The Nun (2018) Movie Review

in Writing & Reviews3 years ago

the  nun.jpg

src

The Nun is a film that was released in theaters in 2018, it was directed by Corin Hardy and the script written by James Wan who is known for having created The Conjuring or Saw, among other films. My main reason for watching The Nun is based on the fact that The Conjuring 3: The Devil Made Me Do It was already released and it made me want to watch all the movies in the universe of The Conjuring, why, you ask? Because I honestly have nothing better to do for my life right now and what better than to share my thoughts with all of you here. I'm talking about my experience watching The Nun since it is the first one in the chronology, I did read that in the movies are interesting connections and lore even though the movies work stand-alone, so it could be an interesting experience.

There is not much to talk about The Nun at an argumentative level, I mean, the story is about a murder that draws the attention of the Vatican and therefore they send certain people to investigate and that is how the story is built, the only attraction is which is based on "real events" but we all know that these real events are expanded untilt they become in filler. Some may wonder why these kind of films are still made when they are so mediocre and it is because they are very profitable, all the films in the universe of The Conjuring have a budget of 20-30 million and manage to collect more than 100 million at the box office, even 300 million, so if these types of films continue to exist, it is because of us that we continue to watch them, very ironic.

the nun 2.jpg

src

The Nun follows a plot path from point A to point B so it is very easy to follow, in short, it is one of those films that are made to disconnect from everything for a while, something that I did not like and that It was to be expected is that the characters feel more like plot devices whose only function is to make the plot keep going through illogical actions that no one would do, not satisfied with that, the characters lack some kind of charisma or personality that allows you to sympathize with them, meaning there is not a connection between the characters and the viewer, I can only say that only one character was given some depth but the rest as I mentioned before only serves as plot devices. I have to admit that I have a certain crush on Taissa Farmiga for having seen her performances years ago in American Horror Story so seeing her as the lead role was quite nice.

Many will know that it is due to The Conjuring that there was a tendency to make horror movies with jumpscares, people became addicted to them and the truth has been an evil that gave the horror genre a bad name mainly in cinema, so honestly I expected to see lots of jumpscares and I am pleased to say that this film does not have too many, that is, it has them but does not abuse them and I honestly see this as a more than positive point, the film tries not to depend too much on the jumpscares anymore turn to use the saturated tone of the environment to give a more terrifying air.

the nun 3.jpg

src

If I had to mention one good thing about The Nun apart from the fact that it doesn´t abuse jumpscares too much, it is that on an aesthetic level it is quite attractive, the film uses a moderately saturated color palette almost all the time, which gives a gothic and dark atmosphere, this kind of of recreation makes it more credible that The Nun happened many years ago, on the other hand, despite the fact that the design of the nun's demon seems very generic to me, to tell the truth it seems competent and that it complies with what the movie has to offer.

Being totally honest, The Nun is a forgettable and boring movie on general levels, but by The Conjuring standards it is a decent film that manages to be proficient at what it tries to show you, I have watched other movies from the universe of The Conjuring but I honestly don't remember anything about them so I can't compare them yet, however, it all comes down to what I commented above.

the nun 4.jpg

src

Sort:  
 3 years ago 


Thank you for sharing in Writing and Reviews! Your post has been selected for today as part of the Steemit Communities support Program.
We appreciate a lot your engagement with this community.

We’d love to hear more from you!!

WRITING & REVIEWS.png

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63464.16
ETH 3111.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98