Creative writing : STUCK - Chapter one

in Writing & Reviews3 years ago (edited)

PhotoGrid_Plus_1623694727163.jpg

Chapter 1

Honk honk honk. "Move it!"

The unending traffic was slowly getting on my last nerve. I needed to be home as soon as possible. After all, I just got a job as Assistant Manager in Joe's Manufacturing Incorporated. It was my first real job after getting my Bachelor's degree two years ago. I couldn't wait to tell Frank, my fiance.

A soft smile crept upon my lips as I imagined the scene that was about to occur. He would be home from work, with his signature green smoothie in hand watching the news. After greeting him, I'll tell him I have a surprise. And when he's wondering what it is, I'll show him my work ID. He'd smile, lift and spin me around, kiss me, and tell me how proud he was of me. And then we'll celebrate it in a special way.

Honnnnnnnnnkkkkkkkkkkkk

I shook out of my daydreams as the car behind honked at me. The traffic had eased up infront and I was holding up the line. Quickly, I sputtered my apologies and made my way home.

After cranking up the music, I sang along with Mariah Carey's "My Saving Grace", my spirits high. When it got to the high notes, I closed my eyes to sing them to accuracy.

"Giving me peace, giving me hope, giving strength....."

I didn't get to continue as I saw a blinding light. In the next second, I was tumbling and turning around with the car. It didn't seem to stop and the pounding headache and static in my ears grew tremendously till the car hit a tree. Hot blinding pain crept up my limbs till it reached my chest.

"Cough, cough"

I tried to breathe through the smoke and debris but it was like I was suffocating. Pain was all I could feel as I tried moving my head and my left leg which was stuck in an odd angle.

Trying to recall what had happened before the accident, I closed my eyes which ended up inflicting more pain on my self. "Arghhh", I couldn't help but scream.

My head was seriously aching. Lifting up my right hand, I tried to hold my head and ease the pain somehow, but was terrified to touch a liquid which smelled metallic. Blood, I was bleeding.

A searing pain coursed through my body as the static in my ears grew ridiculously loud. Images blurred before me and my thoughts were distorted. Just before I lost consciousness, I heard someone call my name faintly, Melanie.

Sort:  

This is really creative while reading I saw the images . It's great keepup

Thank you for reading😊

I enjoyed reading you and hope to read more from you. It's hard to find (short) story writers here and I love stories.

How easily we drive automatically, in thoughts. You woke me up with this one again. Better no day dreaming, no singing, no distractions...

👍🍀💖

Thank you for reading 😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 63252.28
ETH 3044.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52