You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Looking at the Sky

in Popular STEM6 months ago

Unfortunately, I do not have the technical means for night photography. And, given the situation in the country, it is unlikely that I will have one in the next decade.

I have actually managed to get some halfway decent night time sky photographs with a cell phone camera.

i.e.

You need to play around with manual settings for shutter speed and ISO settings, and a tripod helps, but sometimes it's possible. Perhaps surprisingly, I think it's actually harder to get a decent shot of a bright moon with a cell phone than of the stars on a moonless night.

I was not aware of Comet Pons-Brooks, so thanks for the tip. I'll try to keep an eye out for it, especially in April.

Sort:  
 6 months ago 

I have actually managed to get some halfway decent night time sky photographs with a cell phone camera.

Thanks for the tip. I'll try playing around with the settings. I wonder what I will be able to achieve.

I was not aware of Comet Pons-Brooks, so thanks for the tip.

Now I am 100% sure that I did not write the post in vain 😊

 6 months ago 

Unfortunately, the phone matters a lot, too. The LG-G4 that I used at Cherry Springs took far better dark sky photographs than any of the Samsungs that I've had since then. I think the key was that it had a 30 second exposure time. The Samsungs all topped out at something like 10 or 15 seconds. They are workable, but not quite as good (or, at least, I haven't found the right settings).

TEAM 1

Congratulations! This comment has been upvoted through steemcurator04. We support quality posts , good comments anywhere and any tags.
Curated by : @o1eh



Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 56588.25
ETH 2399.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32