Contest !! Introduce my Village by @newtonb

in Hot News Communitylast year (edited)

Hello everyone , this is me coming to you with an amazing post about my village. All thanks to @cryptoloover for his creativity on interesting contests. Thank you for yet another privilege again to be creative and this time it is to show case our rich villages and cultural background.

20230210_135321.jpg
Source edited with pixel lab.

General Introduction

So The truth is that all of us came from somewhere (roots) irrespective of where we are now, we all originated from our roots (villages). And that roots is what defines us and identify us amongst other people in the world. thanks again to the organizer of this contest for seeing the need to talk about where we come from (our village).

So I will take you straight into this post and I will be keeping everything simple so that you can understand better. And so in other to do that I will like to use some of the points the organizer listed in other to guide me on this journey. Please follow along with me and stay tuned.

But Before I start I will like to introduce my village to you in a few sentences. The name of my village is Fundong from a great tribe called Kom. We hail from the grass land and mountainous region of the North west of Cameroon. We are very special and very productive as well. Our culture is very rich and we are mostly known all across Africa and the world at Large for the deity of this land by the name a-fo-a-Kom. You can make use of your Google search engine and read amazing and mind blowing facts about the kom villages.

Show your village in 3 pictures.

Makenene_market.jpg
My village Market source

Boyo_hills_of_Bamenda,_Cameroon_06.jpg
The Boyo hills of Fundong source

The_Bamenda_Industrail_Zone_-_panoramio.jpg
Beautiful landscape of my village source

So above are three photos of my village which is the Kom tribe precisely the Fundong village situatated precisely in the Boyo division of the North west region of Cameroon.

What is your favourite food in village?

Okay in my village my favorite food is the traditional dish of my village which is "fufu and huckleberry and chicken" that is the traditional meal of my people and it's very delicious and special to us. Anywhere you see the Kom indigene you can identify him/her with this special dish because they like it so much no Matter how far they are from home they must make sure to always have it atleast once in a while. Below are photos of how it looks when served

IMG_20230122_140327_622.jpg
How it is served nowadays

But taking you back to the roots it is believed that the Kom traditional dish is very special and as such very sacred and was being prepared with special ingredients only. And anything added other than that wouldn't be the dish again and would defile the definition of the dish. The chicken that is served in this dish is prepared specially and only with basic ingredients such as salt and red oil (palm oil). And it traditionally served in plantain leaves to give it an unresistant aroma and taste.

IMG-20201228-WA0007.jpeg
This is the traditional way of preparing the chicken

IMG-20201228-WA0026.jpg
As you can see this is how the dish looks like. Now papers are used to tie the cornfufu but traditionally it is usually the plantain leaves used. The fufu here is simply dried corn that has been grounded to flour and cooked until it becomes a thick paste.

How is life in the village?

The life in the village I must say is very interesting. Because there are natural environments that I can relate with such as hills, rivers, forest animals and others. It makes it very peaceful to live in the village, and also there is always food😁 in the village since most of the activities there is agriculture.

Why is the life of village better than city?

For me I think life in the village is better than that in the city . Because food is cheaper, house rent is cheaper, there is natural sources of drinkable water, i have access to natural resources. I have the previledge to connect to my roots.

I will not end this post without show casing our traditional regalia which defines us every where and makes us unique.

Togho_03.jpg
Source
Just so you know that this regalia has been used so many times on different platforms and occasions to represent my country on international activities like sports and other intercontinental activities because of its uniqueness. It is also used to identify most people from the north west region of Cameroon as a whole and not only those from my village.

Thanks to all for reading!!

Special thanks and regards to the Admin @fantvwiki and the moderator @ubongudofot of this community for allowing this contest.

I will also like to invite @bongk @canisia @muluhpenn and @cicil to take part in this prestigious contest. God bless you all.

Sort:  
 last year (edited)

Dear @newtonb Thank you for taking part in my contest. Your Post Information has been given below:


Post InformationStatus
Plagiarism Free
Bot Free
#Steemexclusive
Club Status#club5050
Burnsteem25 (25% to @null)
PicturesNot copyright free ❌
Voting CSI5.2

Thanks, have a nice day. your pictures are not copyright free I request you to change your pictures.

 last year 

Thank you so much for your review and observations the post has been edited.

Your post has been rewarded by the Seven Team.

Support partner witnesses

@seven.wit
@cotina
@bangla.witness
@xpilar.witness

We are the hope!

 last year 

Thank you

Hello @newtonb great write up. Its so thoughtful of you to invite us to participate in this contest, but my brother you have already😆. This post will be seen by anyone that searches about your village. Reading between the lines your post is perfect. I haven't been to fundong before but i know about 4 words of the dialects there because one of my close friends back in secondary school was from there. Your tradition is known by every Cameroonian, even if its not their traditional meal, corn and huckleberry berry does very well and almost all Cameroonians know it. You're blessed that it turned out to be your traditional dish. What you said about hownits cook is also true. I once visited my friend who was from the same willage with you and they were they prepared the food was different from all that i ever ate. To some one who doesn't know, if he eats maybe direct from the village or from some one very traditional, he might wonder how you guys can prepare huckleberry with no tomatoes other spices but with oil and salt , and it still taste very sweet. The Fundong people are also known to be strong and hardworking. They alway say a man who gets married to a lady from there and the closer villages around there ,has found treasure. Well thanks for sharing this post, theres much to say but i will stop here. Stay safe brother🙏

 last year 

Waow this is awesome brother. You have really said a lot here, so true , and I'm even surprised that you know a lot about my village though you're not from there. It really shows that it's a place to be for real. thank you so much my brother for this beautiful comment. God bless you 😁🙏

Very interesting write up!!
The meal look appetizing. Keep up!!

 last year 

Thank you so much @canisia😊

Your blog is very interesting to read. Good luck with the contest.

 last year 

Thank you so much @senehasa you have an amazing page as well. Thank you for reading through my work and I wish you success as well in the contest

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64573.45
ETH 3441.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51