Snow Walk

in Writing & Reviews3 years ago

source
photo-1487782310695-ed8583618566.jpeg

The snow was falling on us when we were coming back from the bakery store this morning. Ruth was playing with the snow when we got home. My apartment has only one window showing the view outside. From the window I can see the snow on the walls of the building close to me.
If you looked up outside the window, you could also see the clouds and sky.

We followed through the back door were l can throw the dirt out. We got to the back door and opened the door, the snow I saw outside me me to remember that my boots has no grip and they were old.

I told Ruth to be careful while going down the last stairs because it was covered with snow. I was thinking we were go to slip down the stairs. We made it down to the back door, I disposed the dirt and turned back for a view.
The snow covered some many things outside including wooden chairs outside.

I was still a little boy walking through the snow under walls and wooden back porches. We decided to go get yogurt and bakes at the bakery store about some blocks away from home.

We walk down the Cyber Road. The roadsides were clean due to the snow removal machine cleaned the tracks. We walk with ease from one block to another. But some road tracks were not the same. Right on the corner of Manny a snow plow slows down as the driver driving the snow removal saw us walking. We moved ahead through the winter obstacles course of the snow walls.

We were half way to the store Ruth scolds me.

“But dad you said the store was close by”
“How many blocks left for we to get there”
“Please dad hold me, I'm feeling cold”

I replied
“Be strong baby, we are almost there”

Ruth shouted at me once she saw the sign of the bakery shop.
“Dad dad I can see it, we are almost there.”

We got to the store bought some yogurt and some cakes. On our way back home, Ruth isn't up for the hike. She told me she doesn't want to walk anymore. A snow plow was turning the corner. The time the driver didn't slow down. Ruth was carried away and was looking straight at it, she probably got some snow slush in her face. I observed her coat isn't zipped up. I put down the yogurt and cakes on top of a wooden chair close to us.
“Are you OK?” I asked, as I got down on one knee and zipped her coat up.
A NYPD car pulls over right next to me. He lowered his window and ask, “Hello, are you guys OK?”
“Do you guys need a ride?”

Ruth and I were surprised, we looked at each other. I asked her if she wants to take a ride in the NYPD car. She looked at me shockly and said “No”.

The officer came out of his car and complains about the snow plow driver for splashing us. He opened his back door for us to enter the car. I tapped Ruth to go ahead. As I was closing the door behind us I recalled Ruth's first encounter with a police officer. As I sat in the back of the car. I remember a lot of things, I remember the trucks, I also remember people getting beat up. But the officer looks nice and kind, so I felt safe.

The officer helped Ruth to cross the slush between the road and the sidewalk. I thanked him and also pleaded for spilling some yogurt in the back seat. Me and Ruth open the door of my apartment and remove the slush off our boots.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 63064.93
ETH 2468.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55