The Diary Game (05-01-2021) | A Visit To Our Backyard Garden: Sanctuary For Nature, A Better Life

in Steem passion3 years ago (edited)

Daytime has arrived, with tousled grass, earth breeze, and vibrant green hues. I look forward to another day in our lives, and I thank God that despite the events of our lives, such as the pandemic, He does not allow bad things to happen.

I wake up at 5:00 in the morning every day as a typical mother does. Upon waking up I pray and give thanks for the new day and life He has lent me and ask for guidance that He will be in control in any decisions I will make in my life. My morning runs smoothly when he is in bed still asleep or even when he is awake, it's a bonus for me when he is in good shape and just playing alone and waiting for his food.

food salad breakfast.jpg

My Son's Breakfast


Today, after I had a hearty breakfast, my son took a shower, cleaned the whole house, and did laundry. I went down to our backyard and inspected the vegetables I had planted. I have tomatoes, pepper, sweet basil, cucumber, calamansi and there are more to mention. We have a huge backyard and it is good to have vegetables around especially during this pandemic and it saves me from buying them in the market which is very expensive nowadays.

gardening tomatoes with Rod Dalisay at Brgy Salumay Marilog District Davao City.jpg

Three more days and some of my tomatoes are ready for harvest

gardening bell peper with uncle jesse.jpg

Hmmm...my bell pepper is almost ready for harvest. This is good for salads and pizza as well

gardening sweet basil for pesto with susan.jpg

Wow! My sweet basil is ready for transplanting and soon I can sell them again and leave some for my pasta

gardening backyard hydrophonics cucumber with Toto.jpg

Look at my cucumber, it's growing fast! A friend helped me put up a trellis so it will bear properly

gardening calamansi with maris GP.jpg

The calamansi is bearing more fruits. I love the way it grows as bonsai


My mother has also plants such as orchids and other flowering plants that add beauty to our home as well. I love her plants but I felt sorry because I don't have enough time to care for them because I have a physically and intellectually challenged son to attend to. Let me show you some of her flowering plants:

flowers fuchsia vanda sanderiana.jpg

This is Vanda Sanderiana (Orchids), a crossed-bred of Waling-waling and Common Vanda. It is commonly found in Mindanao, Philippines

flowers sholai queen with angelo reyes.jpg

Also one of my Mom's rare collection of orchids, the Sholai Queen as it is called

Flowers Orchid Fucshia Pink1 with Maebelle TBallesteros.jpg

A commonly called Vanda Orchid, I love this color - Carnation Pink. You can just plant it on driftwood and leave it on the open ground under the heat of the sun unlike the other varieties

flower cattleya with Doti.jpg

A Satin-like flower, the Cattleya. These are just a common variety of an orchid though it is an expensive kind

These flowers have many uses and they are also income-generating. We sell them when there are buyers who come to the house. When there are anniversaries, birthdays, we give them as a present to the celebrants.


As I wandered around., I noticed many bird nests in every bamboo tree, Jamaica tree, and Indian tree. Oh! I already have a bird sanctuary. I enjoyed watching the birds around. It’s really different when there are trees in the backyard, it's very lively, I took photos of them so I can write about them. Even though we live in an urban area, at least they are still around chirping every morning that perks my day up every time I wake up.

nest8.jpg

Nest #1 in the middle of a Chinese Bamboo twigs

nest2.jpg

Nest #2 that is exposed on the Buddha Bamboo tree. I just trimmed the branches recently and did not expect that the birds would create its nest on it

nest1.jpg

Nest #3 created up there in that Indian tree

nest3.jpg

Nest #4 created in the middle of Jamica tree

bird on the tree.jpg

Look at that King Fisher on the tree, as if he just had his catched. He is still wet, some water dripped from his feathers when I took a snap of him

feather friends with ana p.jpg

A Sparrow. This is the one who wakes me up every morning. He was chirping when I took a snap of him

As I watch the birds play in the backyard, I feel warm inside. They are the sun in my life. My attention is drawn to their chirping. These feathered friends have their own lives, apart from ours, but their company has made me so much richer.


There is peace in the soul that comes of making a tiny nature reserve of one's own backyard as if that part of my own nature that has a child's wonder in the simple bud and movement of foliage is reserved and nurtured too. The backyard is a sanctuary for nature and in that it becomes my own place of serenity.


How I love this day, bringing a wave of sweet earthly joy. They say the universe is all connected, as are we all, and at this moment it's so tangible, real. A beautiful experience that is written in my diary.


Thanks for dropping by @diosarich


☆・:˜"°•ڰۣڿ♥ڰۣڿ•°"˜・:・゚☆☆・:˜"°•ڰۣڿ♥ڰۣڿ•°"˜・:・゚☆ ☆・:˜"°•ڰۣڿ♥ڰۣڿ•°"˜・:・゚☆

mylive pink signature diosarich.gif

☆・:˜"°•ڰۣڿ♥ڰۣڿ•°"˜・:・゚☆☆・:˜"°•ڰۣڿ♥ڰۣڿ•°"˜・:・゚☆ ☆・:˜"°•ڰۣڿ♥ڰۣڿ•°"˜・:・゚☆

Sort:  

You have written an article about plants within your scare game and posted pictures of very good plants. Pictures of plants are planted as if the wallpaper is square

Thanks for the appreciation and for dropping by as well. God speed.

Ka fresh sa inyong produce Sis. Naibog ko sa flower, lalo ang color may fave.

Collection ni Mommy, Sis. Mahilig talaga sa halaman ang mother ko lalo na flowering plants. Hanggang gulay lang ako kasi mahirap alagaan ang mga collections niya.

Angganda ng paligid. It's something we should be thankful of despite this pandemic. Kung kelan ito matatapos ay wala pang nakakaalam. Ingat kayo dyan.

Iba talaga, Sis kapag may mga halaman sa backyard lalo na mga vegetables at flowering plants. May awa ang Diyos, kung gaano kabilis dumating ang pandemya, kasing bilis din ang pag-alis nito in His time. Amping pod mo diha.

Buhay bukidnoon, layo sa kasakitan.

Ay Oo Sis. gimingaw ko sa Mindanao.

Ang ganda ng mya halaman mo ate.. 😊😊

Thanks bro, halaman ng mother ko yan mga flowers. Veggies lang ako.. ;)

wow ka nice ba sa mga tanum nice rjud mgtanum kay dili kaayo xa mabutangan ug spray pra sa pestecides kabalo pod ta when xa pwed kaunun or dili unlike if mgpalit ta wa ta kabalo na bag.o pa gsprayahn pang pestecides unya ato sa dayun kaunon.

Ay, tinuod ka Sis. lami magtanum sa backyard nato kay makabalo ka kung unsa dapat pagalaga. Bihira pati akong lumabas. Ngayong pandemic natuto lahat maningkamot para mabuhi.

makalingaw pati pag makita nato ang ato tanum labi na ug nindot ug tubo din mamumnga makawala sa kakapoy

Well made ang imong post ate. Keep it up. Amping kanunay.

Thanks bro. Ikaw pod amping kanunay. God speed.

please tell your friends to join, thanks!

Wow! sige po. Thanks Sir @long888

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 65862.35
ETH 3444.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68