I guess I never thought about what cattails do in the winter!

IMG_1323-reduced.jpg

IMG_1329-reduced.jpg

IMG_1331-reduced.jpg

In this last one you can really see the hoarfrost on the tip of the cattail. As you can also see, the creek has not frozen yet. It's kind of unusual. Typically everything freezes over in the month of December. But we have had some warmer than usual weather, and the creek was running high and fast.

IMG_1295-reduced.jpg

IMG_1300-reduced.JPG

IMG_1293-reduced.jpg

IMG_1317-reduced.jpg

IMG_1361-reduced.jpg

It winds all through the marsh, and at several places there are bridges to cross. Zoey is afraid of the bridges, but today she actually crossed over very slowly and carefully to visit a dog and its owner on the other side.

IMG_1333-reduced.jpg

I took more pictures of reeds and grasses - and more cattails.

IMG_1348-reduced.jpg

IMG_1344-reduced.jpg

IMG_1337reduced.jpg

IMG_1306-reduced.jpg

We also passed a lot of trees whose branches were all clumped with snow.

IMG_1286-reduced.jpg

IMG_1290-reduced.jpg

And of course I had to take a picture of my bench! I always photograph this bench when I visit the park.

IMG_1378-reduced.jpg

Thank you for visiting my blog. And thanks to @tattoodjay for hosting the weekly #WednesdayWalk tag!

IMG_1366-reduced.jpg

Animated signature

Join Steem to monetize your blog


steempresslogo.jpg

Join via Steempress.io Earn money from your Wordpress blog. Get started here.

 
actifitlogo.png

Join Steem via Actifit Get inspired to move daily, get fit and earn by sharing your progress. Get started here. Or find full instructions here.

 

Steem Logo

Join via Steem.com You can also go direct to Steem (but note that it can take a few weeks to complete the process). Get started here.

Find Steem Communities


There are many Steem communities that provide education and support, and reward engagement and high quality content. Here are a few examples. Click the logos to join them on Discord:

Power House Creatives Logo

The Alliance logo

The Alliance: Join us in the Castle

Actifit logo

steempress-logo-complete.jpg

Wait, What Is Steem?


Steem is a social blockchain that grows communities and makes immediate revenue streams possible for users by rewarding them for sharing content. It's currently the only blockchain that can power real applications via social apps like Steemit.

Sort:  

What a lovely spot for your #Wednesdaywalk and great spot to let your dog run too! The running creek really adds to the beauty but it is strange that it hasn't froze yet!
Lovely photos! Thanks for sharing!

Thank you, @porters. Yes I am expecting the creek to freeze up soon, and then the setting will change completely!

 4 years ago 

Came to cool down seeing all the lovely photography in snow, I tend to do this every year when our temperatures raise +30 deg C with humidity hitting 90%, hibernate and visit cool photography.

Those 'cattails' as you call them, I would imagine when the first warm weather returns will burst open spreading the seed for new plants, they are very pretty to photograph with seeds popping out @jayna.

Just mentioned to @porters I had never heard of Hoar frost before the other day, then remembered it was in one of your posts, so glad to have learned something new.

Thank you for stopping by and leaving your thoughtful comment, @joanstewart! I’m sorry for the heat and humidity you’re experiencing. I hope it cools down for you soon!

We are SO proud to have you as a member of our
FANTABULOUS Power House Creatives family!
upvoted and resteemed!

❤ MWAH!!! ❤

Power House Creatives Logos FINAL_float.png

#powerhousecreatives
JOIN US HERE
FOLLOW US ON TWITTER

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you for taking me to this part of your world. The frozen marshes looks amazing. I may not be able to experience it and I thank you for sharing your walk. Happy New Year!

Thanks so much, @watersnake. I think we all tend to take our own environs for granted, so it’s fun to hear the responses of people who don’t tend to experience frozen landscapes.

Beautiful post 🙂
!DERANGED

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you very much, @davidesimoncini!

It's so white and beautiful. Peaceful. A serene scene come to life. :) ~ I wish that it snowed here!

Happy New Year, @jayna! May your 2020 be grand. :D

It really is beautiful. It's a good thing I enjoy it, because we experience about 6-months of this every year in Minnesota! It starts in November and we don't really get warm weather again until May.

Sounds just like here, but opposite! :D haha! Our Summer seems to last 6 months of the year. I am not a fan. A cold clime is far more to my tastes.

Mine too! We moved here from California and I’m so much happier. We lived in an area that was terribly hot every summer day and I had “cabin fever!”

Hi @jayna, your post has been upvoted by @bdcommunity courtesy of @hafizullah!


Support us by setting us as your witness proxy or delegating STEEM POWER.

20 SP50 SP100 SP200 SP300 SP500 SP1000 SP

JOIN US ON

Thanks, @hafizullah! I had not heard of @bdcommunity.

deranged You just received DERANGED @jayna Keep up the great work, view all your tokens at steem-engine.com

What cool shots on your walk, and I dont mean cool as a Pun, Love the shots of the cattails and of course the bench :)

Thanks for joining Wednesday walk and Happy New Year

Happy New Year to you too, @tattoodjay! Yes, we love the benches, don't we!

Ohh Yeah I seldom sit on them but i love taking shots of them

I really like your frosty pictures of seals and streams @jayna. Probably it is very mysterious to walk in that park among grass jungles and reeds. Although this park is more like a forest somewhere far away in the frozen fields.
The main thing is that your dog is neat and you are careful not to slip through the bridge.

Thank you, @bugavi. I'm glad you enjoyed the pictures!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 57405.63
ETH 2867.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.54