The Whisperer - A Short Story

PROLOGUE
“In the beginning, the nine Creators made the Earth. They were apprenticed to another nine, on a different world. They all swore to protect it, and to train other apprentices to create new worlds. After a million years, one of them broke the oath. The Witherer attempted to take control of the planet, and spread his element, death, across the entire planet. The other eight overcame him, and exiled him. He could no longer have a direct influence on the Earth, but could still have a channel, and attend council meetings. They would have killed him, but if one of the nine dies, then the world they took part in creating will be destroyed. The other eight tried to keep the balance as well as they could, but without the Witherer, his opposite, the Whisperer, took life too far. Life had too much influence on the planet, disrupting the balance. The Whisperer became power-hungry, but he knew that the Witherer could help him. And this is where my story begins.”
PART 1
I was traveling to a big city. This was a big deal for me. It’s not often Mom let me miss school. But this was an important visit. Supposedly, there was a scientific discovery, and they needed many points of view to explain it.
But what was that? I heard a voice.
“I am the Whisperer, the Creator of Life,” a man appeared before me. He seemed to be invisible to everyone else, as he kept needing to move so people wouldn’t bump into him. “I am one of the nine beings with power over this world. Every hundred years, I choose a channel in this world. This century, I have chosen you. You can control life, as it is my domain. As a channel, you are my gateway into this world.”
“I can control life? How? Is this real???” I couldn’t believe what I was seeing and hearing.
“Think about something moving and living. I find it’s easier if you start with something that looks like a living creature.”
“Okay, like…” I looked around. “A snowman?”
“Yes. That’s why it’s best to start in the winter!”
“Okay.”
I concentrated. I thought about a snowman moving. The one in front of me started moving, then stopped as I looked at it.
“What went wrong?”
“You are still coming into your powers. This will be all that you can do for now. The only way to get stronger is practice.”
“OK then,” but I had so many questions that I wanted to ask.
Three days later, we left the city for home. The powers I could channel had grown, and the Whisperer continued to teach me, answering my unending questions.
“So, you said there are eight other beings like you?” I asked full of curiosity.
“Well, each one of us is unique, but yes, there were nine of us.”
“What? Why were? What happened to them?”
“The Whitherer got exiled for abusing his power.”
“Oh. What’s his power, and what about the other seven?”
“The Witherer’s power is death. The seven are: my twin, the Rumbler with power over growth, the Incinerator with power over fire, the Stabilizer with power over earth, the Eroder with power over water, the Toppler with power over wind, the Echoer with power over sound, and the Vanisher with power over travel.”
“Now, on to a different matter,” he continued. “I have told you about us Creators. We all have channels. So, you must be careful not to take too much from any one of them. For example, all these snowmen you have been practicing on, normally, they would come under the Eroders’ domain, as they are just water in another form. But since you have put life in them, they are now under my domain. If the Eroder takes offence at this, then she will take retribution. So practice with something else.”
“WillI I ever meet the other channels?”
“Yes, in a hundred years. The only way you will see each other sooner is if some great calamity befalls us and we need your combined powers. Now, I hear a lady has been bothering you?”
“Yes, Mrs. Brezek has always been that way. She was born a batty old lady. Because of this new power I have, she thinks I’m the devil. I can’t fathom why, but what do I do about it?”
“Well, I suggest you take care of it, and sooner rather than later. Perhaps scare her? See you tomorrow!”
“Wait, don’t…”
Too late. The Whisperer was gone. Time to get to work with Mrs. Brezek.
I took a pile of leaves, and lit it on fire with the lighter I carried around in case of an emergency. I had never done this before, but what I did next is even more dangerous. I gave life to the fire. If Mrs. Brezek wanted the devil, I could certainly give it to her!
This is what I told the fire to do: “You can change shape, to some extent. I want you to look like me, but with small horns. Can you do that?”
Silence. What was I expecting, talking to fire? But it could change shape, as I saw it growing horns.
“Okay. Once you do that, go over to that house,” pointing at Mrs. Brezek’s house. “Then look in the window wherever she is. Don’t catch anything on fire this time.”
The fire leaves. Three minutes later, I heard a scream, then loud prayers. Good.
I went back home, and saw the Whisperer meeting with the Witherer through some kind of portal. I stayed hidden, as I wanted to find out what they were talking about. I had seen something like this before, but the Whisperer always closed the portal so I couldn’t watch.
“Well no, I can’t free you yet. But if I find the Discombobulator---” the Whisperer was saying.
“How many times have I told you?! It’s the Endbringer!!”
“Fine then, the Endbringer! But if I find it, then I can force the other seven to set you free.”
“But how will you get it? The Vanisher is unfriendly to our cause, and we’ve waited through dozens of his channels, trying to find the one that will help us!”
“The current Vanisher channel has been looking at the vault for us, but won’t do anything definite for us. He’s been reliable to not do more than he needs to do. And remember, the Vanisher is not the only one that can travel between worlds. I can get to Skalla, but it is too hard to do without trying to find another way.”
“Fine, fine! But if you can’t turn this channel, then go yourself!” the Witherer exclaimed.
“Stop talking! He’s here!” the Whisperer exclaims, as the portal closes.
By that time, I had heard all I needed to hear. The Whisperer was planning with the Witherer to set him free. They needed a weapon from Skalla. I’d heard of this world before. But how would I get there? And what could I do to stop the two of them? I needed to find the other channels, particularly the Vanisher’s channel.
The next day, I met again with the Whisperer. I wanted to find a way of settling what might be a misunderstanding.
“Why were you meeting with the Witherer? I thought he was exiled,” I confronted him.
“Well… um… he was.”
“So why were you meeting with him?”
“Well… because he was wrongly exiled.”
“So tell the other seven that.”
“Umm… they won’t listen.”
“So you’re having this meeting behind their backs?”
“Well… yes.”
“I think this could get you exiled.”
“Not if no one else knows.”
“Is that a threat? You know as well as I do that if you kill me, that breaks your vow to protect this world.”
“Fine! Tell the council. My plans will be complete before they do anything anyways.” the Whisperer said without caring.
“Well then, their channels can do… something,” I said, frantically trying to think what exactly they could do.
“Tell them too, but good luck finding them!”
The Whisperer left. I panicked. How would I find the other channels?
Eight times a month, the eight Creators and one of the channels would meet to ensure that no one had upset the balance. Each channel had one monthly meeting, excluding the other channels, as the channels could not meet. But I thought back to everything the Whisperer had told me, and if there was an emergency, then one channel could call a meeting of all nine.
But it did need to be an emergency, and I didn’t know if this qualified. If I could meet the Vanisher’s channel, then we could race to the Endbringer on Skalla. Unfortunately, it was heavily guarded, and we would need another teammate. But then, three of us would meet, and that would be enough that I should call an emergency meeting.
I had another idea. I met with all nine Creators once a month, but there was a meeting every five days for the other channels. If one of the Creators didn’t show up, then the other eight would know that something was wrong. They would come to me to find out what had happened to the Whisperer. So if I imprisoned the Whisperer somehow, then the other seven would come looking for him, and I could tell them what was happening. But how could I imprison the Whisperer? I would need the help of other channels… and I was back where I started.
After thinking about what could go wrong, I called the other channels. All of us were transported to a remote island in Tonga with sections of land for ten channels to meet. But who was the tenth space for?
“What are we all doing here?? Who called the meeting?” asked Danichew, the Echoer’s channel.
“I called this emergency meeting. This is where it is, apparently,” I replied.
“What is happening that would warrant an emergency meeting?” asked… Mrs. Brezek! She was in the tenth space.
“The Whisperer and Witherer are plotting to take over this world,” I replied. “And what are you doing here? I thought the emergency meeting only called channels!”
“Yes, it only calls channels. I’m the global channel. I can channel power from any of the Creators. And I am the neutral power here, so I can be the third party in any dispute between the channels. And you, you were behind that fire devil thing yesterday, weren’t you??” she said to me.
“Yes, you wanted me to be the devil!”
“Oh, it’s not you who’s the devil; it’s the Whisperer!”
“On that note, that’s why I called this meeting,” I interjected. “The Whisperer is plotting with the Witherer to take over the planet. They are looking for a weapon, the Endbringer, that can drain power from any other Creator, and they will use it to drain everybody’s power but theirs.”
“I said this eighty years ago, and no one listened! Now we have no time,” Mrs. Brezek said.
“Well, what we need to do is find the weapon before they do, and drain the two of them!” Tyla, the Eroder’s channel input.
“Remember, if one of the nine dies, then this world will be destroyed!” Willard, the Stabilizer’s channel said.
“How do you know that?” Xiao Ming, the Incinerator’s channel, said.
“The Stabilizer told me,” Willard replied.
“And this weapon is very heavily guarded,” said Jasenko. “We can get it, but it will take all of us. The Witherer and Whisperer have tried to get me to take them to the vault. Instead, I have given them bits of misinformation, to try and find out what they are going to use it for. As a result, I know my way around the vault.”
“That’s right, the Whisperer said that the Vanisher’s channel was helping them, but doing as little as possible. Now I know why, I guess,” I replied.
“Why don’t we bring this to the council? They can deal with it,” Xiao Ming, the Incinerator’s channel said.
“So, what we need to do is take a vote. We can try for the Endbringer ourselves, or we can bring this to the Council,” Mrs. Brezek said.
“First, does anyone else have any more suggestions?” I asked.
“I do! I think we should warn the seven, but if they still don’t listen, we can leave for Skalla.” Cain said.
“Who told you that this was on Skalla? I didn’t!” I said. “But otherwise, it makes sense, but… Who here had their council meeting last?”
“The Witherer told me! And it was my meeting yesterday.” Cain replied.
“Why did he tell you that?” I replied. “Are you also a spy?.
“No, the Witherer was trying to get me to help reclaim it, and I refused. But he had still told me about it.”
“That makes sense. So there’s no time to wait for the next meeting, in four days, with… It would be Jasenko next, right?” I asked.
“Yes, so let’s take our vote and start moving already!” Jasenko replied. “I can take us all to Skalla---”
“We’re getting ahead of ourselves,” Mrs. Brezek interrupted. “We need to vote first. Who thinks we should race the Witherer and Whisperer to retrieve the Endbringer?”
Everybody but Xiao Ming voted yes.
“That’s a majority no matter what else happens. Let’s go!”
“All right, let’s go. I don’t think I can move everybody at once,” said Jasenko. “So what we need are two groups. The first one should only be a few. That way, when I leave them, they won’t open the gate to the Endbringer.”
“Wait, how do you open the gate to the Endbringer?” Aliwarga, the Rumbler's channel asked. “And how do you know how to open it?”
“The Vanisher took me there. Remember the Whisperer and Witherer wanted me spying for them. They needed to tell me where the gate is and how to get in.” Jasenko replied. “And you open it just by having more than five people near the gate at once.”
“Okay, so whom should we send?” asked Willard.
“Well, Mrs. Brezek, obviously. She has the most power of all of us. Then, Xiao Ming, to shield all of us from the fire that covers Skalla. And Cory, as he is the most versatile,” Jasenko answered.
“Okay, let’s go,” I replied.
Jasenko started chanting. Everyone’s power manifests differently, and he was more like a traditional wizard, it seemed. He took the three of us with him, but cut himself out of the transport, leaving it to take just the three of us. But when we arrived, the gate immediately opened. The Whisperer and Witherer were already there.

PART 2

Mrs. Brezek said what everyone else was thinking: “Uh oh”
But just then, the other group arrived, and the seven of them opened the gate themselves, for a second time.
“Wow, I didn’t think that you could convene an emergency meeting,” the Whisperer said to me.
“Well, why couldn’t I? You taught me how!”
“Because the other nine all need to be willing to come.”
“It’s an emergency meeting, why wouldn’t they come?!”
Cain interrupted: “You might want to stop arguing and look at the Witherer!”
The Witherer was already trying to solve the first puzzle to get the Endbringer. The rest of us also tried to look at the puzzle, and another version appeared.
“Looks like many people can solve the puzzles in this vault at once,” Xiao Ming said.
“What we need to focus on is getting through here, not finding out all its secrets. At least not now.” I said. Then I turned my attention to the puzzle. It was three interlocking rings, with a gap in each of them. An inscription said that we must line up the runes on the rings to find out how to open the door. It seemed impossible, as the runes on the rings start and end at seemingly random points. The key was the gaps, but how?
“Here, give me the rings,” Cain said. “The Witherer taught me these runes. Remember, appearances can be deceiving”
As soon as he said that, the gate started opening. He hit on the password without having to decipher the runes. There was a set of stairs leading downwards, and a ladder leading up.
“I think we should go up,” Aliwarga said.
“If that is your first impression, then it should be the other way.” Cain replied.
“I was already accounting for that. This ladder looks like it’s going to collapse at any moment. The stairs only look much safer. In fact, there is an illusion covering an empty hole leading to a fall, who knows how far down,” Aliwarga replied. “The Rumbler taught me to see through illusions.”
“The people who built this place know better than to cover it with an illusion a channel can see through. It could be an illusionary illusion. Appearances can be deceiving, but the password never said they must be.” Xiao Ming said.
“Oh… why don’t we test the stairs? An illusion can’t cover up the fact that it is solid or not,” said Jasenko. “I’ll test it, that way if I fall, I can teleport right back.”
“Okay,” Cain replied.
Jasenko stepped on the stairs. He was safe, for now.
“You should lead the rest of the way,” Tyla said. “You can still come back, an--”
“No, I shouldn’t,” Jasenko said, appearing behind us.
The person on the stairs is an illusion, as the real Jasenko fell and teleported back.
“OK then, I guess we go up,” Xiao Ming said.
“Yeah. Under these illusions, there is a beast that will eat the people who fall through the stairs. I only just made it out.” Jasenko added. “Apparently it’s hard to teleport in freefall.”
We all went up the ladder. After climbing three hundred meters up, right under the ceiling, there was a small platform. Jasenko tested the platform with a foot, and it appeared solid. We all crowded on, still testing for illusions. There seemed to be nothing there, except for a wall on one side. Xiao MIng tested the wall, and there was a hole in it, about half a meter in diameter. Jasenko looked in the hole, but it seemed like it was just half a meter deep, with no unusual features. At that moment, though, the ceiling disappeared, and the ladder was rising, seemingly on its own power. Everyone rushed to grab onto the ladder, until Sequoyah fell through a new hole in the platform. Everyone tried to avoid the hole, but Tyla and Jasenko also fell through.
Everyone else managed to get on the ladder, and there was only barely room for three more people below us. Sequoyah caught the bottom rung, while seemingly standing on a pillar of air. Jasenko and Tyla both appeared barely above us. Jasenko looked up and saw the ceiling rising, bringing the ladder with it. Danichew pulled Sequoyah up so her feet were also on the ladder. Everyone caught their breath, and we waited for the ladder to take us wherever it would.
Jasenko started climbing, saying that this ladder won’t hold on forever, and that’s how long we would be here if we didn’t start moving. So everyone else started climbing as well. Jasenko was at the top, then Tyla, then Xiao Ming, Mrs. Brezek, Cain, Willard, me, Aliwarga, Danichew, and Sequoyah.
Without realising that the ladder wasn't holding on too well, Aliwarga slowly started to grow, but we all shut her down before the ladder could fall with us on it.
Jasenko warned us all about some illusionary rungs, but we reached the ceiling without much else happening. Jasenko, at the top, started poking around to find what we need to do next. He poked a specific place of ceiling at the top, and a staff fell out. Sequoyah managed to catch it, and when she did, it seemed to fall straight through her hand. Everyone was wondering, but she told us all she still had it, and that it was another illusion.
She passed it up to Jasenko, and he started inspecting it as well as he could while hanging off the ladder. He pressed one end of it, and the ladder started sliding back down an invisible guide. A few minutes later, as we passed the platform where the ladder had started rising, we saw the Whisperer and Witherer trying to find out its secrets. I waved as we came back down. They tried to get to the ladder, but it was coming down just far enough away that they couldn’t reach it.
Once we reached the bottom, Jasenko started tapping parts of the floor with the staff to test for illusions. The stairs appeared to be solid now, but as we descended, Jasenko kept checking, just in case. There were no fake stairs, but there were fake paintings with more large gaps in the wall behind them.
Sequoyah stuck the staff in one of the gaps, and it was grabbed by some mechanism, turned, and spat back out. The stairs behind us folded up, and we seemed to be trapped, as the stairs ended below us as well.
Jasenko took the staff, and tested the end of it. By tapping one end on the floor, though, he created a portal in the floor. He told us that he would go through, and if he didn’t return, we should attempt to go back to the first room with the ladder and stairs. He returned, but without the staff.
“That beast that I almost got eaten by last time, that’s what’s beyond the portal. It took the staff, but was crippled by it somehow. It couldn’t move, almost like it was knocked out. If we go quickly, then we can get past it.”
We all went through the portal, and landed in a dungeon. The beast Jasenko was talking about was even worse than he had said. The large, hairy creature had fourteen appendages that looked like the arms from a sweater. It was indeed incapacitated, but we still remained cautious. We saw the staff on top of the beast, but left it alone, in case removing it woke the beast up again. We went around the dungeon, trying to find a way out, but there didn’t seem to be one.
“So, are we trapped here with that… thing?” Danichew asked.
“It looks like it, but the Endbringer is here.” Jasenko replied.
“How do you know that??” I asked.
“The Witherer told me. Remember, the Witherer thinks I plan to betray you. They know more about this vault than all the other seven Creators put together. I got this information out of them, but only barely. Half of their information came from me, and half of ours came from them. So, here’s what we need to do…”
We took the staff back from the incapacitated beast, and twisted the staff. It came apart in two pieces. One of these was a spear, and the other is a hilt for a sword. We cut open a specific part of the wall with the spear, and it held the blade that went with the hilt. But before we put it on the hilt, we cut open another part of the wall, and it held a block of sealing wax.
“...Then, put a bit of wax inside the hilt, and then put the blade in it, so the wax can hold the two together. This is the new key to the Endbringer. And the vault should be…” He ran his hand along the wall, looking for something. “...here!”
Xiao Ming took the sword, and cut the wall open. Another staff came out, but it radiated power like nothing else had on the journey. It seemed to be the Endbringer.
“So, the Endbringer is the staff?” Aliwarga asked.
“Yes, but if we take it, the one who takes it drains everyone’s powers in the vicinity, except the person who takes it. So nine of us need to leave, while the other one takes the Endbringer.” Jasenko replied. “Also, this only happens once. It was another safeguard added when this place was built.”
“Well then, whom do we leave? I doubt it should be you, Jasenko, no offence, but then who?”
“I’ll take it.” said Tyla.
“OK then. How long should we wait before we come back?” Jasenko asked. “And where should we go? I can only teleport from inside this vault to another place inside the vault, so that’s a bit of a logistical issue.”
“If we go up above the ceiling, we should be safe from the Witherer and Whisperer, and as well, we’ll be able to tell how far they’ve gotten.” I said.
“How? Oh, you mean by the ceiling rising… that’s a good idea. Let’s go!” Xiao Ming said.
Without Tyla, Jasenko took the rest of us to… the ladder? We were supposed to go above the ceiling, but the Whisperer and Witherer had raised it up too high. They were above us slightly on the ladder, and the ceiling was still rising.
“Oops.” Jasenko said. “Looks like--”
He was cut off by Danichew frantically waving one arm and pointing up at the two Creators. He then told us all we could talk, but needed to be quiet.
“I’ve put a soundproof bubble around us, but it doesn't work all that well. So stay quiet.”
Jasenko jumped back in, whispering, “Well, they don’t know how to get up to the ceiling. Or they can’t, and they need to face different challenges. So, when we can go back, we know that they won’t be in the dungeon.”
We waited. Jasenko said that the draining effect would dissipate after a few minutes, and we could go back to the dungeon. The beast’s arms had all fallen off, due to the Endbringer’s draining. Tyla had the Endbringer safely, and now all we needed was to go back to Earth and convince the remaining seven Creators that there really was a threat. It seemed like the crisis was mostly over…

PART 3
We returned to find that time was different in the vault. Four days had passed on Earth, and there was supposed to be a meeting of the nine Creators with Jasenko. We knew that there would be concern if the Whisperer, Witherer, and Jasenko didn't show up, so at least one of us needed to go there to explain the situation. Jasenko could teleport, but all powers are less in our home world. And we knew that the council was unlikely to believe just one or two channels, so we all needed to get there. Jasenko told us that he is from eastern Europe, and his meeting was in Prague. So we all needed to get from a Polynesian island to almost the other side of the world in less than a day. It was coming up on dusk here, which meant that it was almost sunrise in Prague. And the meeting was typically at noon. So, we needed to get around 18 000 kilometers in six or so hours. Less if we went straight through the Earth, but that’s not really possible.
“Has anyone else here been to Prague before? It’s easier to travel there if you’ve been there before,” Jasenko asked.
“I have,” I said. “I travel a lot.”
“Me too,” said Tyla. “I’m from England, so it’s not that far away.”
Jasenko thought for a minute. “Well, I can take all three of us there, then come back for one other person. But that’s all I can take. Can anyone else get there with their own powers?”
“If Xiao Ming comes with me, we can both go straight through the earth,” Willard said. “I can get through the Earth, and Xiao Ming can shield both of us from the heat, right?” He looked at Xiao Ming as he said this, waiting for a reply.
“I can do that, but it depends how fast you can get us through. I can’t hold a shield for two people for long.”
“Don’t worry, I can get us through pretty fast. You learn quickly when you can only go as far as you can hold your breath,” Willard replied.
“Ok then,” Jasenko said. “Can anyone else make it? Sequoyah, could you use the wind to fly somehow?”
“Not for that far I couldn’t!”
Mrs. Brezek reminded everyone that she could bring herself, as the global channel can channel the Vanisher and transport herself. “But before you ask, I can’t bring anyone else. I can channel all the Creators, but more weakly than their dedicated channel.”
“Well, I think seven should be enough to make the Council listen. But if anyone else can get there, try.” With that, Jasenko took me and Tyla to Prague. Since Xiao Ming and Willard had left a couple minutes ago, they rocketed out of the Earth just a few seconds after we arrived. Jasenko left again, and came back with Cain. Mrs Brezek showed up at around the same time. And now, we had nothing to do but wait. I misestimated the time, and it’s closer to noon than I had thought, but we still had four hours.

Three and a half hours later, we found where the meeting actually was. Sequoyah and Aliwarga managed to fly over, with Aliwarga growing Sequoyah’s powers. So now we had nine channels, and needed to convince the council, who then showed up. And the Witherer and Whisperer had also arrived on time, despite being so far behind in the vault.
As we planned, Jasenko started by treating this like it was a normal council meeting. He greeted the nine Creators, and they greeted him. Then, the Toppler asked if anyone had any grievances. Jasenko said yes, that the Witherer and Whisperer had attempted to steal the Endbringer. The Witherer and Whisperer brought out what must be a copy of the Endbringer, and the Witherer said, “We weren’t trying to steal it, but protect it from little kids who don’t know what they’re messing with. We--”
“Does anyone have proof of this?” asked the Echoer.
“No, no one can have proof because it isn’t true!” replied the Witherer.
I stepped out. This wasn’t going according to plan, but neither was the Witherer and Whisperer showing up.
“My proof is this. I heard the Witherer and Whisperer planning to steal the Endbringer, and use it to take domination over Earth. They will use it to keep the rest of you imprisoned, and the Earth will fall into chaos. But their plan won’t work. We have the Endbringer.”
“See, we were protecting it from kids who didn’t know what they were doing. You can’t have the Endbringer -- oh.”
Tyla stepped out, holding the Endbringer.
“Well, I think that we can have the Endbringer, protecting it from Creators that don’t know what they’re doing!” Tyla interrupted. “We know you were trying to steal this, and we stopped you. We wouldn’t have taken the Endbringer if you hadn’t attempted it first. And before you get any more ideas, remember - if one Creator dies, then their world is destroyed.”
“So, let me get this straight,” the Echoer said. “Nine of ten channels claim that the Witherer and Whisperer were attempting to reclaim the Endbringer. One claims that he heard the Witherer and Whisperer plotting to reclaim it. One channel actually reclaimed the Endbringer. And both accused Creators still claim innocence. Did I miss anything?”
“That about sums it up,” Tyla said.
“I can get the other channel so he can also say what happened. As well, it would be a good idea to talk to him separately, so we know that they aren’t lying.” said the Vanisher.
The Vanisher vanished, and came back with Danichew. They talked, and the Vanisher said that his story matched ours.
“Something else to consider is that most channels would not go against their Creator,” said the Toppler. “Both Cory and Cain agree with this story, accusing their Creators. This leads me to think that their story is true.”
“But -- but-- but--” the Witherer stuttered. “We -- him--”
“Oh, just shut up. We’re caught, and it’s your fault,” the Whisperer angrily replied. “Also, you sound like a motorboat.”
“Why are you--” the Witherer tries to say, but the Echoer cuts him off in a soundproof bubble.
“Now the only question is what to do with them. Imprisoning them won’t work, we know this now. And if we destroy them, this world will be destroyed,” said the Stabilizer
“If we destroy them, how long will it take for Earth to be destroyed?” asked Tyla.
“About a day, why?” answered the Incinerator.
“This is why!” Tyla replied, as she used the Endbringer to drain the Whisperer’s power. “We can transport everyone to a new world before the old one is destroyed. We have a Whisperer, now… Cory, catch!”
I caught the Endbringer, and drained the Witherer. “We have a Witherer too, now.”
As the old Witherer and Whisperer crumbled into a pile of dust, Tyla, as the new Whisperer asked, “So, how do we create a new world?”
“Well first, we need to be in an empty part of space…

EPILOGUE
“Now, don’t worry, we managed to get everyone off the old planet, Earth, onto the new one in time. The Eroder chose a new channel, Cain became my channel, and Tyla chose her first channel. Mrs. Brezek stayed the global channel, until her century was up, another 15 years. Jasenko and the Vanisher moved almost everything of importance to this new world, Terra. And now, we are in the second century of this world. And you are my second channel.”

Currently working on a novel-length sequel. Tell me what you think of this one and what ideas you have for the sequel please!

Sort:  
 4 years ago 

Thanks for this story @one00beep!! I suggest you use some pictures, so it's easier to read long texts! But, great writing!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 60607.86
ETH 2620.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52