Fruits and Veggies Monday | Re-charge with Fig-alicious Bars

in ART LOVERS5 years ago (edited)

DSC_0008 (2).jpg

What’s new in your world of fruits and veggies?


This week I’ve been enjoying another one of nature’s candies!

Figs!


Tasty both fresh and dried, figs are low in calories and high in antioxidants. They’re packed with so many vitamins and minerals, including potassium and calcium! I have a wonderful baked Fig bar which I have shared before but I thought I would try something different for @lenasveganliving’s Fruits and Veggies Monday! If you haven’t tried figs, you must! They’re a wonderful sugar replacement for muffins, pies, cookies and more!


DSC_0011 (2).jpg


Figgy Nut Bars!


You’ll love these bars! Lots of Nuts! No added sugars and they certainly pack a protein punch! Nutty on the top and bottom and figgy in the middle! A perfect snack, dessert or after a workout!


I used

  • Walnuts (1 cup)
  • Almonds (1 cup)
  • Pecans (1 ½ cup)
  • Organic raisins (1 cup)
  • Cinnamon (1/2 tsp)
  • Dried Figs (2 cup)

Beginning with the base layer...


Walnuts, almonds, and raisins! How simple is that?
DSC_0015 (2).jpg

Good old Walter…


my faithful food processor came to the rescue! He pulsed the walnuts, almonds, cinnamon and raisins until they were fine! While Walter was busy I placed the dried figs in hot water to soak for a couple of hours. They’ll need to rehydrate a bit to make the figgy paste.
DSC_0018 (2)k.jpg

Press the base…


evenly into a parchment lined baking dish. I refrigerated the base while the figs were soaking.
DSC_0021 (2).jpg

Figs are ready!


Back at the food processor I placed the figs into the bowl and began pulsing. Using some of the soaking water as needed I pulsed the figs until the figs were a nice paste! Spread this paste over the base layer but remember to leave about ¼ cup fig paste in the processor.
DSC_0032 (2).jpg

Finally…


the pecan topping! Pulsed with the remaining figgy paste just until they were nicely chopped the top layer was ready! Crumbled over the figgy paste and lightly pressed the bars were skirted off to the refrigerator to chill!
DSC_0036 (2).jpg

Snack anyone?

DSC_0013 (2).jpg

How about a Birds eye view! Have a fig-alicious week my friends!


DSC_0020 (2).jpg


A big thanks to our fabulous hostess @lenasveganliving ! Without the gracious sponsorships from @lenasveganliving, @plantstoplanks, @vegansofsteemit and @naturalmedicine we wouldn’t be able to enjoy this great weekly gathering! Thank you all! Together we celebrate healthy fruits and veggies with fellow Steemians all over the world. I hope you’ll join us!


And as always, blessings to you all!


loveyourself.jpg


PHC-Footer-05.gif


steemusa2.png


Sort:  

I adore this - I've always loved fig slice and this looks like an amazing version. You are the QUEEN of great snacks, @birdsinparadise - I'd get so fat if I was your friend! PS - encouraging you to use #naturalmedicine as one of your tags - we'd be so proud to feature your posts on our front end for all to see!

You are too kind, made my day ! I will remember to use your tag!!! I would love to share these snacks with you!! With all of the hard work you do you certainly deserve alot of tlc :) Blessings xx

I have never been a fan of figs, but recently I had a fig based bar thingy that someone brought into work and it was quite tasty, maybe my tastes have changed
This looks quite interesting and I have bookmarked it

Figs are awesome!!!!

I must try them again soon

Well, once you have tried them you'll love them!! These are so easy, and I'm sure your grand children will LOVE them :) Counting the days... and saving up the recipes!! Treats for the little ones! So exciting!

Ohh yeah I am building up a good list of recipes thanks :)

I haven't had figs in ages. It sure does look figalicious!


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Hi @birdsinparadise, your post has been upvoted by @bdcommunity courtesy of @hafizullah!


Support us by setting us as your witness proxy or delegating STEEM POWER.

20 SP50 SP100 SP200 SP300 SP500 SP1000 SP

JOIN US ON

Looks yum! I hope I’ll find time to try this.

We are SO proud to have you as a member of our
FANTABULOUS Power House Creatives family!
upvoted and resteemed!

❤ MWAH!!! ❤

Power House Creatives Logos FINAL_float.png

#powerhousecreatives
JOIN US HERE
FOLLOW US ON TWITTER

Posted using Partiko Android

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake

Manually curated by @priyanarc.


@helpie is a Community Witness.

Thanks for sharing your experience with us!
TIBLogo

You have been curated by @hafizullah on behalf of Inner Blocks: a community encouraging first hand content, with each individual living their best life, and being responsible for their own well being. #innerblocks Check it out at @innerblocks for the latest information and community updates, or to show your support via delegation.

I have such fruit envy looking around at all of the posts this week! Figs are definitely going to be on my next shopping list. These look waaaaayyyy better than an other figgy snack you can find on the store shelves. ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66437.76
ETH 3321.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71