Contagion (2011) Movie Review

in Writing & Reviews3 years ago

contagion 2.jpg

src

Don´t ever watch Contagion, worst mistake of my life. It´s funny the review begins like this but let me explain, I actually didn´t want to watch this film, I just did it because of a friend and I really regret it, I almost fell asleep watching this because it´s so bad, I think this is without doubt one of the most borings films I´ve ever watched and trust me, I´ve watched a lot of boring films, if you by any chance have read my reviews, you´ll know what I´m talking about. Well, I´m half-joking with this, but I still think it´s the worst movie I´ve watched this year so far, let´s begin from the begining.

Contagion is a film released at 2011 and directed by Steven Soderbergh, Contagion is about the beggining and rise of a deadly virus that causes a pandemic, starting with a random woman that was in a bussiness trip in Hong Kong. When you think about it, this film actually sounds interesting because of its premise because of the pandemic context we are living today in the world so it´s not that bad to watch a film about a pandemic situation but the whole movie has a lot of flaws and mistakes that make it collapse, I´ll talk about some of them in order not to make this thing too long.

contagion 3.jpg

src

I think one of the worst points of this film is that it doesn´t know in what direction to go, meaning the whole movie loses itself in a lot of subplots which I´m gonna be honest, are absolutely boring, though, I´ll admit Contagion has a good worldbuilding, the movie gives you the enough information to know what is going on, which is the virus that is destroying the society and even take time to actually explain the virus and how it even exists in the first place, you can watch how the world is getting destroyed and how society is becoming insane because of the pandemic situation but sadly, I´d dare to say that´s the only good thing about Contagion.

The reason why the subplots are boring is mainly because of the characters of the film, they are boring and the movie doesn´t ever give you a reason to worry about them or even loving them, I´m not expecting characters with a big depth but at least I wanted to see an effort and they couldn´t do it, this wouldn´t be a big issue to me but if the movie is trying to make you watch subplots that around those characters so don´t expect me to get interested when the movie didn´t make an effort to make its characters likeable, there are actually some interesting characters on the movie but Contagion likes to do that they don´t exist in the first place.

Contagion has a really bad pacing and this is remarkable since the movie lasts around two hours, the films feels so slow at the pacing, somehow it felt that they didn´t know how to make the movie longer so they added a lot of filler situations which makes worst the fact that both characters and subplots are extremely boring, nothing interesting happens in the film so far, sometimes the film makes an effort to make another subplot but it feels like Contagion forgets about it and it never gets mentioned, there are actually some plots in Contagion that are introduced and later the film acts like that didn´t happened.

contagion 4.jpeg

src

Sort:  
 3 years ago 


Thank you for sharing in Writing and Reviews! Your post has been selected for today as part of the Steemit Communities support Program.
We appreciate a lot your engagement with this community.

We’d love to hear more from you!!

WRITING & REVIEWS.png

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59527.28
ETH 2462.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49