BOOK REVIEW 📚 | Totto- Chan by Tetsuko Kuroyonagi

tottochan_english_book_1514807099_87bed7cd.jpg
Source

Reading is my main hobby since my childhood. It's difficult to select an exact book as my favourite because every book I read so far gave me so much things to my life .

I selected the book Totto Chan-The little girl at the window written by Japanese Author Tetsuko Kuroyonagi In 1981. It was translated into different langauges all around world and it's a best selling children's novel. Mrs Dorathy Britn translated it in to English in 1982

About the Author

This book is written by Japanese Author Tetsuko Kuroyonagi who is the protoganist of the story. It contains about the time she spend at her school in Tomo.
Sosuku Kobeyashi is the Principal of the wonderful school in Tomo. The speciality of the school is build in train compartments. Whole story is based on her real life experiences as a student there.

About the Story

Totto chan is the author's childhood name. She continuously get rejected from schools because of her mischievous behaviours . Teachers misuderstood her talkativeness and curiosity. so that her parents have to visit her school frequently.

Meanwhile Totto Chan enters the school of Tomo which is the turning point of her life. Principal Kobayashi follows a different method of education in school where he gives total freedom to the students to learn what they like in the way they like.

Totto chan find different students with different abilities and she make friends there too. Her interest towards learning improved because of the freedom she enjoyed in the school. It's because of the wonderful teacher Mr. Kobayashii

I would point out some different things students enjoyed there according to Mr Kobayashi's teaching..

students are instructed to bring foods from
Mountain and sea

It's because to provide a balanced nutrition to students.
Mountain- vegetables,meat,fruits
Sea - fish , seaweed

Field trips to enjoy nature/ night camps

Gifting winners of the sport day with vegetables

Mr Kobayashi follows different methods of teaching to make the learning process more interesting.His main theory is naturalism. He teaches not only facts but also to live.

In 1945 during the second world war school of Tomo got distroried by a bomb attack without remaining a single sign of the school.

At the end of the book it's mentioned that all the students ended up being successful in their life and carrier. Author Tetsuko Kuroyonagi became a famous actress in japan.
She allocated a part of income from the book for charity.

Sinhala translation of the book

PicsArt_03-04-05.32.14.jpg

My view

I got this book in 2007 for the first time. This book inspired me a lot as a student. Learning with freedom is a privilege of a student and also teaching students in the best way is a responsibility of a teacher. As I'm a teacher traine this book is inspiring me as a lot even now. I need to see my students learning with much freedom in their mind and discover their inner abilities.
I recommend this book for everyone specially students to read . I can't remember how Many time I exactly read it within these 14 years. I never get bored of reading it.

Thank you so much @belenguerra @writingnreviews @fendit for organising this contest. I enjoyed writing this article.

cc - @steemcurator01
@steemcurator02

Thank you so much.

Sort:  
 3 years ago 

I loved your review!! Thanks a lot, dear friend!!

Thank you so much 😊.

You have been upvoted by @besticofinder,A Country Representative from SRI LANKA. we are voting with the Steemit Community Curator @steemcurator07 account to support the newcomers coming into steemit.

Follow @steemitblog for the latest update on Steem Community and check the ongoing contests : Check here

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64058.80
ETH 3150.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99