Fruits and Veggies Monday | Bird’s Spicy Artichoke Veggie Medley

in ART LOVERS4 years ago (edited)

DSC_0042 (2).jpg

Happy Fruits and Veggies Monday my foodie elves!



Aren’t Mondays the best? Fresh fruits and veggies from fellow Steemians all around the world! I never fail to learn something new and exciting!


Today we’re talking Artichokes!


I’ve been looking forward to sharing this spicy little dish with you. I love tossing freshly marinated artichokes into an otherwise simple salad. I find it really knocks it up a notch! I think you’ll enjoy it! It’s quick to make and certainly enough to satisfy a nest full of hungry Birds! Make it in the morning, it’s perfect for dinner.
DSC_0021 (2).jpg


Spicy Artichoke Medley

  • Black Eyed Peas (1 cup dry)
  • Mini Sweet Peppers (qty. 4-5)
  • Red Onion (1/2)
  • Fresh Tomatoes (qty. 4)
  • Marinated Artichoke Hearts (1 cup)
  • Jalapeno- diced (qty. 1)

Marinade

  • Rice Vinegar (1/4 cup)
  • Olive Oil (1/4 cup)
  • Garlic Cloves -minced (qty. 3)
  • Maple Syrup (2 tbsp.)
  • Salt and Pepper to taste

Beginning with the peas…


I prefer using dry! Did you know they’re actually a legume? Some call them cowpeas! I used to eat these often as a child. They’re so simple to cook, just rinse and cook until they’re slightly tender. Canned will do in a pinch but fresh is best! Allow about 30 minutes to cook the peas if you’re using dry.
DSC_0003 (2).jpg

Time to wash and dice…


Sweet peppers!
DSC_0005 (2).jpg

No time to cry…


I know, they can be tough on the eyes. Trust me they’re worth it!
DSC_0010 (2).jpg

Line them up…


and dice! Love those tomatoes!
DSC_0013 (2)i.jpg

Perfect timing…


the black eyed peas are a nice mix with these veggies. They’re a great low calorie source of fiber and antioxidants.
DSC_0016 (2).jpg

Marinate and artichokes…


lightly tossed. What a beautiful medley! Time to chill the salad, 6 hours will do.
DSC_0026 (2).jpg

Voila! A Fruits and Veggies Monday’s Spicy Artichoke Medley!


DSC_0031 (2).jpg


I want to offer a huge thanks to dear @lenasveganliving for hosting this wonderful weekly venue. I remember how nervous I was sharing my first recipe with the Fruits and Veggies Monday community nearly two years ago. It’s been wonderful; I’ve learned so much and made many wonderful friends. We would love to have you join us!


And as always, blessings to you all!


loveyourself.jpg


PHC-Footer-05.gif


steemusa2.png

Sort:  

CONGRATULATIONS TO YOUR 1st PRIZE Mrs. Bird 💚🌿💚
1PRIZE.png

Oh my goodness!!!! Thank you dear Lena, this made my day :) Thank you! Love the FAVM community xx Blessings my friend!

Always a pleasure my Dear Mrs. Bird, we are always happy when you join us 💚🌿💚

Yummy luch treat on a summer day - simply delish


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Amazing healthy food Mrs.@birdsinparadise 😃 simply and delicious too. The marinated artichoke.. is it homemade too?

So good to see you back with us my Dear Mrs.Bird! I am making this fabulous salad for sure; so simple yet flavorful and full of nutrients!!! Absolutely love it!!! 😍
01.jpg

A very healthy recipe! Thank you for sharing this with us. I love how you write, and how witty you present the steps in making this nutritious, colorful blend of salad!

I would try my best to try this recipe since we have those ingredients. It's very doable. Thank you once again, @birdsinparadise. 😍

always amazed by your creativity with preparing such wonderful dishes

This is totally up my alley! Always love a good bean salad, and I'm sure those artichokes totally take it over the edge. I actually have some dried black eyed peas left from my new year's dish. I might just have to bookmark them for something like this!

We are SO proud to have you as a member of our
FANTABULOUS Power House Creatives family!
upvoted and resteemed!

❤ MWAH!!! ❤

Power House Creatives Logos FINAL_float.png

#powerhousecreatives
JOIN US HERE
FOLLOW US ON TWITTER

Posted using Partiko Android

This post was curated by @theluvbug
and has received an upvote and a resteem to hopefully generate some ❤ extra love ❤ for your post!
JOIN ME ON TWITTER

myluvbug.gif

In Proud Collaboration with The Power House Creatives
and their founder @jaynie

JOIN US HERE

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63383.41
ETH 3119.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85