Travel contest 4th edition - Pike in foil

in Steem-Travelers3 years ago

Hello, my friends on Steem


This is my answer to the task of the Travel contest 4th edition by @hive-111293 (Steem-Traveler).

10% of the publication rewards from this post go to the development of the @hive-111293 (Steem-Traveler).


When I go fishing alone in the summer, even if for two days with an overnight stay on the river, I usually take a bottle of water and some light snack. At best, I take boiled chicken eggs, tomatoes and cucumbers.
But when I go fishing with friends in the company or with my son, we cook our food in the evening on a campfire. Usually it is always fish soup made from fresh fish. Plus, it still requires potatoes, onions, carrots and a little salt.
But I love mobility and I don't like extra items for fishing. Cooking fish soup still requires a pot. And plus, we usually make tea. That's another plus one bowler.
I found a replacement for fish soup. I'm baking fish in foil!


Last summer, my nephew and I went fishing with rafting on the Vyatka River downstream from the village of Shestakovo to the village of Steklozavod. We spent 2 nights on the river and cooked our food on a campfire. The first night we had a banal dinner of meat moose stew.
And on the second night we cooked fish soup from the head and tail of the pike, and we baked the main part of the pike in foil with potatoes, onions and carrots.
water_70.jpg


I didn't want to cook fish soup, but my nephew reasoned sensibly - where are we going to put the pike's head?
Do you know what kind of pike he caught? More than three kilograms. Do you see, friends, what a big head the pike has? That's why we made fish soup.
water_65.jpg


And here is the pike itself, which the nephew took out. So it's not for nothing that I taught him fishing and provided him with gear.
water_55.jpg


water_73.jpg
This is the main dish of that fishing trip.
My nephew didn't really believe that something good would come out of my fantasies. He had never made such a meal in his life.
But when I opened the foil and the aroma from the fish went to the whole beach, he realized that he was wrong.
After tasting a piece of fish, he said that it was much tastier than fish soup.
I used all the same ingredients as for the soup - potatoes, onions, carrots. Fish and vegetables were cooked in their own juice. Even the amount of salt was just right.
I added a little black pepper and that's it. I didn't put any more herbs, so as not to interrupt the taste of the fish.
Of course, the fish was very large and I barely had enough of the amount of foil that I took with me.


water_83.jpg
In the morning we finished the rest of the fish and made tea. We refilled our thermos with tea and went to the final point of the journey.


Thanks for attention.

I wish you all good luck!

And I will be glad to have your attention to my posts again.

@apnigrich

Sort:  

Уютно выглядит

 3 years ago 

Уютно? ;) Особенно бутылочка сзади.

amazing captures! I am really salivating, hehe.
impressed by your knife-size a lot.
before I looked into your post I was sure I have came up with something decent, but now... it just looks bleak, in comparison with yours fat images!

 3 years ago 

Oh, bro... you made me laugh.
It's my nephew's knife.
I usually use small Finnish knives.
The nephew is a hunter. Moose, Bear.

a nice gadget. might be appropriate for a moose, heh. never saw once in my lifetime, myself...

 3 years ago 

I fitted my son with a small Finnish knife for fishing and a Cossack-type machete.
He's a hunter, but for birds. Good for general health. It winds kilometers through forests and swamps.

This is a great catch.
Your trip looks very pleasant,By enjoying fish from their own catch.
Great.
#travelers-say

 3 years ago 

Thanks for the comment 🙏

Baked fish in the foil - delicious
The publication - great
Photos, especially the last one - stunning. Really, it's a simple campfire and pot but it looks magical. Maybe because of the light? In Poland that moment right before the sunrise is called "złota godzina", "golden hour"

What I wanted to focus on though is that part:

"The first night we had a banal dinner of meat moose stew."

Moose is not banal for me :) never tried, never heard about the moose stew, and suddenly you turned on my curiosity about the taste of that meal. Is it popular in Russia? How would you describe the taste? I know that describing tastes is difficult in general, but please give it a try.

 3 years ago 

the meat bought in the store practically has no taste, because it is grown on compound feed. Every wild meat has its own taste, because animals and birds eat natural products, berries, herbs.
My nephew is a hunter. He goes moose hunting with his friends in the fall.
Many people, on the contrary, do not like wild meat. They are used to meat from the supermarket.
My son only hunts birds.

 3 years ago 

That looks really tasty. The last time I was on a fishing trip was like 12 years ago with my dad and grandpa. Your post makes me remember my family :D

 3 years ago 

Don't you like fishing?
And I love her very much.

Thanks for the comment

 3 years ago 

yes very much, when I was a child I used to go to the river a lot

 3 years ago 

What is in the way now?
I must admit, this year I was also very rarely fishing. Work interferes with fishing.

 3 years ago 

I was in the college and later working living in another city, now another country, i used to go with my dad.

 3 years ago 

I understood you.

Great story and beautiful images. The cooked fish looks very tempting. But my favourite one is the last picture because it unites feelings of camp fire and cooking on it, the smell of the smoke, and nice time at a river beach in summer.

My rating for this post is 10 out of 10. 🙂

a banal dinner of meat moose stew

😯

 3 years ago 

Thanks for the rating

Богатый улов! И аппетитно так всё.

 3 years ago 

Ужин в самый раз. На ужин и на завтрак. :)

Looks good!

 3 years ago 

👍👍👍

 3 years ago 

Excellent photographs. I loved them. Happy day! 🌞 Greetings 🌺.

 3 years ago 

Thanks 🙏🙏🙏

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 57112.10
ETH 2405.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.28