[Popular STEM] Introducing a new STEM community on the Steem blockchain!

in Popular STEM4 years ago

It seems like the admins and moderators of other STEM communities here on the Steem blockchain have now migrated away to other pastures, so I went ahead and set up the Popular STEM community for Steem-based discussions of science, technology, engineering, and math related topics.

This community will be administered and moderated by folks who are still here and contributing to the Steem blockchain.

image.png

Pixabay license, source

Basically, the idea is to (i) have a STEM community that is moderated and administered by people who are actively contributing to the Steem blockchain, and (ii) discuss STEM topics in a way that is accurate, but also broadly understandable, so that the conversation may appeal to a wide audience.

Until a full admin/moderation team emerges, here is a first pass at a set of rules for the community:

1. Limit discussion to STEM-related topics: Science, Technology, Engineering and Math.
2. Write in a way that's accessible to most English speakers. Limit the use of jargon and complex math.
3. Relevant cross-posting is ok.
4. Avoid speculation about pseudoscience and/or conspiracy theories.
5. Videos and links should be accompanied by substantive summaries or other descriptive text.

Please join me in this community that can only be found on the Steem blockchain. I expect things to continue to evolve as new perspectives join me on the admin and moderation team.

Sort:  

Glad to have this community. Everyone needs more science in their life ;)

 4 years ago 

Thanks- I appreciate the support!

Are medical topics included cause am a final year medical student

 4 years ago 

Sure! There's a lot of science and technology in the field of medicine.

Ok thanks . I'll will be dropping a series topics relating to mother and child health!!! I love to be a dedicated member in the new steemit

Hi , a link to my post on colon cancer
https://steemit.com/hive-109160/@hokulor/stay-enlightened-colorectal-cancer-is-real

Would love to hear what you think and I'll be posting on more topics soonest.

Hello. I used to work in SciComm, before the pandemic.
Do you think my articles will be well received here?

 4 years ago 

Sorry I missed this when you posted it. Your articles definitely fit well here. I hope you'll keep up the contributions and help us build the community!

Thank you! I'll try to write something about today's announcement. I got a gig and it's been two busy days.

Glad you created this community, because it seems to me most of the other communities for science and other STEM topics have left during the hard fork. I have seen some interesting posts here.

I don't know why, but it seems like surviving on steem is really difficult.

I would love to see a thriving STEM community on STEEMIT. Alchemy included.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63811.50
ETH 2617.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77