Goodbye Father Winter, it's time to leave!

in Steem4Bloggers6 months ago


Winter.jpg

It's in the slums
Cold frigid Father Winter reigns
Ending lives with his chilly wind

Cruel Winter's icy hands grab and land
On the poor souls in the countryside
Lord Frost's icy regime spreads fear all year
Done are all those who can't hide and prepare

Goodbye
Old man

We
Indeed
Need you no longer
The Lady of Spring
Ends your regime
RIP Father Winter


_a4b5ed4e-2f2d-4651-bb7e-db0c0d2b029a.jpeg.jpg sourceIf Father Winter arrives

In the countryside is where I live. No, not among snow-capped mountains but the harsh embrace of winter is a reality since an icy wind always blows where trees can hardly be found.
Year after year the wind howls and for me, just like all those single elderly, it's hard to stay alive and keep the old house built out of clay and straw warm.

Whether we people living here like it or not we are strong, weathered souls without or with wrinkled faces and a bad back. We are trying to battle the elements of winter, we are the survivors of Father Winter also known as "Father Frost". We sit in the dark, with or without candlelight wrapped in a blanket and enjoy a cup of hot tea or better a mug of hot cocoa, a real treat if made with milk and... We go to bed early. Winter is only good for long sleep.


_deb67de0-89ef-45fb-bf60-5daf46d221b2.jpeg.jpg sourceFather Winter's icy grip

When Father Winter with his icy grip arrives I am prepared. The entire summer he's in my mind. I need to buy and chop firewood, store enough food and check on the socks, scarves and hats plus take the extra blankets and winter coats out of the storage.
So far I'm satisfied, not too much ice, no snow blankets, just the cold seeping into every corner which makes the entire house suitable as a fridge and a great place for mice to survive the winter. I struggle to stay warm and my resources dwindle as Father Winter drags on. I wish I could hibernate it makes life so much easier and above all cheaper. No need to make a fire, cook or eat extra calories to stay warm, no lack of vitamins and energy.

Despite my wish to hibernate indoors, there is no escaping the cold.

With cold hands and feet, weary bones and joints, the weight of the season is felt most. I understand why the elderly try to escape and rather stay in the warm southern countries than try to survive another ice age or die because of the hungry winter. If you die around here it will take till spring before you'll be found unless the postman can arrive at your house and thinks there might be something wrong.


_7dd179f2-a9d2-4ecb-9b81-055ab173b80b.jpeg.jpg source Goodbye Father Winter, Hello Lady Spring

One sunbeam is a glimmer of hope, brings warmth and is the promise days are getting longer. The laundry can dry outside, I take walks in the sunlight instead of the fog. I can't wait till Lady Spring arrives and the world is green again.

I will never miss the cold, the ice or the snow I just want to enjoy the warm embrace of the sun and feel the energy inside me again.
Father Winter makes me slow so I can't wait for Lady Spring, to open all the windows and feel a warm breeze, to hear the birds sing. I'll wash the curtains, clean the house and remove the ashes of the winter fires which can even be found in the cupboards. I will be relieved every single day till... I start preparing for Winter and the whole circus starts again .


Pictures: bing.com
Header/Photogrid: Canva
29-2-2024
I am a mobile phone user only


PhotoGrid_1613071815865.png

This contest is hosted by @khursheedanwar

Invited to join are
@shiftitamanna @blackmedschn @eveetim @miswarofficiall @patudoh @ikwal @blessedlife

#steemexclusive #goodbye-winters #holland
#creativewriting #club5050 #kittywu

Sort:  
Loading...

💯⚜2️⃣0️⃣2️⃣4️⃣ This is a manual curation from the @tipu Curation Project.
Also your post was promoted on 🧵"X"🧵 by the account josluds

@tipu curate

Thank you very much @joslud
I wish you a great day.
🍀❤️

TEAM 1

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted through steemcurator04. We support quality posts, good comments anywhere, and any tags.
Curated by : @𝖾𝗅-𝗇𝖺𝗂𝗅𝗎𝗅



Thank you so much. It's appriciated.
A great day to you. 🍀❤️

 6 months ago 

Hi @wakeupkittty

I hope you are well, I have commented on many of your posts before, I love all your posts, I am very inspired by your work and you guys have done a great job. Yes and the pictures you put in the test are very attractive and what I have seen of your skins up are very good you are doing a great job and what you wrote about winter Yes, I really like your story about winter

@wakeupkitty, do you have Discord or Telegram?

Please kindly contact me on any of my channels below:

Discord: ubongudofot#9499

Telegram: Contact Me

I have something for you, thank you.

I have Telegram @wakeupkitty. I do not frequently use it. I'll see if I can find you. I hope hope it's not something unpleasant. ❤️

P.s. I added you.

Posted using SteemPro Mobile

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 60354.53
ETH 2608.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54