My Very First Trip: A Working Trip in India//club5050

in Steem-Travelers3 years ago

Greetings to all readers and authors of the wonderful Steem-Travelers community. In the new contest, I want to tell you about my first working trip.

DSC01091.JPG

As I have already written before, I have been traveling for a long time on music contracts as a singer and bass guitarist. When I was just starting out, I found an intermediary agency and went to work in another country for the first time in my life. This country was India, and I went there for a year.

Thinking about something and doing it are 2 completely different things. When I agreed to this contract, I didn't fully realize what it was like to go to a foreign country for a year. A week passes, the second one passes, you have already seen all the sights, but you realize that this is just the beginning. You still have to live and live here. Slowly life itself in another country, at first so bright and exciting, turns into a routine. You no longer live as a tourist, but as a local resident: you go to the store for sour cream and stand in line at a beer shop.

DSC00969.JPG

What do I remember most from this long long trip?

  • We lived in the city of Calcutta. It is the capital of Bengal. The food in all of India is very spicy, but Bengali cuisine is so spicy that it feels like you have fire in your mouth.At the same time, the food is very tasty.

DSC00934.JPG

  • Calcutta is a huge multi-million city. There are definitely many sights to see from the tourist's point of view. For example, this is the Victoria Memorial.

DSC00942.JPG

On the one hand, the building looks like the Capitol in the USA, on the other hand, it has a strong Indian flavor. And if you are in South-Eastern Asia for the first time, it strikes to the core!

  • Temples near Calcutta are also very exotic and fabulously beautiful. Here I want to photograph every element of the decor.

DSC00976.JPG

  • The contrast between wealth and poverty in Calcutta is colossal.On the one hand, many people live on the streets. On the other hand, there are luxury hotels, restaurants, shops. This is how, for example, a toilet in a golf club looks like.

DSC01407.JPG

  • We worked in a luxurious hotel. I sang and my friend Masha played the violin. Most of all, we were struck by the fact that only men danced. In fact, only men came to the bar. I don't mean women from Europe, but I'm talking about the local population. The fact is that Calcutta is located in the hinterland of India, it is not a tourist city, but an industrial one. Therefore, visitors to the bar where we worked, were mostly visiting merchants. Sometimes you could see how they arranged a men's disco.

DSC01079.JPG

A crowd of men dancing to our songs. It was both funny and very unusual. For example, in Russia such a situation is completely excluded. Men will never dance if there are no women in the hall.And here it is the norm.

  • A goat tied up on the central street of a huge city. Again, if we consider Russia or even Europe, it is difficult to imagine such a situation. And plus, this goat is very unusual. We do not have such breeds of goats. I stood and looked at the goat. And it looks at me. I wonder what it was thinking about at that moment.
    (The goat's photo is the first)

I can write a lot about India, but, unfortunately, I have to finish somewhere. I think I will have more opportunities to share with you my impressions about this wonderful, fantastic, unusual country and about my work there.

DSC01043.JPG

Thank you @hive-111293 for this contest! I really like the contest topics and the community as a whole!

10 % from this post goes to account-curator @hive-111293 . I wish it strength and growth!

I invite you to take part in the contest @greatketty @vlad26 . The terms of the contest are HERE

Sort:  
 3 years ago 

Hey,

Thank you very much for sharing your post in Steem-Travelers. We enjoyed reading it a lot :)

plagiarism-freeYES
#steemexclusiveYES
#club5050YES
Verified userYES
Bot-freeYES
 3 years ago 

And thank you for your work!

 3 years ago 

I can write a lot about India, but, unfortunately, I have to finish somewhere. I think I will have more opportunities to share with you my impressions about this wonderful, fantastic, unusual country and about my work there.

I'll be in expectation of the sights and sounds of India... Remember to include some dancing.
#travelers-say
 3 years ago 

Dancing actually is not my sphere))), only singing)

Thank you so much for sharing about your journey to India, as a singer, have a nice day.🤗👍🙏
#travelers-say

text (1).gif

text (3).gif

 3 years ago 

Thank you for your nice words!)

you're welcome🤗🙏

Living in a foreign country can be even more exciting than short trips. You have more time to see what's hidden at first - habits of the people, believes, you have a time to explore that extremely spicy cuisine (I would feel like in heaven there, I adore spicy food), you have a chance to learn about the advantages and disadvantages of living there. As long as the sour cream can be found in the shop, it's not that bad :D I miss the sour cream in Latin America... couldn't find it anywhere so am improvising by mixing regular cream with the lemon juice, not the same though ;)

Yes, the contrast between wealth and poverty... that's a big thing in all developing and less developed countries. Surely problem exists in well-developed nations as well but never reaches the same levels...

Thank you for sharing! Like always, quality premium. It's a pure joy to read your posts and, somehow, travel with you in that way.

 3 years ago 

Thank you for such a great comment! In fact I felt the same in India : I missed the sour cream. We ate in the restaurants of our hotel all the time but there was no sour cream. And it is a problem to find milk products in India 'cos Indians have some kind of lactose intolerance and I found sour cream only in one shop. Of course it was very different from the one we have in Russia. But still I ate it with a big spoon)))

#travelers-say
Thanks for sharing prior to this, I only had the movie view of India

 3 years ago 

Thank you for your comment)

Thanks for sharing this wonderful trip of yours, it's lovely
#travelers-say

 3 years ago 

Thank you for reading and commenting!)

Hola muy hermoso todo, la infraestructura en muy espectacular, el templo es como de película, y la cabra parece de otro mundo, es triste que exista tanta pobreza y que no haya ayuda de parte de los que tienen tanta riqueza.
Exito y Bendiciones.
#travelers-say

 3 years ago 

Thank you for your comment. Wealth and poverty are always together.

 3 years ago 

I so much enjoyed reading your stories.
I always wonder what it would look like to be a tourist butvto live in an entirely new. Country for a year. It takes a whole lot of courage and experience I admire you so much.
#travelers-say

 3 years ago 

Thank you! There is no courage, it is just work and the aspect of money:)

 3 years ago 

Money talks 😂😂

I would love to hear you sing some day.
It's good for one to know much about his/her Country.
You really travel a lot to be able to know much about India.
#travelers-say

 3 years ago 

Thank you for your comment!)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 63966.12
ETH 2753.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66