The Interview Showcase #108: Nigerian Architecture Student & Blogger Shares Insights

in Hot News Community11 days ago (edited)



Hello people of Steem and Steemit,

It's a new week, welcome to the 108th edition of “The interview showcase...." and my 32nd show for 2024.



If you are new to this page, this lifestyle program has many educational values. A weekly interview of users in the blog concerning some trending topics on the Steemit platform. And tips that can help other Steemians to progress positively and help boost the Steem’s growth.

It will help you to get to know more about Steemians around the globe and even Steem and Steemit itself.



I take time to look at some of the most important topics in the blockchain and have a chat/call with Steemians who have a greater idea about those topics.

They also share some tips that can help other users understand the blockchain and correctly use it. Sometimes they seek valuable suggestions here to help them solve some of their challenges.


@lusciouslucy's property


Meet @lusciouslucy, a bright and ambitious architectural student from Nigeria's University of Uyo! We met last week when she stopped by my shop for some electronics components, and I was impressed by her enthusiasm for her craft and blogging on Steem. And I thought it would be nice to support her Steemit journey. This week, I'm excited to share our conversation with you - please join me in welcoming her to the show!



Ubongudofot
: Hi Lucy, welcome to my show...could you give a brief introduction about yourself?

🔶Lusciouslucy : Hi thank you for having me on your show I'm honored. Well I'm more of a reserved person. I love my quiet space. As a critical thinker, It gives me time to think and plan. I can also be chatty around people I'm comfortable with.



Ubongudofot
: When did you join Steemit?

🔶Lusciouslucy : I joined Steemit sometime in June this year. Then on the the 21st of June @manuelhooks gave a proper introduction and I made my achievement 1 post. It was fast but interesting. Within few minutes I had written everything and ready to post. We even used ceiling board to write for the verification picture. It was funny and interesting.



Ubongudofot
: So far, how have you been coping on the blog and how have you been incorporating Steem ?

🔶Lusciouslucy : It's not been easy, it's not bad either. I check what other people are doing, ask my mentor questions, check for interesting contest, task my mind to come up with something edifying. Check the pinned post on newcomers community for guidelines. Its really helpful.



Ubongudofot
: Outside Steem, what else do you do?

🔶Lusciouslucy : I'm a student, studying Architecture in the University. I love designing and construction looking forward to being a professional architect. I also sew female dresses as a means of earning. Still because of passion.



Ubongudofot
: As a newbie, what has been your challenge?

🔶Lusciouslucy : Knowing the type of post that is quality, having friends to invite to contests, applying markdown styles. I'm yet to discover many things on the platform.



Ubongudofot
: Which program do you enjoy most in the blog?

🔶Lusciouslucy : I enjoy reading people's post on dairy games, I've joined a few contest and I'm following the classes on Electronic Academy. Electronics is not my field, but I see prospect in it. Imagine building a prototype with lighting. I'll be so glad. I've not really gotten it right with the tasks, but I'm not giving up.



@lusciouslucy's property


Ubongudofot
: Last month, I noticed you published a post about "mansonry can you elaborate on that?

🔶Lusciouslucy : Yes. I got inspired to publish the post after I went to a site to assist with Masonry work. It seemed strange to the workers to see a female opt for the job. The guy I worked with said he was encouraged by my choice. And I thought to publish about masonry to create more understanding and visibility on the profession. Masonry goes beyond bricklaying/block laying. It requires technical know how and expertise as well as an understanding of a design plan. Having a basic knowledge about this skill can help with minor maintenance around the house amongst others. This profession should not be gender driven only. If there's an interest to create and build, explore it..



Ubongudofot
: How long have you been practicing architecture?

🔶Lusciouslucy : I realized I had passion for architectural design since high school. I can say I started creating designs since my first year in senior school. Though I was focused on residential buildings. Then I proceed to the university and I've studied the course for 3 years now, added to the 3 years I spent in senior school that is 6 years now and counting.



Ubongudofot
: Can you walk us through your design process?

🔶Lusciouslucy : In creating a suitable design, a lot is considered. I'll try to list them accordingly.
First the land for the proposed design. Designs should be made in consideration to the size and location in the site.

Going to the design proper. A brief is very important. From the client's brief, the architect knows what to include in the design and also aids to develop his own brief. We also consider anthropometric data, spatial analysis, Space Relationship Matrix, design considerations and analysis, furniture analysis amongst others to determine the suitable dimensions for each space. Bubble diagram and functional flow makes sketching the plan easy before the main design starts. The process is usually very tasking but if followed carefully, the design will not only be aesthetically appealing but functional too..



Ubongudofot
: How do you balance creativity with technical skills?

🔶Lusciouslucy : In design, the most important thing is functionality. While the mind may explore complicated yet beautiful designs, due considerations is given to build-ability. Incorporating creativity and technical skill makes it possible to create a design that is not just appealing but functional and neither boring too.



Ubongudofot
: Can you tell us about a project you worked on that you're particularly proud of?

@lusciouslucy's property

🔶Lusciouslucy : I made a design of a residential building after I finished higher School. It was so detailed but I lost the design.

@lusciouslucy's property

Another design I was so proud of was my design of a fashion house for sewing as well as selling. I could see myself in the design especially as I sew too. It felt like I just designed my own fashion house. The façade mimicked the shape of a bow tie. I chose a bow because it it a universal fashion icon used by both gender for adornment.



Ubongudofot
: Where do you see yourself in five years, and how does this role fit into your career goals?

🔶Lusciouslucy : In five years, I should get all my certification and start practicing as a professional architect. I'll also love to explore the architecture of other countries such as Italy. If possible visit places with architectural landmarks.



Ubongudofot
: When is your graduation, perhaps Steem could celebrate with you?

🔶Lusciouslucy : Around this same month next year I should be working on my final year design Which takes a month or 2 to be finalized. It would be an honor celebrating with Steem. I'll document the process when the time comes.



Ubongudofot
: Are we expecting any initiative from you soon?

🔶Lusciouslucy : Yes, something is coming.



Ubongudofot
: What's your pet peeves?

🔶Lusciouslucy : Abusive words that hurt someone. Regardless of the situation avoid putting someone down with our words



Ubongudofot
: Whose blog do you enjoy reading?

🔶Lusciouslucy : I've not found a favorite yet I go through different post from different communities I belong with. I pick interest in posts from other newcomers like myself... There are blogs that will soon become my favorite with time.



Ubongudofot
: If you were to visit a country for a tour, where would that be?

🔶Lusciouslucy : Italy, Spain or Rome.



Ubongudofot
: As an architect, what advice would you give to people who wants to invest in real estate?

🔶Lusciouslucy : Real estate doesn't depreciate. It's an investment that can be passed on. So take your time, contact a proficient architect, design to your comfort and it's yours. Get your necessary land documents to avoid scam.



Ubongudofot
: What's your favorite music?

🔶Lusciouslucy : I'm not really particular about genre if music so I listen to everything. But currently I'm fascinated by the song Ogechi by a Nigerian artiste Davido.



Ubongudofot
: Which user/users will you like me to feature on the interview showcase?

🔶Lusciouslucy : Can you please feature @manuelhooks. He's a great mentor always available to assist. He publishes good content in the platform and he's dedicated. I'm sure we'll enjoy knowing more about him from your interview show.


Ubongudofot
: Sure, I will, he is on my list.



Ubongudofot
: Do you have any message for the Steemit team?

🔶Lusciouslucy : Thank you for the Blockchain system that allows people to earn from sharing their knowledge. And get to discover more about people and their country..



Ubongudofot
: What can you say about the Interview Showcase?

🔶Lusciouslucy : It interesting initiative. A great way to connect with different Steemians and learn more about them. Keep up. Thank you for having me in your show.



Ubongudofot
: Thank you very much Lucy for your time, it was nice to have you on my show.

To my audience

I hope you enjoy the Show...? Do you think I am missing something? Please feel free to tell me, let's make this better daily. Share your suggestions with me, I'll so much appreciate it.

Do you have a particular topic you would like me to feature? Is there a user you would like me to feature? Please contact me (language) is not a barrier and all will be handled successfully.

If you are interested in being one of my guests, please don't hesitate to contact me any time soon through my details: Discord: ubongudofot#9499

Telegram: Contact Me

Please note that users/guest's privacy or confidentiality would be considered first before posting, thank you.

See you next week for another interesting show, don't miss it.




The Previous Shows:

Click here to read my previous Shows..

Cast a vote to these Interview Showcase sponsors

img
@pennsif.witness

img
@moecki

xpilar.witness

Sort:  

Thank you for hosting me on your show sir. It was really a pleasure interacting with you and your show is amazing. You're really doing a wonderful job on this platform.

 9 days ago 

Thank you Lusciouslucy for your commendation. It was nice seeing you for the first time and it was also interesting to have you on my show.

Hope you could utilize your passion here and make a good progress.

 11 days ago 

Wonderful interview session. Keep it up friend.

 9 days ago 

Thank you

 11 days ago 

Hi @lusciouslucy nice to meet you through this interview showcase. You have a wonderful skill, please keep it up. You won't regret your stay here in steemit, I like your motivation and zeal.

Thank you ma'am


Hello there, you have posted a great quality post and we are happy to support you, stay up with good quality publications

Curated by : @enamul17

 11 days ago 

Hi @enamul17, thanks for the support.

 7 days ago 

Hello Dear how are you? Hope you feel good. @ubongudofot i am student of Bs Operation Theater Technology and my Last research start topic to conduct the parents from parents of children before their surgery my teacher recomend to conduct the in depth Interview so please help me to this act . I am waiting you response

Screenshot_20240810_230535.jpg

This is my teacher opinion about interview please help me and conduct my interview

 4 days ago 

Hi @huraira50 sorry I noticed your message late. Your message isn't that clear. But if you are talking about parent filling your questionnaire, maybe you can check parents in the blog as I am not really fitting under this category yet.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.14
JST 0.028
BTC 58471.44
ETH 2587.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44