Steem Basic Income Giveaway: Work Jargon

in ART LOVERS4 years ago

Sorry guys... got a bit distracted by the craziness of the last couple of days... it sapped a bit my desire to write... but I'm getting back on board again!

Anyway, thanks to everyone who joined in on the last question, On 3... or after???... for once it was nice to see myself on the majority side of the question! It is DEFINITELY AFTER 3!.....

So, this week, I was listening to the Justin Sun and Witness recording... and it really drives me nuts how people use important words in important settings! Work Jargon I guess it is called... and every work place has it!... some people love using it... I personally hate it!

My Question

  1. Share some of your work jargon... what does it mean?

My sample answer

Unsplash

Music is full of people who love the sound of their own voices... look at me now... I'm just blathering away already! So, it is a place that is ripe for "embellishment" of simple ideas... just so you can stamp your authority and look like an pretentious idiot... one of those two is intentional and the other is a side effect! So, here are a few words that drive me nuts everytime I hear them....

Temporal Displacement: WTF? It just means that delay (or come in early) for an emotional effect... but temporal displacement sounds more quantum woo... and almost scientific!.. Bleah...

Natural: Musicians have a large relative proportion of people who are in-tune with nature and themselves (and like to tell everyone else that they are...)... thus, saying something is "natural" is a way of agreeing with something without brooking any argument... because to do otherwise would be "un-natural"... and no one would ever want that!... False dichotomy at play? Plus, one persons "natural" is another's "un-natural"... it only emphasies the fact that there was no attempt to understand the other position!

Organic: See above...

Rules

  1. Upvote if you want, it increases the payout and then I can hopefully sponsor more people.
  2. Resteem is NOT neccessary, but the more people see this, the more the people will be likely to be sponsored.
  3. In the comments, answer as best as you can the questions that are posed in the "My Questions"!
  4. I have added a small Steem-Bounty to the post, so that everyone who replies with a valid entry will get something back. If I give your post a small upvote, it is valid (also, subscribe to @dustsweeper for maximum benefit!).
  5. I will be sponsoring as many people as this post pays out in liquid SBD/STEEM. Also I will kick in at least the required amount to round up to the full number. Winner is by random generator after a shortlisting of quality comments!

Steem Basic Income

One of the first communities that I came in contact with at the beginning of my time at Steemit was @steembasicincome. As a author starting out on your fresh new Steemit account, Steemit can be a daunting and lonely place to be. OFten, it can feel like you are posting into an abyss with no one listening and with no ability to grow out of the situation. A share of Steem Basic Income gives you a guaranteed vote on one post a day, thus giving you a small but over time cumulative support to your account to help grow you out of your initial wilderness!

With this post, I want to help sponsor people who might not even have the spare 1 STEEM that is required for registration. So, when this post pays out, I will sponsor people depending on the payout of this post. Basically, I will round up the SBD payout from this post and then that will be the number of people I will sponsor. (So, if the payout is 2.3 SBD, I will sponsor 3 people). OF course, this is not simply an altruistic move, as the sponsor of a Steem Basic Income share also gets a share, so it is a great way to help others whilst helping yourself!

Last week's winners

The last post paid out 0 SBD and 14.979 STEEM in liquid earnings. So, that would make 15 shares.

The winners by random draw are (well, this time there was enough for one for everyone, and one lucky person got 2!)

@heartbeat1515 (2)

@wesphilbin

@melinda010100

@sacra97

@justclickindiva

@daniella619

@proto26

@cuko

@redheadpei

@jeffjagoe

@enginewitty

@fredkese

@reviles

@improv


Upgoats by ryivhnn
Account banner by jimramones


The classical music community (Subscribe at Steem and Steempeak) at #classical-music and Discord. Follow our community accounts @classical-music and @classical-radio. Community Logo by ivan.atman

Sort:  

@bengy has set 1.000 STEEM bounty on this post!
logo_for-light-bg_1000.png

Bounties let you earn rewards without the need for Steem Power. Go here to learn how bounties work.

Earn the bounty by commenting what you think the bounty creator wants to know from you.

Find more bounties here and become a bounty hunter.

Happy Rewards Hunting!

Congratulations to the following winner(s) of the bounty!

I'm not sure how to share it with you this time. I don't even know what do work jargon meant 😅 I have to google for answers. I don't think my work place have that kind of things because I work in a hospital and everyone share their knowledge and do their own speciality or professionalism.

Looking at the google answer, there are a lots of things and words that are aliens to me but that is because it isn't my scope of work. Besides, I can always ask and there will always be someone there to explain.

The only answer I can give this time is, the word jargon itself is a jargon to me 😅

 4 years ago (edited)

Haha... that's pretty much it! Jargon is words that you would use and be familiar with due to your own work environment... whilst outsiders would just look on in confusion!

Trust me... the medical field is full of it! My mother and brother do it to me all the time...

😅😅 I have all those medical words with me all the time. Yet, I still can't remember all of them if not used frequently.

 4 years ago 

The winners and the next SBI question (How many times?) can be found here:

Steempeak

Steemit

Thanks for the giveaways. I think this one is pretty easy but we translators use CAT tools.

CAT tools are Computer Aided Translation tools, usually programs that help, us translator, to manage projects, create translation memories, termbases, use dictionaries, spell checkers, quality checkers etc. <3

 4 years ago 

Interesting! I had no idea that these things existed... MEOW!

Yes they do ! <3

 4 years ago 

The winners and the next SBI question (How many times?) can be found here:

Steempeak

Steemit

Thanks for the awards. The jargon of work for me would be to talk about washing machine motors, refrigerators, spare parts for household appliances. For the type of work I do now. Now if we talk about jargon in Steemit that although I write in Steemit I don't feel it as a job, it's fun and I love it, but I must also recognize the hours we put a Steemit to elaborate our messages, answer questions, greet friends, I At least I have a habit of answering almost all the messages that are placed in my post, I love commenting, helping others. I use a google translator I have recommended some names I always forget to locate them, for those things I need help, I do not know everything I would like to know in computing but according to my children despite my age I manage quite well on the internet and I love that I say it.

@bengy

 4 years ago 

I'm sure there are quite many words that are applicable for washing machines and household appliances that I would have no idea about... for me, they are one big black box... well, actually, white...

You are absolutely right, I have time I thought that if the blender glass broke, everything was voted, then find out that no, the blade is reused, the thread, the lid, you learn a lot here. @bengy

 4 years ago 

The winners and the next SBI question (How many times?) can be found here:

Steempeak

Steemit

I work in the construction industry so we have many jargons, pretty much the whole thing consists of jargons. When I first started, I thought my grandfather was speaking chinese when he would talk about the on-site situations. Slowly I began to catch on.

HVAC - heating, ventilating, air-conditioning
Footing - Part of foundation that supports the slab
Slab - Surface of a concrete floor
Pier - Excavated hole filled with concrete
Change Order - Changes to the contract
As-Built Drawings - Original contract drawings marked up to reflect the changes throughout the project.

1000's more.

 4 years ago 

"Cool! Hope you didn't do anything that brought a building down because you didn't know the words and what people were talking about!

 4 years ago 

The winners and the next SBI question (How many times?) can be found here:

Steempeak

Steemit

This one is kind of unofficial work jargon, as I don't know that upper management would particularly appreciate it. Around here, if we're talking about a "valued customer" we really mean the customer is probably being demanding, unreasonable or just a complete asshole.

 4 years ago 

LOL! I would not ever have picked that!

 4 years ago 

The winners and the next SBI question (How many times?) can be found here:

Steempeak

Steemit

Thanks Bengy. That’s really generous. I’m retired now but worked in the banking field. Most of the jargon there was concerning people’s accounts and loans.

The manager used to stand behind the tellers and make remarks about how fast the lines of customers were moving. He especially liked to stand behind the good looking girls and ogle them. The rest of the staff used to laugh at that calling him an old fool Behind his back.

 4 years ago 

Ha... hopefully that sort of culture has changed a bit!

 4 years ago 

The winners and the next SBI question (How many times?) can be found here:

Steempeak

Steemit

Loading...

I just got accepted into a horticulture internship and I don't think there's much jargon besides the word horticulture itself. Horticulture is like agriculture but without animals, on a smaller scale, more sustainable, and can include flowers as well. We don't grow a monoculture, rather we intercrop. This is where companion planting comes into play. Some plants get along with each other and others don't make good neighbors. Compost and organic foliar (leaf) sprays are used as to feed plants in place of harsh chemical fertilizers. Certain plants will also attract beneficial pollinators and predators of pests, eliminating the need for pesticides. Worst comes to worst we could use neem oil or horticultural vinegar to deal with pesky critters.
Well that's all I got for jargon. Hope I got some of you guys with it!

 4 years ago 

Congratulations! I'm sure that as you get deeper into the field... you will find yourself learning lots more stuff that is confusing to outsiders! After all, I had no idea what intercropping was!

 4 years ago 

The winners and the next SBI question (How many times?) can be found here:

Steempeak

Steemit

You are very generous! Thanks so much. I'm retired and have put all that work stuff behind me. You have got me thinking, though!

 4 years ago 

Hehe... traumatic flash backs?

I certainly do enjoy my days more today than I did then!

 4 years ago 

The winners and the next SBI question (How many times?) can be found here:

Steempeak

Steemit

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 56616.63
ETH 3026.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.21