"My Favourite Emojis, Stickers, and Gifs"

in Steem4Bloggerslast year
I still feel flustered when I remember the first time I learned what an emoji is. That is because I learned about this new god of language quite late than my peers.


7 pexels-binti-malu-6970700.jpg
Copyright-free emoji picture from Pexel

It was 2012, I did not own a smartphone which many of my friends did and I did not use social media either, which was weird for a graduate student. However, my friends used to put weird signs and symbols with dots and brackets and D’s and P’s and 3’s etc. when they texted me in my button phone since 2010. I did not realize what those were and being a very shy and introverted person, I never managed to ask them what those were. I know it sounds pretty prehistoric, but that happened.

When I got my first smartphone in 2012, I learned what those strange dots and brackets meant, and I also understood how I did not quite get the meaning of the messages my friends sent me before. I realized that, though I behaved like a prehistoric fool who did not know any better, the world had ironically shifted to an ancient hieroglyphic type of

3 pexels-silver-screen-3508489.jpg
Copyright-free emoji picture from Pexel

language and to my horror I also realized that much of the time I missed the sarcasm and took many of the messages seriously, which were quite the opposite. Probably the moment can be perfectly described with the following emojis:

😅 Grinning Face with Sweat
🤣 Rolling on the Floor Laughing
😬 Grimacing face
🙄 Face with Rolling Eyes

Since then these have remained some of my favourite emojis too probably because a lot of things that happen in my life correspond to these expressions. Also when I am sarcastic, I use a winking face with tongue out😜. And who does not love the smiling face with heart eyes 😍 and the most common smiling faces 🙂 😊!

The emojis are now readily available in our devices, and everyone knows the basic usage system.

These tiny expressions along with our written communication has added value to our correspondence as we can imagine better what the other person is trying to say to us.

Also emojis are universal. They obliterate the language barrier among people who speak different languages. The emoji’s can also give us a certain kind of feeling of closeness with our loved one’s as the visual representation of the expressions gives us better imagination of what our loved ones are feeling. Ludwig Wittgenstein has said, "The limits of my language mean the limits of my world." How true is that for emojis, stickers, and gifs too. So I try to use them all the time. However, the way millennials and gen Z uses emoji, sticker and gif is entirely different. Often we millennials do not understand what gen z is talking about looking through their emoji choice. Many people often argue that new generation is forgetting the use of expressive language.

Capture.PNG
Screenshot of emojipedia homepage

However, I disagree to that. I think as the use of emoji and the meaning behind it is changing, it means that emojis are being used like a real language, which should always evolve. Though it gets frustrating at times as emojis together look mysterious to me when I cannot decipher them, it also challenges me to try and learn this new god of language. I am calling it god of language because anyone of any linguistic culture and any age can use it smoothly. It is good news for the older generations that the emoji language has become so ubiquitous now that there is emojipedia and emoji dictionary to help people like me out.

cat-ayasan.gif

Gif from tenor

Unlike emojis stickers and gifs are less shady. They mean what they stand for. I love cats in real life and like many people I love the cat stickers and gifs. My most favourite gif is this one with the sunglasses. The sass the cat has cannot be compared to anything. I use this gif a lot when chatting with my friends.

I am hopelessly a cat person and so my favourite sticker is also a cat sticker and that is simons cat. The big googly eyes of the cat always make me feel relaxed and it gives a feeling of cuddliness too.


2222.PNG
screenshot of Simons catfrom Facebook messenger

curation 2.PNG

In Steemit also, we see countless times members and even steemcurator 01 and steemcurator 02 using emoji or symbols. For example the dolphins are symbol of achievement for the participants.

The stickers, gifs and emojis will stay for a long time hopefully, and probably they will not be a dead language like hieroglyphs as the emoji or stickers are paired with written form of language and so they can make the language function in a better way. Still, there is a pinch of mystery in the emoji language. The mystery will probably remain and probably many things will be left to our imagination even in future to create room for more thoughts.

Thank you @simonnwigwe for posting this contest. I enjoyed writing about this. I would also like to thank @patjewell for encouraging me to write through invitation.


───── 😇 ─────

Thank you for reading!
Upvote and follow!
--- @promah

I invite @aparajitoalamin, @shuly, @mostofajaman

Sort:  
 last year 

There are 2 things that shocked me from your post, dear. First of all, the fact that you didn't understand the meaning of the old emojis that were made of basic symbols. Wow! I can tell why you felt bad about it, cause sometime I could not understand something like (nme) and I got frustrated (I still don't know the meaning of that one).
The second thing is that you got your first smartphone in 2012! I didn't even know smartphones existed at that time, wow! Time flies, doesn't it?

Well, I didn't understand any basic symbol because I grew up in a rather small town and while doing graduation I mixed with people who grew up in cities. We were clearly different. And I got the smartphone that is true. But neither the phone nor I was smart enough. Hahaha 😅
However it is quite interesting that you did not have access to smartphone or the knowledge of it, but you knew the basic symbols, which I didn't.

 last year 

Yeah, how curious, right? I love through reading all these posts and see how different we are ♥

 last year 

¡Holaaa amiga!😊

Yo vine a entender los emojis antiguo fue después de que salieron los que actualmente conocemos jajajaja. Siempre me enviaban este xD, también uno que era =P, y me costaba mucho saber qué era lo que me querían decir con ellos ya que, llegué a pensar que me hablaban en otro idioma jajajaja.

Me encantan los emojis, los considero mis mejores amigos al momento de comunicarme.

Un fuerte abrazo💚

Holaaa, We went through the same I see 😅.
They are now my best friends too.

@patjewell, I was eagerly waiting for your review of my post. I was unsure if I should mention you or not. But as I am still waiting with a lot of excitement for learning from you, I could not but take the liberty of mentioning you. Could you please let me know how I can improve or any other tip that you want to give me.

 last year 

Hi!

Sorry that I missed your post. I will help with pleasure!

You have written a very nice post. I could relate to it as I was also not sure what these funny things were that people sent me. It is only later on that I realized what it was. It was also then that I started to enjoy them.

As for your post. All you need to do is to make your post a bit neater.

  1. Shorter sentences and paragraphs always help to make reading easier
  2. The 2nd thing is to check your post for mistakes and this you do with Grammarly. I checked this post and found 37 suggestions.

image.png
If you can eliminate these two things I can guarantee you that your posts will look so much neater.

You are more than welcome to CC me in your next post so that I can check if you have implemented the two suggestions and to see if I can give you more advice.

Good luck!

Dear @Patjewell, I am overjoyed to have such an in-depth review from you. You have noticed instantly my number one flaw in the writing. I tend to write longer sentences always. I have tried not to do that but it has been difficult. Hopefully, through writing regularly in Steemit I would be able to improve my writing style. I will also use Grammarly more like you suggested.
It is so kind of you to let me CC you in my future posts. Take my heartfelt gratitude.

 last year 

The pleasure is all mine! 🎕

It is so reassuring to know you struggled with the signs too. I see I am not alone :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 60807.32
ETH 3349.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48